We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location for City Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #26 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 13 February 2012

An 'older' member of a Hen Party spending week end in Birmingham with various activities organised -using this hotel was perfect location. The booking was made through a third party- thereby getting a decent discount - would NEVER have paid the going rate!
Hotel large, modern, clean. Rooms well appointed, with usuals plus tea making facilities, and decent toiletries. Two double beds. Corridors were rather dark and oppressive.
Bar area was ok, reception area and foyer had various soft sofas but due to traffic in and out to reception was rather draughty to sit for drinks and coffees. Breakfast was excellent, service and choice first rate.
Porter (Alec) was amazing, so helpful as we had to leave all our bags in supervised area for
a morning and he took charge. Unfortunately he had a fall shortly before we left and gashed his head, I hope he is recovering!
One major complaint was the heating/air/con in our room was so erratic, we had to ask to be moved in the middle of the night. After two calls down to reception with a 10 minute wait in between calls (whilst sitting in our room in coats, boots) we were finally moved to another room. The system was blowing out cold air, on the coldest night of the year, and there was no way we would be able to sleep in those beds, furthermore have a shower comfortably in the morning. I was disappointed in the attitude of the staff on three or four points, 1. had we really turned the dial correctly? 2.After the reception staff felt for herself the temperature of the room instead of trying to persuade us to stay - 'it would be ok once we were in the bed' attitude, she should have just moved us immediately. 3. Amount of time it took to get management ok for the move was unacceptable in the middle of the night, it does say 24hour service!
However, none of this detracted from our great week end; in fact 'people watching' in the foyer added another dimension to 'guess who' game with the various comings and goings at midnight. The younger ones in the party were very grateful to the taxi service (Castle taxis) who are obviously used to ferrying around the students, not only were they reduced rates they were on time and considerate, and gave us 'broilers' peace of mind that the girls were going to be brought back safely.
If I had to go to Birmingham again, (very doubtful) I would stay there again, but make sure I got a reduced rate and check room temperatures first.

Room Tip: Make sure thermostat /air/con is working!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Time Travellers' Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to report your experience.

Happy to read that you have enjoyed the city centre location, facilities and staff service. I will be only pleased to inform Alec about your comments. He is doing well now. It was unfortunate what happened but we are very grateful to a doctor who was in the lobby at that time and helped Alec with first aid. It is sad that we do not have his details to thank him.

Very disappointed to know about your bedroom experience. Please be assured that this is not reflective of the usual standards of service and attention to detail associated to our hotel.
I will be speaking to the Night Manager and the team to take comments on board.

Once again thank you for your stay and we look forward to welcome you back in future.
Please contact myself if you wish to discuss this further.

akmal.shahzad@cpbhamcity.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,795 - 1,801 of 2,192 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

Attending a conference at the ICC, this was the hotel I stayed in for the night. Five minutes walk from the ICC. Reception staff friendly and efficient.

Room was spacious, warm, with all the features and complimentary items you'd expect of a good city centre business hotel. Unfortunately, this doesn't include free internet connectivity (£5 a day).

Ground-floor bar was open late - handy for a post-dinner pint upon returning to the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EEPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed here as we were attending an evening event at the NIA.

Once we had found the poorly signed, by direction and by notice at the Car Park, parking we used the connecting stairs to the front of the hotel. This is closed later at night.

We were warmly welcomed and sent on our way to a comfortable if slightly dark room. Small bath.

I asked for walking directions to the NIA which included walking through the another building. I was given this on a map drawn by the Concierge. Really useful and odne with a smile

Breakfast was fine with plenty of choice.

Wireless about £5 for 24 hours

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BasilsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed here to take advantage of the central location close to The Mailbox. Friends in Birmingham had recommended we stay here as the hotel had been refurbished, so we booked a Club level room to make use of the complimentary drinks/snacks and free wifi. The hotel is very easy to find and the car park, although slightly dark and uninviting is positioned directly underneath the hotel which was a great help.

During check in the staff were extremely polite, professional, well groomed and helpful. We were given our room keys and directed to the elevators, which were very tired looking and dirty inside. The corridor leading to our room was dark, chic and 'boutique' in style which looked impressive, although the walls and skirting boards were covered in dents, scratches and scuff marks from one end of the corridor to the other.

Upon entering the room we were incredibly pleased with the decor and layout, especially the bathroom with it's separate shower cubicle and smart square basin sink. However, after exploring the room and its amenities further we soon discovered that there were hardly any lights, and the lighting that was available consisted of energy saving, grey bulbs which had dreary beige shades attached which we were sure would have made Angelina Jolie look a tad ugly in the mirrors. The light above the mirror in the bathroom was an office style fluorescent strip bulb across the top which was very unflattering, and this was the only light present in the bathroom which meant the shower cubicle was completely dark during use. There were also scuff marks on the dark wooden bed frame and also along the walls inside our room.

We visited the Club Lounge which was very modern, with inviting furniture, a nice coffee machine, complimentary newspapers, a flat screen television and nice views of the city. The only problem we encountered was finding a clean coffee cup as there were stacks of approximately 12 cups, and not one of them was clean or unused. Despite this, we found the Club Lounge to be very convenient and well worth a visit during the afternoon/early evening.

During our stay there was very heavy snow, and the concierge offered us an umbrella and to arrange a taxi to take us to wherever we needed to go. We found the staff to be fantastic, and cannot fault their efforts and hard work during our stay. However, we will probably not visit again purely on the basis of the refurbishment clearly being poorly maintained due to wear and tear, and the lighting inside the room was completely unflattering and actually quite depressing.

Room Tip: Our 11th (top) floor room was at the end of the corridor which was free from guest noise, away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThatMrRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Great hotel for business or pleasure in Brum. Rooms were comfortable (with CP's pillow menu) and had fab views over the city.

Breakfast was good (though let down on one morning with surly and slow service).

The fitness room was well equipped and quiet when I was there, though this is good as it was far too warm and would have been unbearable had more people been working out.

All in all I wi return (this was my second visit, having had a pleasant experience previously).

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gelksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I have stayed two more times in CP and I am scheduled for another visit in the next 7 days. This hotel is consistently good and the standards appear to remain consistent. I am a platinum priority club member so I get an upgrade to club and the rooms are comfortable and clean, tidy etc. The last time the club room mini-bar had room for guests own beverages along with a couple of complimentary water bottles which was useful. I dont know anyone who will pay minibar prices on expenses in this economic climate - so this is a good move. Internet access is good and £5 which is reasonable value. I arrived too late for the complimentary drinks in the club lounge. I keep coming back to the CP when there are lots of alternatives in the area. They are good for me.

Room Tip: High ones are good floor 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter51964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thanks again for taking the time to document your kind comments.

Very pleased to read your comments and especially that its coming from a returning guest. Please be assured that this will be shared with the team as an assurance for their commitment and hard work.

Glad to know that your well deserved recognition as a Platinum member is in place. Priority Club guests are integral to our business and it is assuring to have such feedback from a regular Platinum guest. Apart from the regular upgrade to Club level we have introduced a dedicated Priority Club floor, exclusive Platinum voucher with express check in service.

Once again thank you for your continued business and we look forward to serve you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I stayed at this Hotel with my wife due to the location to the Birmingham Hippodrome. We came by train and took a short taxi ride to the hotel front door so cant comment on the car park. The hotel was very well presented and the staff was freindly and excellent. We had booked a club room and was put on the 11th Floor which was lovley.

The room was modern and clean with a fantastic view of the city and a really comfy bed! The room had every thing you needed and the en suite has a great shower and seperate bath.

For the room and the reception staff I would have given this a 5 out of 5.

However...

The Club lounge (which other reviewers loved) was a real dissapointment, The club lounge host was no where to be seen for two days (think he had a better offer) and due to this there were no glasses, cups for coffee which was a good job as the coffe machine was broken, and there were piles of dirty plates, cups and glasses (this is where they all were) on the side and on the tables,

The lounge could have been spectacular with its great views and comfy seats and even though it was not busy (about 3 people in it at the most) it felt unloved old and dirty. The best part was the nice cold bottles or orange juice tempting you in the fridge but no bottle opener.

I really hope the management sorts this out and as paying guests, even though it was a Saturday and Sunday was a real disapointment as the reason we booked this hotel was for the service and that little bit (we payed more for it) extra.

All in all the hotel was nice and the choice of breakfast great but I just cant get that slight dissapoinment taste out of my mouth. PLEASE address this and I will give you 5 out of 5 next time.

Room Tip: Choose a club room of suite for that extra special somthing on the 11th floor with great views. Just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SammieJ75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to note your observations following your recent stay with Crowne Plaza Birmingham City.

Pleased to know that you have enjoyed the club level room, hotel facilities. Guest focus is our main objective and glad to see that this reflects very well from your Reception experience.
Our Reception team will be glad to know your kind comments.

Club Lounge is the main area of attraction for our Club guests and it is a very popular product.
Please be assured that your experience is not reflective of the usual club experience that we are proud to offer. Your comments have been discussed in length with the entire Food & Beverage team and the Manager. Team is disappointed to know such comments however our aim as ever is continue to improve our guest experience.

Please contact myself at:
akmal.shahzad@cpbhamcity.com

I would like to renew your faith in our services and having the opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,338 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
4,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#10 of 118 in Birmingham
2,584 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
1,004 reviews
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Address: 19 Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £62 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing