We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was perfectly located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #32 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hotel was perfectly located”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Had a really lovely stay at the Crowne Plaza. The hotel was perfectly located for sightseeing. We were about 5 minutes walk from the Aquarium. And less than 10 minutes walk from the NIA.

We stayed in a family room with children and the bedroom was clean and modern.

Check in was very easy and the staff were friendly, as were all of the bar staff.

Breakfast was adequate. We were only a few minutes walk from a variety of family friendly restaurants so ate out at night.

.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank digs_and_kaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    890
    353
    103
    58
See reviews for
249
636
92
722
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Stayed here on a number of occasions now and everytime I go to Birmingham I stay in this hotel. The hotel is well decorated with spacious rooms and clean and tidy facilities. The rooms themselves have comfortable beds and good bathroom faciilities. The breakfast is excellent with a wide range of food. My only critisicm of the hotel is that the resteraunt is quite expensive for an evening meal and I always end up eating out. When I have eaten there, the food was good, but a little over priced. Very friendly and helpful staff who are always on hand if you need assistance with anything.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maninblue22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

An 'older' member of a Hen Party spending week end in Birmingham with various activities organised -using this hotel was perfect location. The booking was made through a third party- thereby getting a decent discount - would NEVER have paid the going rate!
Hotel large, modern, clean. Rooms well appointed, with usuals plus tea making facilities, and decent toiletries. Two double beds. Corridors were rather dark and oppressive.
Bar area was ok, reception area and foyer had various soft sofas but due to traffic in and out to reception was rather draughty to sit for drinks and coffees. Breakfast was excellent, service and choice first rate.
Porter (Alec) was amazing, so helpful as we had to leave all our bags in supervised area for
a morning and he took charge. Unfortunately he had a fall shortly before we left and gashed his head, I hope he is recovering!
One major complaint was the heating/air/con in our room was so erratic, we had to ask to be moved in the middle of the night. After two calls down to reception with a 10 minute wait in between calls (whilst sitting in our room in coats, boots) we were finally moved to another room. The system was blowing out cold air, on the coldest night of the year, and there was no way we would be able to sleep in those beds, furthermore have a shower comfortably in the morning. I was disappointed in the attitude of the staff on three or four points, 1. had we really turned the dial correctly? 2.After the reception staff felt for herself the temperature of the room instead of trying to persuade us to stay - 'it would be ok once we were in the bed' attitude, she should have just moved us immediately. 3. Amount of time it took to get management ok for the move was unacceptable in the middle of the night, it does say 24hour service!
However, none of this detracted from our great week end; in fact 'people watching' in the foyer added another dimension to 'guess who' game with the various comings and goings at midnight. The younger ones in the party were very grateful to the taxi service (Castle taxis) who are obviously used to ferrying around the students, not only were they reduced rates they were on time and considerate, and gave us 'broilers' peace of mind that the girls were going to be brought back safely.
If I had to go to Birmingham again, (very doubtful) I would stay there again, but make sure I got a reduced rate and check room temperatures first.

Room Tip: Make sure thermostat /air/con is working!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Time Travellers' Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to report your experience.

Happy to read that you have enjoyed the city centre location, facilities and staff service. I will be only pleased to inform Alec about your comments. He is doing well now. It was unfortunate what happened but we are very grateful to a doctor who was in the lobby at that time and helped Alec with first aid. It is sad that we do not have his details to thank him.

Very disappointed to know about your bedroom experience. Please be assured that this is not reflective of the usual standards of service and attention to detail associated to our hotel.
I will be speaking to the Night Manager and the team to take comments on board.

Once again thank you for your stay and we look forward to welcome you back in future.
Please contact myself if you wish to discuss this further.

akmal.shahzad@cpbhamcity.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Uk
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Attending a conference at the ICC, this was the hotel I stayed in for the night. Five minutes walk from the ICC. Reception staff friendly and efficient.

Room was spacious, warm, with all the features and complimentary items you'd expect of a good city centre business hotel. Unfortunately, this doesn't include free internet connectivity (£5 a day).

Ground-floor bar was open late - handy for a post-dinner pint upon returning to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EEPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
220 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed here as we were attending an evening event at the NIA.

Once we had found the poorly signed, by direction and by notice at the Car Park, parking we used the connecting stairs to the front of the hotel. This is closed later at night.

We were warmly welcomed and sent on our way to a comfortable if slightly dark room. Small bath.

I asked for walking directions to the NIA which included walking through the another building. I was given this on a map drawn by the Concierge. Really useful and odne with a smile

Breakfast was fine with plenty of choice.

Wireless about £5 for 24 hours

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BasilsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed here to take advantage of the central location close to The Mailbox. Friends in Birmingham had recommended we stay here as the hotel had been refurbished, so we booked a Club level room to make use of the complimentary drinks/snacks and free wifi. The hotel is very easy to find and the car park, although slightly dark and uninviting is positioned directly underneath the hotel which was a great help.

During check in the staff were extremely polite, professional, well groomed and helpful. We were given our room keys and directed to the elevators, which were very tired looking and dirty inside. The corridor leading to our room was dark, chic and 'boutique' in style which looked impressive, although the walls and skirting boards were covered in dents, scratches and scuff marks from one end of the corridor to the other.

Upon entering the room we were incredibly pleased with the decor and layout, especially the bathroom with it's separate shower cubicle and smart square basin sink. However, after exploring the room and its amenities further we soon discovered that there were hardly any lights, and the lighting that was available consisted of energy saving, grey bulbs which had dreary beige shades attached which we were sure would have made Angelina Jolie look a tad ugly in the mirrors. The light above the mirror in the bathroom was an office style fluorescent strip bulb across the top which was very unflattering, and this was the only light present in the bathroom which meant the shower cubicle was completely dark during use. There were also scuff marks on the dark wooden bed frame and also along the walls inside our room.

We visited the Club Lounge which was very modern, with inviting furniture, a nice coffee machine, complimentary newspapers, a flat screen television and nice views of the city. The only problem we encountered was finding a clean coffee cup as there were stacks of approximately 12 cups, and not one of them was clean or unused. Despite this, we found the Club Lounge to be very convenient and well worth a visit during the afternoon/early evening.

During our stay there was very heavy snow, and the concierge offered us an umbrella and to arrange a taxi to take us to wherever we needed to go. We found the staff to be fantastic, and cannot fault their efforts and hard work during our stay. However, we will probably not visit again purely on the basis of the refurbishment clearly being poorly maintained due to wear and tear, and the lighting inside the room was completely unflattering and actually quite depressing.

Room Tip: Our 11th (top) floor room was at the end of the corridor which was free from guest noise, away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThatMrRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Great hotel for business or pleasure in Brum. Rooms were comfortable (with CP's pillow menu) and had fab views over the city.

Breakfast was good (though let down on one morning with surly and slow service).

The fitness room was well equipped and quiet when I was there, though this is good as it was far too warm and would have been unbearable had more people been working out.

All in all I wi return (this was my second visit, having had a pleasant experience previously).

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gelksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
3,026 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
3,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Address: 19 Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing