We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowne Plaza - Birmingham City Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #33 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed for one night on Saturday 17th March as I had booked Lasan restaurant (St Pauls square) as a weekend treat. Reception staff were very helpful in welcoming. The club room 1132 was on a nice quiet floor. Highly recommend the club room if you can get it at a cheap rate. The decor of the room is of a very high standard. Walk in shower & separate bath is a bonus. Unfortunately, there were some minor problems :-
1) A wet patch on the floor at the entrance was due to a pipe leaking underground - Not a major issue and put a towel on top and informed Reception. Someone should have spotted that before giving the room out.
2) Bathroom floor wasn't clean to the expected standard and the bin had rubbish left from previous guests staying in the room.
3) For a club room , a pair of slippers would have been nice.
Parking for 24hrs at a rate of £13.50 isn't bad at all. The location of the hotel is fantastic. So overall a very good experience. Shame , can't give 5 stars due to a few minor issues, but would highly recommend it and stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room and try to book a club room - 11th floor highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chaudry-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,096)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,686 - 1,692 of 2,096 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

Great location, right in the middle of the city and a great underground car park too.

But sent to the wrong room twice and no door on the shower. Thin walls too.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rupert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write another review.

I am sorry about the inconvenience this time around. Surprised to see your comments for Reception as never had such feedback before. Please be assured that Front of House Manager will be speaking to the team about this.
I will be addressing the shower door with our maintenance team. Disappointed to know your remarks for wall as this is the first time we had such feedback.
Please contact directly should you wish to discuss this further:
akmal.shahzad@cpbhamcity.com

Delighted to know that you do enjoy our central location and car parking facility.
Once again thank you for your stay and observations and we look forward to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed here on Friday the 9th of March as a treat for my boyfriend's birthday. We stayed in Club room 1009. Unfortunately we arrived late due to traffic so we didn't get to sample the club lounge but it looked very good. Hotel was easy to find and the car park was fine. I don't think £13.50 for an overnight park is bad for a city centre. Check in was easy and no hassle.
We made our way to our room and were pleasantly surprised, after reading a few of the recent reviews I was a bit worried but it was perfect. The bed was extremely comfortable and was very spacious, pillows were also lovely. Having a choice of a large bath or shower was also really nice. I don't really see what else you would need for an overnight stay, everything was provided. Even the hair dryer was good (and i have really long thick hair). Really happy with the hotel and would stay again on any trip to Birmingham.

Room Tip: Club room was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Here at the moment. Have now stayed for 3 nights - with 2 more to go. If it wasn't due to the fact it is very close to my course venue (and a hastle to move) I would change hotels. I would choose another hotel in the future as I have had better experiences elsewhere.

Positives - central location, modern lobby with well designed rooms and facilities.
Negatives - location- beware particularly if you are a solo female traveller. There are underpasses to go through to directly get to Brindley Place / Victoria Sq etc.. (have seen a rat too) - would not feel comfortable passing through alone at night. Even as a group they are not pleasant, to reach the main areas- believe there is a long way round.
The room's heating system is very noisy. It is very cold at the moment + the choice is being kept awake by the noise or wearing extra clothing in bed. My colleague has been covering her bed with towels. I was offered a heater- it never arrived (after a repeat call) a member of staff came and agreed with me that the noisy fan could not be silenced- no sign of heater or a satisfactory resolution / apology.

Blood stained dressing gown - disgusting! Replaced same evening. Bath is very small.

Colleague had bone in her salmon fishcakes.

In summary, it is not a good experience. The customer service has not rescued this- instead it has made me feel even more disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise3240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Thank you for your time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

Pleased to see that you liked the central location of the hotel and the room. Do appreciate your comments about the area around the location however we have not had such feedback before and many of our regular guests are female business travellers.

Apologies for the inconvenience caused due to the heating system and this will be looked into with the maintenance team. I am shocked to read that an employee took time to look at the heating problem however heater was not delivered as discussed and problem was not resolved. Not sure if you spoke to a Duty Manager as we have one available around the clock as a point of contact and also to ensure guest satisfaction.
Your comments for Bathrobe and restaurant have been taken on board however very disappointed to know your experience and will be speaking to the departmental managers concerned.
Please contact myself to discuss your feedback further and also it will give us an opportunity to investigate all your comments.

akmal.shahzad@cpbhamcity.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I love staying here. Midway between Brindley Place and the Mailbox so its really close to the best that Birmingham has to offer. The rooms are spacious with 2 double beds and room to spare. Fab showers and good selection at breakfast. Must be good as we saw a football team there!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawyer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Thank you for your continued business and feedback.

I am delighted to know that based on your previous experience, you continue to stay with us.
Will be my pleasure to share your comments with the team.

Do hope to welcome you back very soon and your kind comments are very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed here in room 828 which was nicely furnished with a great city view and a huge comfortable bed. However, the carpet was stained and the overflow to the toilet ran all night making sleep impossible this got fixed eventually but spoiled my sleep for two nights. Teapot not emptied during the day and bathroom could have been cleaner. Breakfast is available from 6.30am and I arrived every morning around that time to find not everything was available as it seems to arrive gradually by which time I had ususally had to leave. Had a room service burger which was nice but had the same burger the next night in the bar which had cooked ham in it instead of bacon, and a dry bun. Wifi is only available in the reception area at a cost which is impractical and expensive, even bottom of the market hotels provide it for free in public areas. I agree about the grim parking underneath the hotel. Very good concierge but overall it looked better than it was in my experience, wasnt made to feel particularly welcome and asking for the problems to be fixed met with a mixed response.

Room Tip: High rooms facing the city were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intrepidexplorersid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Thank you for your detailed observations following your stay.

Pleasure to know that your arrival experience along with Concierge service met your expectations. Glad that you enjoyed the comfortable bed and city view.

Your comments for room maintenance and cleaning standards will be discussed with the team to ensure corrective action takes place. I am sorry for such experience as we take pride in offering highly maintained room facilities.

Have discussed your breakfast experience with our Breakfast Manager. Due to the large number of business guests staying in our hotel our breakfast service starts as early as 6:30am. Very disappointed to know that you have noticed a delay for a service where many guests compliment. Head Chef will discuss the production of burger with the team for consistency.

Internet charge is £5 for residents which cover internet in room and also Wi Fi in the lobby and Reception area for up to 24 hours. Do appreciate that some may offer this facility without a charge however as compared to other City hotels our charge is nominal. We will continue to review guest feedback for such.

Thank you once again for your visit and comments and if you wish to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact:
akmal.shahzad@cpbhamcity.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I stayed at the CP on Monday 13th February 2012 and it was fantastic. The customer service was outstanding and if you stay have access to the club lounge look out for Daniella who gave us phenomenal customer service. She went out of her way to make me feel welcome but in a professional manner.

I had a wonderful stay and I would recommend everyone to pay the little extra to have access in the club lounge it was worth it.


I would definetly stay again!

Room Tip: The club level it feels intimate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miizzii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,148 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,022 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Novotel Birmingham Centre
#42 of 118 in Birmingham
1,472 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Address: 19 Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £66 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing