We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Here come the girls!!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #31 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Here come the girls!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Had a fab time, rooms were spacious, and the breakfast was the best Iv ever had in a hotel/b&b. The hotel is modern, clean and well furnished. I would deffinalty go again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen6279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    837
    323
    94
    55
See reviews for
223
601
82
675
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed for one night whilst on a "Theatre" trip. The hotel is well located in the centre of Birmingham, and has an excellent underground car park. The corridor decor was shabby and tired and the carpet was badly stained in places however the room was clean and well appointed. However there appeared to be a problem with the plumbing as the toilet flushing system was a little "temperemental" (however that may have been just a problem in our room). The reception staff were welcoming and professional and whilst it did take longer than expected to get a drink all the staff were friendly and helpful (albeit extremely busy). During the night when there was a constant banging from around 3.00 a.m., I have no idea whether that was noisy guests or a maintenance issue, then at 6.30 a.m. we noticed water was coming through the bedroom ceiling, presumably from the room above. At that stage we decided our lack of sleep had gone far enough and checked out, duly informing the reception staff of the water problem on checking out. No doubt our experience was a one-off but I would be very unlikley to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baggieboy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience.

It is reassuring that your first impression of the hotel was very good based on your Reception and car park experience. I will be glad to pass your lovely comments for Reception and overall staff service to the team.

Happy to note that you like the room cleanliness. Please be assured that your comments for corridor and room maintenance will be addressed appropriately.

Sorry to hear about the noise problem and water leak. We do have a Duty Manager available round the clock to resolve any such issues to ensure complete guest satisfaction.

Please be assured that this is not reflective of the high standards of service and attention to detail associated to our hotel and do hope that we will welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Back again but on business this time. Reception very busy but well managed, Receptionist was helpful and also said welcome back which was a nice little touch.
Room was super clean but the air con a bit noisy. Company booked the Club room which came with Club Lounge access. Enjoyed the evening drinks in Club Lounge with quick and efficient service.
Breakfast next day - was welcomed by Sharon who is always smiling and very quick. Check out was preformed whilst I was enjoying my breakfast, what a service!
One things that makes this hotel my favourite is its staff. Service is always delivered with a smile. Thumbs up!

Room Tip: Club room and Club Lounge - well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jutt30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed for one night on Saturday 17th March as I had booked Lasan restaurant (St Pauls square) as a weekend treat. Reception staff were very helpful in welcoming. The club room 1132 was on a nice quiet floor. Highly recommend the club room if you can get it at a cheap rate. The decor of the room is of a very high standard. Walk in shower & separate bath is a bonus. Unfortunately, there were some minor problems :-
1) A wet patch on the floor at the entrance was due to a pipe leaking underground - Not a major issue and put a towel on top and informed Reception. Someone should have spotted that before giving the room out.
2) Bathroom floor wasn't clean to the expected standard and the bin had rubbish left from previous guests staying in the room.
3) For a club room , a pair of slippers would have been nice.
Parking for 24hrs at a rate of £13.50 isn't bad at all. The location of the hotel is fantastic. So overall a very good experience. Shame , can't give 5 stars due to a few minor issues, but would highly recommend it and stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room and try to book a club room - 11th floor highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaudry-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Great location, right in the middle of the city and a great underground car park too.

But sent to the wrong room twice and no door on the shower. Thin walls too.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write another review.

I am sorry about the inconvenience this time around. Surprised to see your comments for Reception as never had such feedback before. Please be assured that Front of House Manager will be speaking to the team about this.
I will be addressing the shower door with our maintenance team. Disappointed to know your remarks for wall as this is the first time we had such feedback.
Please contact directly should you wish to discuss this further:
akmal.shahzad@cpbhamcity.com

Delighted to know that you do enjoy our central location and car parking facility.
Once again thank you for your stay and observations and we look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed here on Friday the 9th of March as a treat for my boyfriend's birthday. We stayed in Club room 1009. Unfortunately we arrived late due to traffic so we didn't get to sample the club lounge but it looked very good. Hotel was easy to find and the car park was fine. I don't think £13.50 for an overnight park is bad for a city centre. Check in was easy and no hassle.
We made our way to our room and were pleasantly surprised, after reading a few of the recent reviews I was a bit worried but it was perfect. The bed was extremely comfortable and was very spacious, pillows were also lovely. Having a choice of a large bath or shower was also really nice. I don't really see what else you would need for an overnight stay, everything was provided. Even the hair dryer was good (and i have really long thick hair). Really happy with the hotel and would stay again on any trip to Birmingham.

Room Tip: Club room was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Here at the moment. Have now stayed for 3 nights - with 2 more to go. If it wasn't due to the fact it is very close to my course venue (and a hastle to move) I would change hotels. I would choose another hotel in the future as I have had better experiences elsewhere.

Positives - central location, modern lobby with well designed rooms and facilities.
Negatives - location- beware particularly if you are a solo female traveller. There are underpasses to go through to directly get to Brindley Place / Victoria Sq etc.. (have seen a rat too) - would not feel comfortable passing through alone at night. Even as a group they are not pleasant, to reach the main areas- believe there is a long way round.
The room's heating system is very noisy. It is very cold at the moment + the choice is being kept awake by the noise or wearing extra clothing in bed. My colleague has been covering her bed with towels. I was offered a heater- it never arrived (after a repeat call) a member of staff came and agreed with me that the noisy fan could not be silenced- no sign of heater or a satisfactory resolution / apology.

Blood stained dressing gown - disgusting! Replaced same evening. Bath is very small.

Colleague had bone in her salmon fishcakes.

In summary, it is not a good experience. The customer service has not rescued this- instead it has made me feel even more disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise3240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thank you for your time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

Pleased to see that you liked the central location of the hotel and the room. Do appreciate your comments about the area around the location however we have not had such feedback before and many of our regular guests are female business travellers.

Apologies for the inconvenience caused due to the heating system and this will be looked into with the maintenance team. I am shocked to read that an employee took time to look at the heating problem however heater was not delivered as discussed and problem was not resolved. Not sure if you spoke to a Duty Manager as we have one available around the clock as a point of contact and also to ensure guest satisfaction.
Your comments for Bathrobe and restaurant have been taken on board however very disappointed to know your experience and will be speaking to the departmental managers concerned.
Please contact myself to discuss your feedback further and also it will give us an opportunity to investigate all your comments.

akmal.shahzad@cpbhamcity.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,752 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,415 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Address: Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#15 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing