We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel but needs a little bit of TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #32 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel but needs a little bit of TLC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Now don't get me wrong, this is a nice hotel. We were upgraded to the Club room which was very spacious, comfortable and a lovely bathroom and also allowed us access to the Club Lounge.

When I mean TLC I refer to the lifts and the gym. The lifts must have been the slowest lifts in service anywhere in the UK. Normally I would opt for the stairs but as we were staying on the 11th floor we had to wait what seemed like an eternity.

The gym is spacious, has some decent equipment but if you have 3 treadmills, you should ensure that more than 1 of them is working. One was definitely a health hazard with the running belt slipping.

I suppose these are minor things but attention to detail is what matters when you are trying to be better than everyone else.

Room Tip: If you can get an upgrade to a club room, do it. Breakfast is included, access to the club lounge wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scm7mr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    849
    330
    95
    55
See reviews for
228
609
83
688
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

this is a great place to stay close to city centre without the noise clean friendly good breakfast wot more do you want will stay again next year

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickbashbewdley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

This was by far the worst night's sleep I have ever had (that's saying something when you have 2 kids!!). My room (309) was situated above a flat roof which was home to a colony of nesting seagulls which created the loudest noise you could ever imagine ALL NIGHT. Add to this that the window wouldnt shut, I got precisely zero minutes sleep.
Also, I managed to drop a bottle of aftershave in the room, which unfortunately caused glass on the floor. I mentioned this to reception hoping that it would be cleared up when I got back later. Sadly not. I had to keep my shoes on the whole time to avoid getting a piece of glass in my foot.
The fixtures and fittings were poor quality and in some cases broken. The shower screens had been removed so water went all over the floor in the bathroom.
Staff were precisely no help on checkout. The response to my summary of issues was to ask me to speak to the manager. Erm, why don't the staff tell the manager? My conclusion: great if you're a seagull. Otherwise stay at home.

Room Tip: Check the location of the seagull colony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank lee l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear lee l,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Crowne plaza around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on the poor service our staff has provided, noise of the seagulls and the poor quality of fixtures and fittings in the bathroom. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location close to both the Mailbox and Brindley Place in the city and set back from the roads so not too noisy. I've stopped here a number of times with work and all the rooms are well sized with good facilities and maintained to a high standard. If you are a member of the hotels priority club there is a guest lounge which offers free drinks in the early part of the evening.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TJNDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc2011
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Very comfortable, clean modern hotel. Lovely comfortable beds and thick fluffy towels. Did not know what to expect as only stayed in Premiere inn before but would stay here again- a little more up market. Good breakfast with black pud ,cumberland sausages, selection of lovely breads and cakes! Very Attentive service with coffee refilled at table several times -no self service coffee here. All staff we met greeted us and were friendly and professional. Within a stones throw of New Street station and shopping.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyc2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Booked a Club room on Saturday, £96, complimentary breakfast, use of Club lounge for free internet and soft drinks, then at 1730 lager and wine with canapes for 2 hours, outstanding value.
Just a shame it rained and was a bit windy, but I cant blame the hotel for that.

Room Tip: Book a Club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyg9053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Just returned after a one night stay. Hotel is in great location in centre.

Rooms were large, we had one on the 8th floor (room 828), it smelled of damp/mould and the toilet was hard work to flush. Had to press the button 3 or 4 times, not really what I would expect from a Crowne Plaza. We were only here for one night and went to see Elton John in concert so not in the room that much, but if I was I would have asked to be moved.

Reception area and bar very nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinKidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear KarinKidd,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you found our reception and bar areas very nice. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and it is for this reason that your comment about the smell of the toilet will certainly be looked into. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,834 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,503 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,166 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Address: Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing