We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very attentive staff, comfortable rooms and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #32 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very attentive staff, comfortable rooms and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Although the hotel doesn't look great from the outside, it's really modern inside. The rooms are really smart and the facilities are good. The parking is significantly overpriced, although it is very central.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesShelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    849
    330
    95
    55
See reviews for
228
609
83
688
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Had a great couple of days in Birmingham and the weather was fantastic.
Have stayed here before so knew what to expect and were not dissapointed.
Stopped in one of the club rooms ( top floor) had everytning you needed, including fridge, safe
tea and coffee etc + a club lounge where you could go and have complimetary drinks canapes before dinner or a quiet breakfast.
The hotel is only a couple of mins from the railway station ( New St ) Town centre, Bull Ring and the Mailbox. Take a short walk along the canal and you come to Brindley place which has a host of Bars and Restaurants.
Unfortunately we had the mishap of getting stuck in the Lift on our departure. Def some training required here as it took 3 emergency calls to attract attention and 15 mins to get out.
On exiting there was no one present to see if we were ok!!!!!!!!! Were eventually asked at reception if we wanted to see the Duty Manager ( He surely should have been present in the event of a possible emergency situation. )
In fairness this apart the staff were all very good, polite and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonto40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax w yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel as part of a conference and the service was extremely disappointing. We had to really go out of our way to get service and the staff in the bar and front desk were very abrupt and in some cases rude. The rooms had dated furniture and the bath was so small you were forced to adopt a praying position! We passed on dinner after being expected to fetch our own menus from the maitre d desk. The conference support was a complete shambles. Never again!!!

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank vincentsowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Dear vincentsowners,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you received service which was unacceptable. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed two nights at the end of July and were very pleased with the accomodation and the deal we got, in this case by going direct to the hotel. The staff, without exception, were helpful and friendly, particularly the restaurant staff. We asked for a change of pillows, as they offer various options, and they were delivered to our room within 10 minute. The breakfast was good with plenty of choice. The hotel is is in an excellent position for places such as The Mailbox which has a wide choice of restraunts, the Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery.and the Bullring Shopping Centre.
All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freelance60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

I chose the crowne plaza for a luxurious weekend treat for my sister and I. Plus points - All the staff we met were friendly, helpful and efficient, especially on reception where we were given maps and advice about good places to go for shopping and eating out etc ( and areas to avoid that weren't safe at night ! - fantastic as we don't know Birmingham at all) our room with 2 double beds was more than big enough and was tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. There was no noise from adjoining rooms and a drunk pest in the corridor outside who couldn't get into his room in the middle of the night was dealt with quickly and professionally by a member of staff so we could all get back to sleep! Breakfast was efficient and of reasonable quality. Negative points - get a taxi from New Street station, not really the 5 minute walk suggested - it's further than it looks with heavy bags. There was a wedding on Saturday night and it seemed there weren't enough staff to cope with keeping the bar and restaurant running at the same time - I was told I'd have to wait half an hour or so for a cocktail because the wedding had taken all the ice !!! finally the decor may be very contemporary and retro but the reception felt like an airport check in area with strip lighting and lifts,corridors and rooms like dark dungeons and caves - very dark and oppressive. Would I go back - yes because we got a good deal from their website and the sevice amd quality was good but maybe I'd check out the Ramada or other hotels that are right in the middle of the Mail Box/ Brindley Place/ gas street basin which have better views, surroundings and more in the thick of the action.

Room Tip: Go for 2 double beds if you want some space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chocolatevulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Me and my husband stayed for 1 night to celebrate his birthday. I cannot fault this hotel. It is close by to the Bull Ring and 5 minutes walk to Broad street where there are lots of pubs and places to eat. We had 2 double beds in our room which were very comfy, the decor was stylish and bathroom had a bath with shower overhead which was powerful. The room also had air conditioning. If, like us, you want to go and hit the bars and pubs on Broad Street and have a late night, breakfast is served until 11.30 on Saturdays and Sunday. Breakfast was hot and delicious and the staff were frequently topping up the hot buffet. The staff were helpful and friendly whether you were speaking to someone on reception or in the restaurant. A trip back to the hotel is definately on the cards!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOPKINS29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

I visit Birmingham quite often for business and have stayed at the Crowne Plaza a couple of times recently.

It's just the ticket for a quick overnight stay. I haven't sampled the bar or breakfast but both look good. Why I keep returning is because of the most comfortable beds EVER. I sleep so, so well here. It's well located for central Birmingham and getting on the motorway the next morning too.

The rooms are a good size (larger than your average hotel room, I'd say), although I've noticed that the bathrooms are looking a bit tired in places (nothing a bit of grouting wouldn't sort out!).

I think that the Crowne Plaza will remain my first choice for a while yet on my visits to Brum! ;-)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JollyHollidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,834 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,503 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,166 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Address: Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing