We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Girls Night Out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #32 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Girls Night Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Myself and 3 friends stayed here for 1 night for our friends birthday. Our plan was to check out Birmingham's nightlife on Broad Street and decided to spend a little more on this hotel. The hotel is close enough to walk to the station and the Bullring, which was excellent and importantly for us very near to the busy nightlife of Broad Street.

We arrived to the hotel a little early and was checked in straight away. We was slightly confused why the member of staff asked us our age and then took our id's (driving licence) away to photocopy. She gave us 4 key cards to our room, which was good but not needed.

We stayed in a room with 2 double bed, which was great as there was 4 of us sharing one room. The room was clean and looked great. We loved the little bits in the room like the fruit and tea/coffee. The TV even had our name we booked the hotel under on it.

We never had breakfast here, because we didn't really want to pay £7 each for it, nor did we use the bar/restaurant facilities.

After our night out, we came back to the hotel a little before 4am in the morning and the staff downstairs cleaning the hotel we're lovely! and the security man by the front door encouraged us to take our heels off, which was a brilliant idea!

We checked out of the hotel just before 11 in the morning and none of us wanted to leave. The hotel was nice, I wish we could of stayed another night. will definitely be staying here again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrorT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    849
    330
    95
    55
See reviews for
228
609
83
688
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

The rooms in the hotel are very clean, and beds exceptionally comfortable. Bar area is welcoming with many comfortable sofas and chairs. Breakfast in the restaurant was lovely - good choice and quality food. It's a busy hotel, but I would recommend.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ADWKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel was reasonably priced so we thought it would be OK, but this stay was outstanding. From the bar staff to restaurant staff... The quality if the room through to those little extras, this hotel exceeded our expectations at every point.

Unreservedly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radioheadkiduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Hotel of choice when on business in Birmingham. Centrally placed and a short walk from the centre of the city, car park on site if required though not operated by the hotel.

Reception staff all quietly efficient, pleasant and well organised. Always been lucky with room which has consistently been clean, tidy and well maintained. Comfortable bed, quiet location.

Breakfast, nothing spectacular but buffet style and sets you up well for the day. Some of the restaurant staff appear to have been working there for a while and it shows, they run everything like clockwork, good for the those of us who always seem in a rush. Have not eaten there at night but hotel is handy for the city centre, The Mailbox and Brindleyplace so there is a good choice of restaurant styles close by.

Recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms appear fairly similar. The only comment I can offer is that I have yet to discover an unde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mid-AtlanticRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We were staying here for a birthday treat at the beginning of June, and having stayed here before the refurbishment wasn't too sure of what to expect. However from the moment of arriving early we were quickly checked in, offered help with baggage and informed how to get to our room. Our room was a club room which was on the 11th floor, very good size with everything you need, queen size bed, large TV, good sized bathroom, robes, plenty of clean towels etc (my wife says the lighting was poor in the bathroom and struggled to do her make up) The upside of paying a little more to book a club room was between 530pm and 730pm we were able to access the club lounge which gave views over the city AND free drinks!! You could have beer, red or white wine or soft drinks and the waiters were very attentive and needless to say as it was my birthday we made the most of this!! In addition we were also able to have the complementary continental breakfast in the club lounge the following morning which was a bonus. Parking was in a local NCP at £13.50 for 24 hours, which is normal for Birmingham secure parking. I cannot comment on the restaurant as we ate elsewhere, but if you looking for a central location this is great. We will use again!

Room Tip: Book a club room on the 11th Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crispy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

From the time we arrived at the Hotel the staff were excellent and very helpful and could not be faulted. We booked a room on the club lounge level, rooms were wonderful and with the use of the club lounge area was a real pleasure. Only one issue with the view from our window of an old office block been demolished when this is sorted could not fault the place. location of the hotel is ideal and easy walking distance to Broad St and NIC, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rich29333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights but it was a brief trip so did not see much of hotel. Location good, 5-10min walk from New Street Station Room was upper end of crowne plaza style. Whilst outside the hotel looked a bit tired, inside it was modern and clean

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank gipsona1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,834 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,502 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Address: Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing