We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good, but not perfect (no wifi!)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #31 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This is a very good hotel. The room was lovely and clean. The bed was fabulously comfortable and we slept well (good thick curtains). It was quiet. TV good quality, a good cooler (with some free water!). Check in and check out was quick and painless. Good value. Great location for Symphony Hall, Town Hall, Hippodrome, Broad Street restaurants, Mail Box etc.
So why not five stars? Although we booked a double room there was only one bathrobe; only one comfortable chair; tricky to get to a good water temperature for the shower; and, crucially, no wifi in the bedroom. Something you get in MacDonalds you should get in a hotel of this quality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Historrygrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,404 - 1,410 of 2,144 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed here over Friday/Saturday night for a concert at the Symphony Hall (great concert/great hall !)

Good:
- efficient check in
- our room seemed recently decorated
- good TV (with Sky Sports)
- good choice at breakfast (hot & cold food, £12 per person)
- quiet on 8th floor
- excellent bed comfort, average pillows
- close to Symphony Hall/ICC, short walk (10 mins) to city shopping area
- friendly staff
- short walk to dinner/bar facilities at The Mailbox and canal
- car parking access and convenience (for a city centre hotel) and seemed very secure


Bad
- shower had poor flow rate
- no ambience in bar area
- lift noisy
- dinner service doesn't start until 6.30pm, poor for 7.30 pm shows
- car parking cost (£13.50 per night), on-going maintenance work reduces the spaces available

Room Tip: I would go high floors for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Myself and 3 friends stayed here for 1 night for our friends birthday. Our plan was to check out Birmingham's nightlife on Broad Street and decided to spend a little more on this hotel. The hotel is close enough to walk to the station and the Bullring, which was excellent and importantly for us very near to the busy nightlife of Broad Street.

We arrived to the hotel a little early and was checked in straight away. We was slightly confused why the member of staff asked us our age and then took our id's (driving licence) away to photocopy. She gave us 4 key cards to our room, which was good but not needed.

We stayed in a room with 2 double bed, which was great as there was 4 of us sharing one room. The room was clean and looked great. We loved the little bits in the room like the fruit and tea/coffee. The TV even had our name we booked the hotel under on it.

We never had breakfast here, because we didn't really want to pay £7 each for it, nor did we use the bar/restaurant facilities.

After our night out, we came back to the hotel a little before 4am in the morning and the staff downstairs cleaning the hotel we're lovely! and the security man by the front door encouraged us to take our heels off, which was a brilliant idea!

We checked out of the hotel just before 11 in the morning and none of us wanted to leave. The hotel was nice, I wish we could of stayed another night. will definitely be staying here again

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terrorT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The rooms in the hotel are very clean, and beds exceptionally comfortable. Bar area is welcoming with many comfortable sofas and chairs. Breakfast in the restaurant was lovely - good choice and quality food. It's a busy hotel, but I would recommend.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank ADWKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel was reasonably priced so we thought it would be OK, but this stay was outstanding. From the bar staff to restaurant staff... The quality if the room through to those little extras, this hotel exceeded our expectations at every point.

Unreservedly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Radioheadkiduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Hotel of choice when on business in Birmingham. Centrally placed and a short walk from the centre of the city, car park on site if required though not operated by the hotel.

Reception staff all quietly efficient, pleasant and well organised. Always been lucky with room which has consistently been clean, tidy and well maintained. Comfortable bed, quiet location.

Breakfast, nothing spectacular but buffet style and sets you up well for the day. Some of the restaurant staff appear to have been working there for a while and it shows, they run everything like clockwork, good for the those of us who always seem in a rush. Have not eaten there at night but hotel is handy for the city centre, The Mailbox and Brindleyplace so there is a good choice of restaurant styles close by.

Recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms appear fairly similar. The only comment I can offer is that I have yet to discover an unde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mid-AtlanticRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We were staying here for a birthday treat at the beginning of June, and having stayed here before the refurbishment wasn't too sure of what to expect. However from the moment of arriving early we were quickly checked in, offered help with baggage and informed how to get to our room. Our room was a club room which was on the 11th floor, very good size with everything you need, queen size bed, large TV, good sized bathroom, robes, plenty of clean towels etc (my wife says the lighting was poor in the bathroom and struggled to do her make up) The upside of paying a little more to book a club room was between 530pm and 730pm we were able to access the club lounge which gave views over the city AND free drinks!! You could have beer, red or white wine or soft drinks and the waiters were very attentive and needless to say as it was my birthday we made the most of this!! In addition we were also able to have the complementary continental breakfast in the club lounge the following morning which was a bonus. Parking was in a local NCP at £13.50 for 24 hours, which is normal for Birmingham secure parking. I cannot comment on the restaurant as we ate elsewhere, but if you looking for a central location this is great. We will use again!

Room Tip: Book a club room on the 11th Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crispy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,252 reviews
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
955 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Address: 19 Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £60 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing