We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #32 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Booked room at the last minute for a reasonable price and as a platinum IHG member I found myself in a club room...lovely large room with a huge bed and access to the Club Lounge was a welcome addition.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMACCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    866
    335
    98
    57
See reviews for
236
614
85
708
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Staff were lovely, large room and bathroom, modern decor, bar fully equipped and plentiful breakfast what else could i ask for!

Little stroll to the Mailbox and City Center ideal for me as i had to be in the City Center for work in the morning.

Thanks guys will be back of working anywhere near you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 917DavidP917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
386 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The best things about this hotel is its convenient location. It's close to the conference centre, the Mailbox, New Street Station etc. The Bullring is a 10 minute walk and the Townhall slightly less.

I would have liked to have been impressed but it just conjured up in my mind the 60's song of Little Boxes. Everything seemed to have a rectangular form and a bit dated. The first point of contact was not exactly inspiring: the car-park. Its the sort of one that feels claustrophobic and once you've parked your car there is a distinct absence of signs to tell you where the pedestrian exit(s) might be. When you find the exit for the hotel, you wish you hadn't. It's a really awful little stairwell that takes you up to the forecourt of the hotel. If you have heavy bags this will be a feat of significant exercise and if the weather is inclement, probably a wet one. Not that it ever rains in Birmingham!

Reception didn't inspire much confidence as we were offered someone else's room. The free newspaper was limited to a Hobson's choice and only applied during weekdays.

The lack of confidence inspiring continued with the lifts. It's a long time since I have been on ones more rattly or more shaky. A good service and a large amount of greasing would seemed to be required. Once again they were very dim and it was difficult to read the floor numbers on the buttons.

The room was a box. Reasonably well appointed, but still a box. With noisy air-con. But the bed was good and large and comfortable. The TV should have had most of the standard channels, but a local transmission problem wiped out the BBC and a few others. But you could have watched any amount of Sky sport, if that is what you like. Once you had got through the introductory menus that is. Wifi was good.

The bathroom was OK with an excellent scouring shower but this was set over the bath and this was not the easiest to climb in and out of. The toiletries were OK except for the very well packaged soap. So well packaged that it was nearly impossible to get it out of the package especially with wet hands. Am I the only person who generally wets themselves before applying soap? A bit more thought about practicalities needed here.

The wardrobe space was OK if a bit compromised by the accommodation of the ironing board, the minibar and the tea/coffee making bits and pieces.

The night's sleep was a bit compromised by the noise of the air-con which only slightly less intrusive than the noise from outside when the window was opened.

Overall it functioned as a hotel, but not a great hotel and not one that has anything about it that leads me to believe that I would look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeJL59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear MikeJL59,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. We are committed to guest satisfaction and I want to assure you that the issues you have raised about the AC unit in the room and the level of service you have received during your stay that fell below your expectations will be addressed and appropriate actions will be taken. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed for the weekend whilst visiting family. The staff at check in and check out were very friendly and polite. We had a standard double room situated on the 7th floor. The room and bathroom were clean and tidy with all the usual extras, tea/coffee, laptop safe, iron and ironing board(which is now a rarity in some hotels). There was a pillow menu to suite all styles of sleepy heads! I found the bathroom to be very dull in that it has black tiles and floor and the one fluorescent light by the mirror. The bathroom steamed up very easily and there seemed to be no extractor fan in the bathroom either. There was a vent of some sort but that did not do anything at all. The room itself has an aircon unit in the corner which is very loud and needless to say if it is a warm muggy night and you turned the aircon unit on, you will not be sleeping much that night. We could even hear the aircon unit in the room next door when they turned theirs on in the early hours of the morning after a night out and that was rather very annoying. The hotel is situated in an ideal location for most things. The city centre is literally across the road, the Symphony Hall and NEC are about a 10 minute walk away and lastly Broad Street which is the main strip for bars and clubs is a stones throw away.
There is not parking provided by the hotel neither do they offer subsidised parking with any of the city's car parks. There is a very grotty and dirty looking car underneath the hotel which is extortionate at £13.50 for an overnight stay. I parked on the road outside the hotel after 1930hrs as it is free and woke up at 8am and paid £2.00 for two hours which is the limit and by which time we were heading off to start our day. There are cheaper car parks across the from the hotel over the main road towards the city and one under the bridge of the main road outside the Mailbox and these car parks are next to each other and less than 3 minute walk from the hotel. All this hotel was good value for money as we got it on an offer and with the amenities available there is not much to contemplate looking down on.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ngoni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I stayed at the Crown Plaza in June for work. Just the one night but the hotel was great. I had a lovely big room that was clean, well decorated and had everything you wanted. The bathroom was spotless. The overall feel to the hotel was lovely and I had a great nice sleep on a lovely conformable bed. The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is that the air conditioning unit in my room was loud. Luckily it was during a cold period in June so didn't need it on much.

Breakfast was lovely and a good choice of food which was cooked.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam5933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel on business for night in August 2013.

Check in was slow and the staff member seemed more interested in answering the phones, even when he'd already started to check me in.

Room was very nice and breakfast was good. The bathroom was a bit grubby.

I'd think twice about staying here again on business.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swb84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We paid for an executive room with breakfast in the club lounge. The room I must say was lovely. The service from breakfast to the sticky floots of the lift was very very poor. At breakfast there was no staff, no cutlery, no glasses and worst of all no coffee cups. If that is an executive breakfast, let me have a pleb breakfast any time. Lift floors sticky? And when we enquired ad to being cleaned we were met with shrugs. Very poor from a so called up market chain.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimyuill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear jimyuill,

Thank you for your candid review of our hotel. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. We apologize for your dissatisfaction on some of our staff and services. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,891 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Address: 19 Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing