We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #32 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great location and friendly staff”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here for a night whilst visiting Birmingham. Large, clean room. Nice view on a high floor. Service was very good and location is great for dining out and shopping. Price was brilliant for a room with 2 double beds!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tarek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Tarek S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to read that you were happy with the location, service and cleanliness of our rooms.

I am also glad to read that you found your stay with us to be good value for money and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    891
    353
    103
    58
See reviews for
249
637
92
723
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed here for a family short break.
Its located in a good position- right near the National Indoor Arena, and the Brindley Place restaurants, but also it is not far to get to the shopping district and about 15 minutes walk to the Bull Ring. And Cadburyland is a short drive...

I had found the hotel on the amex travel website, which had helped me narrow down hotels with pools. However, despite what amex say it doesn't have one, and to be fair, the Crowne Plaza website does not say it has one. This did not matter in the end however, and we received a warm welcome, and kids packs (drawing/colouring things) and our room on the 5th floor, which seems to be a family floor.

Everything was clean and modern, a few scuffs here and there, but with small children I'm a little more relaxed if a hotel room does not totally look like new!

Parking is underneath the hotel, and costs about 13 pounds per day. - there is no lift, so either park on level 2 which will leave you with 1 flight of stairs right up to the front door, or drive up the ramp to the front of the hotel, drop your stuff off and then go and park.

The bar service was great and quick. A problem for my young family was that the restaurant did not open until 6:30 - and we need to be eating earlier, but the hotels location meant there were plenty of nearby restaurants that we could go to - and there is 24 hour room service.

Breakfast was excellent- a buffet in comfortable surroundings and the staff very friendly and helpful

The only negative (asides my pool mistake) was that on arrival there was a large collection of empty drinks glasses outside our room.

The hotel is part of the old ATV/Central TV studio complex where programmes like "Golden Shot", "Tiswas", and maybe even some Crossroads episodes were made, but the hotel makes nothing of it, though I would guess many a celebrity has stayed there in the past. The studios are still there, vacant since 1997 and awaiting demolition and redevelopment which seems to be on hold.

It was my first experience of a Crowne Plaza, and I found it better than some more premium brands that I have been too!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rediffusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear rediffusion,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre and for taking the time to reveiw your stay with us. I am delighted to read that you found your first experience with us to be better than some more premium brands and were happy with our location and service from the bar and restaurant staff for breakfast.

I am disappointed to read that you initially booked our hotel after reading that it had a pool and to find that we do not. However, I am glad that we provided a warm welcome for you and your family and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Location is central, however can be a little noisy overnight. Club lounge pleasant - limited food during happy hour, but the staff very proactive at topping up drinks! Breakfast was ok - however it would have been expensive if not included in the rate.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank se1go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear se1go,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I appreciate your positive feedback on our hotel location, staff and club lounge. We pride ourselves in delivering excellent service and accommodation to our guests. I am sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced in particular with the noise. I sincerely hope this incident will not deter from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and services we offer to our guests.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed here for one night to see a gig at the O2. Because I'm a Plat member we were upgraded to a club room with access to the lounge which is always welcome. I have stayed here a few times and I must admit that this time I thought that the rooms and some of the public areas need a touch-up, nothing major but necessary nonetheless. The room we had had some of the laminate peeling off of the inside of the bathroom door, the laminate on the desktop was 'bubbled' and looks as if it will eventually become detached from the unit, and part of the wardrobe door was broken and in danger of falling off (it meant that the wardrobe light wouldn't switch off). None of these things were major but they don't give a premium image. The room itself was clean, and the bed comfortable which is what I really look for hence the the 4 stars, especially as the room rate was not particularly high.

A couple of other niggles we encountered. When we went to the club lounge for a coffee the coffee machine wasn't working and even it it had been there were no clean cups (although there were plenty of dirty ones on the tables). Later that night we went back to the lounge and by then the machine was working again and there were clean cups, (although there were still dirty cups lying around). Breakfast the next morning was good (in the club lounge) with a very helpful young lady clearing tables etc and bringing toast etc. In fact all the staff we met were very good, most of the admittedly minor issues we encountered were really maintenace things or just no-one checking the lounge frequently enough (or late enough).

One last point - the lifts are slow - very slow, allow plenty of time! All in all the hotel was OK and we would probably stay here again if the rate was right, but not at any price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishlee0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Englishlee0710,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre. I appreciate your compliments regarding our staff and how helpful they were. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I have passed on your comments to the Maintenance Manager and have also made sure that the Club Lounge is checked on a regular basis.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodation and your feedback is important to us. The feedback we receive enables us to target problem areas and take actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

I sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us and hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We booked this hotel as the location was ideal for us - it was perfect. A short walk to all of the amenities.

The room itself was to a high standard although the shower head wouldnt stay in the right position - we had to wedge it with a bottle to keep it in the right place!!

There was noise from within the hotel, people coming/going during the night/early hours and we were very close to the lift so we heard that a bit.

This was not really a problem for one night but could of been annoying if we had been staying longer.

Room Tip: Room 814 is a bit loud with the lift and other guests walking past.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Emily G,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre. I am glad to read that you were happy with the location of the hotel. We are within walking distance of the main train station, shopping areas and the ICC.

However, I am sorry to hear that your sleep was disrupted by noise from other guests and from the lifts. I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience this caused you. We do have Managers on duty 24 hours and if you do have any problems, they would be happy to help.

I hope to welcome you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I have not stayed at the Crown Plaza for a number of years, maybe 5. WOW what a difference. The hotel has had a total transformation. Gone is the tired reception area and now there is a funky looking reception with comfy seating, great bar and breakfast room.

Check in was super quick, very friendly too.
The room - we stayed on the top floor, well worth the extra money. The room was clean, very spacious and had everything you could need. The bed was massive and so comfortable. I wish I had a bed like this at home.

We opted for the club room - which includes free acess to the lounge on the 13th floor, you get free tea, coffee and soft drinks. Free alcohol between 5:30-7:30pm. We thought this was fantastic as we did not know this was included. After running the Birmingham half marathon it was nice to be able to chill out in such a nice place.
The bathroom was also pretty special. A lovely power shower enclosed, rather than the usual shower over the bath.

The breakfast was a little dissapointing, we arrived to eat at 9:30am - breakfast closed at 10am. So the cooked food was a little stale. So I opted for goold old marmite on toast.

The only bad points for me was the breakfast- everything else was spot on!

I am looking forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the 13th floor! super rooms with free access to the club lounge, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaxBedfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to read that you were very impressed by our hotel and its transformation since your last stay with us, especially the reception area, bar and restaurant.

I am also glad to read that you were happy with the facilities and amenities within your Club room and the extra benefits of upgrading provides, such as the canape and alcoholic beverage service and the complimentary soft drinks available 24 hours.

As we always aim to provide a great British breakfast, I am disappointed to read that you were not happy with the quality of food. It is through feedback from valued guests, such as yourselves, that we can improve what we offer, hence I have passed on your comments to the Head chef and apologise that breakfast was not up to our usual high standards.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

This is really nice hotel, near to every thing, the only down side is the parking, hotel doesn't have parking space.
But overall very good hotel, I will book this hotel again.
Breakfast was lovely and staff very polite.
It is exactly in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear a n,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to read that you found our hotel to be really nice, especially the location, breakfast and our very polite staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
3,037 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
3,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Address: 19 Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing