We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, some staff a little robotic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #31 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, some staff a little robotic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We just stayed for one night and found our room to be comfortable, very clean and everything in working order (a treat for city hotels in general). The Reception staff were great when booking in although on booking out it did get a bit chaotic as one of the two staff on duty was just learning and didn't know what she was doing. We had drinks and snacks in the bar and here the staff kept strutting round looking busy but didn't make you feel welcome nor provide anything but basic service - they made you feel as though you were putting them out when ordering drinks We chose continental breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed the fresh fruit, cold meats and cheeses etc and noted the queue for the 'Full English' was quite long at times. The location is good and the hotel good value for money, we'll stay here again when next in Birmingham

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Margaret S,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre. I am pleased to read that you were happy with the location of the hotel and with the comfort and cleanliness of your room. Although, I am disappointed to read about the service that you received from our staff in the bar. We always want our guests to feel welcome and sincerely apologise that you did not experience this in the bar. I have passed on your comments to the Food & Beverage Manager to address with the bar staff.

I am also glad to read that you thoroughly enjoyed the continental breakfast in the restaurant, especially the variety of fresh fruit, cold meats and cheeses that we offer, as we always aim to provide a great breakfast experience.

It is also great to read that you found our hotel to be good value for money and that you will stay with us again when you are next in Birmingham. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the city.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    837
    323
    94
    55
See reviews for
223
601
82
675
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night and the standard room was fine, a decent price and the bed was comfy. The lighting as in most hotels was poor and not suited to working.

Breakfast was a disappointment, the bacon was soggy and tastless and the sausage was not much better. The plates were also far too hot and needed 3 serviettes to hold and it was still uncomfortably hot. Also the fruit selection was not great.

In summary, a decent hotel for a business visit but let down by a poor breakfast.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Andy F,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your room and the majority of features provided. I am truly sorry to hear that the breakfast served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Rooms comfortable , room service efficient, but breakfast felt like being farmed to a table and left to get on with it- no smiling faces or atmosphere in the restaurant that make the breakfast meal welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic-2248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Nic-2248,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed 3 nights - the room was adequate as was the breakfast

I have only given it one star however because they refused to let me extend my checkout time from 12 to 1pm.

I was playing in an afternoon charity concert and wanted to come back and change after morning rehearsals and explained this to the manager who just said no as they were fully booked. Surely not every one arrives to check in at 1pm?!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank amati1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the hotel did not have enough availability to extend your check out, preventing you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Spent 1 night at the hotel and overall it was a good stay, the hotels location is very convenient for the Symphony Hall and canal bars and restaurants and despite the architecture of the city being an acquired taste there was a good feeling in the area. The hotels lobby, bar and conference rooms are perfectly adequate and my room on the 4th floor was spacious, warm, clean and quiet with a very comfortable king size bed. However the hotel staff barely raised a smile during every interaction, taking the lift is a bit like playing a skill game on Crystal Maze and the expensive car park is truly horrible and a terrible first impression. All said I would stay at the hotel again if in town on business but not with partner or kids

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Jon A,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre. I am pleased to read that you were happy with the location of our hotel and with our spacious and comfortable rooms. However, I am disappointed to read that our staff barely smiled. We strive to consistently provide superior service and accommodation and I am sorry that we did not deliver the excellent service that we pride ourselves upon and I sincerely apologise for this.

We value all feedback as it gives us the opportunity to improve what we offer and therefore I will pass on your comments regarding our lifts and the public car park to the relevant departments.

Thanks again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

The positives for this hotel are the central location and the friendly and helpful staff. I booked a room using my BA points and got a very basic and tired room. The room is desperately in need of updating and lacks basic essentials like an in room safe and a decent heating and ventilation system. Compared to other Crowne Plazas this is just average, not good.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MJABATH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear MJABATH,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre. I am pleased to read that you were happy with the central location of the hotel and with our friendly and helpful staff. I am however disappointed to read that you felt that our rooms lack basic essentials such as an in room safe. All of our rooms are equipped with an in room safe and this can be located in the wardrobe. I sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us and I have passed on your comments regarding our rooms to the Maintenance Manager.

I do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Hotel is very central and has easy access to the centre, shops, ICC and New Street train station.
The staff are welcoming and effecient. The rooms are clean and all as expected of this star of hotel.
The toilets in the main reception area need to be checked and tidied more often.
The breakfasts are good with plenty of selection and served till 11.30 on Sunday so you can book out and have a leisurely breakfast and read the papers. Sadly there is the dreaded do it yourself toaster which is always a disaster waiting to happen.
The only down side is the car park which is a public car park but one that the hotel recommend. It cost my partner more to park the car for a night than it did for me to travel 1st class on the train from London. The car park spacing is so tight it is nearly impossible to park the car and difficult to turn up the ramps.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valerieM904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear valerieM904,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre. I was very pleased to read that you were happy with the location of the hotel, as well as the cleanliness of our rooms and the efficiency of our staff. Whilst I appreciate your positive comments, I truly value your negative comments, as these will allow us to improve what we offer. Therefore, I have passed on your comments regarding the toaster at breakfast to the Head Chef. I have also ensured that all public toilets get checked on a regular basis.

Thank you again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,752 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,414 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#11 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Address: Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#15 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK and Prestigia so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing