We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic hotel and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #33 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stopped over at the Crowne Plaza in Birmingham Centre on New Years eve. We arrived and were upgraded to a fantastic room. The lounge with free wine was a perfect start to the NYE celebration. The room was comfortable and the bar prices reasonable. The only down side was that the fire alarm activated at 6 pm and we were on the 11th floor!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear steve L,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre. I was pleased to read that you were happy with your club room and with the drinks service in the club lounge. I was however disappointed to read that your evening was spoilt by a fire alarm and I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience this caused you.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    848
    330
    95
    55
See reviews for
228
609
83
688
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here whilst visiting Birmingham for the Christmas market. The hotel is excellently located for the city centre and we were just 5 minutes walk to the start of the Christmas market. Hotel and room were spotlessly clean and the breakfast buffet was very good with plenty of replenishment of everything on offer; very important as the hotel was full. We booked quite early for this and got a very good deal.

My one disappointment was that as a Gold IHG member I can normally shortcut check–in by going to the priority desk. However, it was closed at a time when there were a lot of people checking in and out, including a whole gaggle of airline staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithmT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear KeithmT,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre. I was delighted to read that you were happy with the location of the hotel, our spotlessly clean rooms and with the variety and quality of breakfast. I was however disappointed to read that the priority check in desk was not available for you to check in. I sincerely apologise for this and the inconvenience this caused you. I have since spoken to the front office team and emphasised the importance of ensuring that this desk is covered for check in times to ensure that this issue does not arise for future guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed at a cheap rate , upgraded as a gold member without asking. Access to executive lounge with free drinks and breakfast. Attentive staff and clean good quality room. Would recommend this hotel as its very central and good quality hotel. .

Room Tip: If a gold member request upgrade to executive as its excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank efc52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear efc52,

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre. I was delighted to read that you were satisfied with all aspects of your stay with us, especially with our attentive staff and our clean good quality rooms.

I am also pleased to read that you would recommend our hotel, due to our loction and quality and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed here on a friday night first week in december. Got a great price for a club room as we are an IHG member. Check in was very speedy and professional and the room was very well presented with toiletries, tea making facilities,water,iron etc.Very comfortable bed, pleasant view over city and very quiet.Lovely appointed bathroom with separate shower, very nice and space to put your own tioletries, very often overlooked in other hotels.Club lounge made a great start to the evening with the waitress working very hard going round everybody constantly, we never had to move! excellent service. The hotel is ideally placed for mailbox or broad street and a wander to the bull ring via the museum or town hall square. Had breakfast in the club lounge, continental, not a lot of choice, but what there was was well presented, had smoked salmon, eggs and fruit, very nice and relaxing looking over the city. Left our bags with the concierge and had a day shopping. Overall had a lovely comfortable stay with excellent service, would definately stay here again.Stayed at hotel Indigo last time, hated the decor everywhere, service terrible,not got a clue.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellalot011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear travelalot011,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and taking the time to write a review. I was delighted to read that you were satisfied with your club room and the facilities and amenities within this. I was also pleased to read that you enjoyed the service from our staff in our club lounge, We always strive to provide excellent customer service, so I am glad that we delivered this for you.

I was also happy to read that you had a comfortable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
245 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

After a rather lackluster stay at the Indigo Hotel in Birmingham I decided my next stay would be elsewhere. As an IHG Platinium member the obvious choice was the Crowne Plaza and we booked a club room for one night over the weekend.

The location of the hotel is great, close to whats left of the Mailbox, close to lots of bars and restaurants, an easy walk from the train station and 10 mins walk to the Bull Ring shopping centre.
The check in was excellent, fully prepared, full recognition of the IHG status and rewards and explaination of the hotel.
The room was nice, not huge for a club room but very clean, classy and comfortable with plenty of good additions, AC, tea making, water, toiletries. There was a large comfortable bed and their was no noise from other rooms or corridors so we had a great nights sleep. The bathroom had a shower and separate bath.
We used the main bar where we got good service.
We visited the club lounge which is a good addition.
Breakfast choice and service was very good in the main resturant

Overall a very enjoyable stay with nice room and good service. I would be happy to return.

Suggested improvements
Club lounge felt a little bland and sterile for an evening drink.
Room corridors looked quite scruffy and needed a tidy up.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear docscooter,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to read that as one of our Platinum Elite members that you were satisfied with all aspects with your stay, especially with your excellent check in experience, our nice rooms and with the variety and quality of food served in our restaurant.

While I appreciate the compliments regarding our service and accommodation, I truly value your comments for possible improvements as this will allow us to enhance what we offer to future guests. Therefore, I have passed on your comments to the maintenance manager to review and action accordingly.

I look forward to your next stay at our hotel.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed day after boxing day, excellent club room, and had free drinks in the club bar from 5.30 - 7.30 which we took full advantage of! the heating in the room was not working properly so room not very warm and as we only realised at 11.30 at night, the staff said they were unable to do anything about it, they did suggest moving to another room but we decided to stay put. Agree the lighting in bathroom and bedroom not good for putting on makeup, but that is a problem in a lot of hotels, but they did have a magnifying mirror which is great! All staff friendly and very helpful. As I got this in a deal it was excellent value for money and would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Check to make sure heating is working correctly when you arrive in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear carol b,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre. I am pleased to read that you found our club room to be excellent and that you enjoyed the drinks and canape service in the club lounge. I am however sorry to read that the heating in your room was not working and I sincerely apologise for this and the inconvenience this caused you.

I am glad that you found all of our staff to be helpful and friendly and that we were excellent value for money. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
87 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Depending on what you are in Birmingham defines what hotel you choose. We were there for a boys weekend away and so wanted to be in the centre of it. We usually try and stay central but yet stay somewhere a little nicer for a good nights sleep (age!!)
The crown plaza is very modern, very large, has all the usual amenities and is a couple of minutes walk from the centre of it all for nightlife.
We were there in December and the hotel is right next to the Xmas markets.
The rooms was very spacious and comfy.
Internet was one drawback at 5 pounds for 24 hours, tut tut.
Also, the bar was very expensive compared to pubs nearby.

Room Tip: Get the train rather than a cab if from the airport. Cab was 30 pounds. Train is 5 minutes and is 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishDave2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear IrishDave2005,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel. I was pleased to read that you were satisfied with your stay, especially with our location and with our spacious rooms and amenities within them.

We value all feedback that we receive as this will help us to improve what we offer to future guests, therefore I appreciate your comments regarding the cost of internet and the prices charged at our bar and will pass these on to the relevant department managers to review.

I do hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,824 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,500 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Address: Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing