We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #36 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here New Year's Eve as me my partner & friends had an event on broad street for the night. The location was perfect not to far at all but at the very end of the street so away from the madness & noise.
The hotel rooms were very modern with comfy large baths & modern bathrooms with luxurious toiletries included. My only problem with the hotel was our main lamp was not working which limited our lighting whilst getting ready & that me & my partner ordered room service i ordered a sandwich that was suppose to come with crisps & coleslaw but arrived a very small thin sandwich with just a handful of crisps & no coleslaw not the best when your paying about £6/£7 for it however my partner ordered a burger & it looked really good with a lot there.
Overall we liked the hotel & would stay again for their comfy beds & great location.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joannechamberlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Joannechamberlain,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre. I was delighted to read that you found our location to be perfect and that you found our rooms to be very modern with a large comfy bath and luxurious toiletries.

I was however disappointed to read that the main lamp in your room was not working and that you were not satisfied with the food that you ordered from our room service. I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience these issues caused you and I have passed on your comments to the relevant department managers to action accordingly.

I am glad to read that you would stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    879
    349
    102
    58
See reviews for
244
631
89
716
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, England
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Looking a little worn around the edges but well located in the centre of Birmingham. A little hard to find just off the ring road so make sure you take directions if driving. Allocated a disabled room (I am fortunately fully able) so more room in the bathroom than usual. Good shower and comfortable bed. Dinner in hotel restaurant good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear David777,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We have stayed many Birmingham hotels last December we stayed at the Copthorne and it was a great disappointment the Crowne Plaza is cheaper and much better .We were in room 502 there was myself my husband and our ten year old son, usually our son gets a sofa bed or camp bed but we had two double beds in our room, bar had nice relaxed atmosphere..little pricey...breakfast was great. Very clean, Will 100% return .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear kazmike,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and like that our twin rooms contain two double beds. We do like to cater for families and want them to have a comfortable stay and so having two double beds ensures that there is enough space for everyone to sleep comfortably.

I was also happy to read that you thought breakfast was great and that you would 100% stay with us again. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Booked a last minute w/e trip to see Strictly Show in Birmingham and needed a good hotel for a sleep over after the show. Tried last minute.com and found this great hotel.The parking was good right under the hotel and very reasonable. The hotel is clean modern, great rooms with friendly staff. The rooms were very comfortable and quite spacious two 3/4 beds in our. This hotel in walking distance to the NIA and all the local cultural shows. The shower was very good indeed with plenty of space. The breakfast on Sunday was open until 11am- what a great idea, so we all enjoyed a lie in the comfy beds.The breakfast was good quality, with fresh cooked eggs.
We enjoyed a look around the fantastic new library down the road and the canal has a dinner boat which looked great. Don't usually go back to the same hotel but will definitely use this one again.

Room Tip: Rooms which overlook the car parks are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Millie B,

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre. I was delighted to read that you were satisfied with all aspects of your stay with us, whereby you don't normally stay at the same hotels again, but would definitely make an exception for us.

I was also very pleased to read that you found the hotel to be clean and modern with great rooms and friendly staff. We always strive to consistently provide superior service and accommodation and therefore I am glad that we were able to deliver these on your stay with us.

I look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed here as it was close to the NIA,within 10 minutes walk. We were not disappointed.All the staff were great and really helpful andgreat with the kids.The rooms were spacious and the beds massive.The were lovely and soft with four different types of pillows.There was a good tea tray with biscuits and chocolates,waters and orangejuice.The towels were massive and lovely and fluffy,the toiletries were great too.The check out was 12.00 and breakfast was til 11.30,all a plus. It was buffet style and really great quality.We thouroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to going back there soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShrewsburyChefette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear ShrewsburyChefette,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre. I was delighted to read that you found our hotel to be great and that you were happy with facilities and amenities within your room. I was also pleased to read that all of our staff were great and helpful, as we always strive to deliver superior service.

We do offer a later time for breakfast on weekends to ensure that guests that may wish to have a lie in can still enjoy a great start to their day and therefore I am glad that you were able to utilise this facility and that you enjoyed breakfast.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I find Crowne Plaza a good choice when travelling overnight and want something pleasant with good facilities and service. Crowne Plaza Birmingham met all my expectations and a little more. The reception was polite and pleasant. Our room was ready when we arrived - and we were given a late check-out. This was a great start. It was worthwhile booking a club room, with the lounge facilities. The canapés and wine were a pleasant start to an evening out and the continental breakfast a great beginning to our Sunday walk along the canals. The room was large with a comfortable bed and good pillow selection and excellent air conditioning. A full length mirror is always handy and this one was well placed. The bathroom was very good indeed with plenty of thick towels, a separate shower (terrific) and a bath. The location is very good, but do take a map when you are searching for restaurants - several are close by - some by the canal and others in Broad Street. It is an easy walk to New and Moor Street stations, the Museum and Art Gallery and other public buildings.

Room Tip: I think it is worth the extra to book a club room as the canapés and wine were plentiful and the con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindylou45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear cindylou45,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre. I was delighted to read that we exceeded your expectations during your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the facilities and amenities of your club room. I am also glad that you enjoyed the drinks and canape service in the club lounge and your Continental breakfast in the morning.

I was also pleased to read that you liked the location of our hotel as we are within walking distance of the main attractions of the city.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here on Saturday whilst visiting friends in Birmingham, check in was smooth with very polite staff.
Parking was right by the hotel, £13 for 24hrs.
Room was very spacious and clean, beds were very comfortable we had a nice peaceful sleep.
I used the gym twice, it was basic but clean and adequate for a quick workout.
The hotel was in the right location for our visit, right next to the Mailbox and its many shops and restaurants.
We had our evening meal at the hotel which was average and breakfast the next morning also average.
Overall I would return here for its location and comfort but will dine somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Gmaxx,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre. I was very pleased to read that your check in experience was smooth, with polite staff and that you were satisfied with the cleanliness and comfort of your room, allowing you to enjoy a peaceful nights sleep.

I was however disappointed to read that breakfast and your evening meal were only average and I sincerely apologise for this. We value all the feedback we receive as this will help us to improve what we offer to future guests and have therefore passed on your comments to our Head Chef to review.

I look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
2,981 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
921 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Address: 19 Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Prestigia, IHG, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing