We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a Girly Shopping Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #32 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed her for a girls shopping trip to the City, with the carpark under the hotel and the main shopping area less than five minutes away it was the perfect choice. Reception staff were friendly and helpful on arriving.
Our room was spacious and clean. The Bathroom was full of lush goodies and fluffy towels. The water was steaming hot so made for a great shower!
There was some stains and mold on the carpet in the corridor that clearly needs dealing with.
After a night out in Birmingham we got back to the hotel at 1am, the bar was open and the bar area had a nice feel to it.
The breakfast was great, but our scrambled eggs took a while, we had to ask twice where they had got too. Would happily recommend and stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foreverangel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Foreverangel18,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre. I was pleased to read that you were satisfied with your room and found it to be spacious and clean and with the amenities within this.

I have taken on board your comments regarding the carpets in the corridors. We are currently in the process of updating all of our corridors however we do value all the feedback that we receive as this will help us to improve what we offer to future guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,209 - 1,215 of 2,123 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

Our annual stay here for the Christmas market didn't disappoint,upgraded to club lounge this time,room immaculate,staff extremely helpful,looking forward to this year's Christmas booking,well done all at crowne plaza for making our stay perfect

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve0973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Steve0973,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre. I was delighted to read that your stay with us was perfect, with your room being immaculate and our staff being extremely helpful.

I look forward to your next stay with us at Christmas.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights for a 3 day business meeting. It's very near new street train station and also well located for eating by the canal and for going into town too.

The meeting facilities are perfectly practical. Nothing special to say about it, just good standard meeting facilities. Lockable rooms etc. We almost went for malmaison, which was more expensive and probably would have been a more individual experience. But everything that malmaison charged extra for was included in the cheaper crowne plaza rate. Malmaison would have been very convenient for Starbucks etc since it's all in the mailbox shopping centre.

Recommend going round the corner to cafe blend for coffee. Very nice. Going a tiny bit into town for the Wellington pub which has a large range of nice ales.

There was plenty of bacon at breakfast - so that's a win as far as I'm concerned.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank gingdotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear gingdotta,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre and taking the time to write a review. I was pleased to read that you were satisfied with the location of the hotel, with our meeting facilities and with breakfast.

I look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently whilst on business n I have to say it was absolutely amazing stay. Right from the beginning the staff were very helpful. The beds were massive and comfy. The foid was sublime.. breakfast had everything covered from cereal to toast to full english even had sum continental stuff.. 5stars well done

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Shane B,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre. I was delighted to read that your stay with us was absolutely amazing and that right from the beginning you found our staff to be very helpful.

I was also pleased to read that you were satisfied with your room and breakfast and look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

This is the 2nd time I've stayed here. Because I joined their loyalty scheme I was upgraded to a room on the 7th floor. Slightly bigger room than my last stay but get complimentary extended checkout if available and 2 complimentary bottles of water.
Checkin was quick and easy.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Kelly F,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre. I was pleased to read that you were happy with your room and with the extra benefits of being an IHG Rewards Club member.

I was also glad to read that your check in experience was quick and easy and look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here New Year's Eve as me my partner & friends had an event on broad street for the night. The location was perfect not to far at all but at the very end of the street so away from the madness & noise.
The hotel rooms were very modern with comfy large baths & modern bathrooms with luxurious toiletries included. My only problem with the hotel was our main lamp was not working which limited our lighting whilst getting ready & that me & my partner ordered room service i ordered a sandwich that was suppose to come with crisps & coleslaw but arrived a very small thin sandwich with just a handful of crisps & no coleslaw not the best when your paying about £6/£7 for it however my partner ordered a burger & it looked really good with a lot there.
Overall we liked the hotel & would stay again for their comfy beds & great location.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Joannechamberlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daksha_Mistry, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Joannechamberlain,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre. I was delighted to read that you found our location to be perfect and that you found our rooms to be very modern with a large comfy bath and luxurious toiletries.

I was however disappointed to read that the main lamp in your room was not working and that you were not satisfied with the food that you ordered from our room service. I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience these issues caused you and I have passed on your comments to the relevant department managers to action accordingly.

I am glad to read that you would stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Looking a little worn around the edges but well located in the centre of Birmingham. A little hard to find just off the ring road so make sure you take directions if driving. Allocated a disabled room (I am fortunately fully able) so more room in the bathroom than usual. Good shower and comfortable bed. Dinner in hotel restaurant good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear David777,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,202 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,109 reviews
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#27 of 118 in Birmingham
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Address: 19 Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £68 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing