We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, this feels more than a 3 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #32 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
crawley
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wow, this feels more than a 3 star”
Reviewed 5 March 2009

Had used trip advisor to have a quick look at this hotel and it was reviewed really accurately. Great hotel, absolutely beautiful rooms, finished to a high standard, food was great, drinks were very expensive however, and the comment I had read beforehand about the walls being thin and the lights taking ages to turn on were so true. I felt like someone was coming in the room, I also waited quite a while for the lights to come on, so long I thought there was a problem and turned them off to start again. On the whole great place to stay, and the colleagues i sopke to also thought this was a lovely hotel, and we must have taken about 100 rooms. We cant all be wrong.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazfoster72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 11 March 2009
Dear Cazfoster

Thank you for taking the time to add feedback to our site. I am very happy to read that you had a great stay.

In line with our environment policy, all the light bulbs in the rooms are energy savers, however they should not take so long to come on. I will do some spot checks this evening with our engineer to ensure we have the right product.

I am glad that your group all enjoyed your time here at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards
Mark Kelly
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    891
    353
    103
    58
See reviews for
249
636
92
723
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2009

Can highly recommend this wonderful hotel. It only cost us 65 pounds for a nights stay with breakfast included (which was delicious!).
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful; rooms well decorated and brand new; great central location.
Only slight criticism was that the rooms were a bit dark - not very good for putting make-up on! But other than this, perfect!
Our purpose was to go to see The Killers at The NEC - about a 20min drive (we also recommend The Killers!).
Was surprised that Birmingham has such a nice City Centre too. Nice for wondering around.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lispab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 11 March 2009
Dear Lis

Thank you for taking the time to add such positive comments to our review page.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay, not only in our hotel but also in Birmingham City.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards
Mark Kelly
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend and met a friend in Birmingham.

We booked the hotel through hotels.com, which offered a hugely discounted rate compared to the £220 that the hotel advertise as room rate.

Check in was easy and friendly. It wasn't mentioned that we had not booked directly with the hotel as has been mentioned in other hotels.

The room was clean and spacious. Nice to have white company products in the bathroom.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of Birmingham new street station and the city centre. It is also easy to walk to the Brindley place area of the city and the Mailbox.

An added bonus is that we were able to leave our bags with the hotel for the day after we had checked out which saved us £6 as not having to leave it at the train station.

Would definatly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 9 March 2009
Dear Hollibob

Thank you very much for your positive feedback since your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City.

We are really happy to read that you had a great check in and check out experience and found the room to be clean and spacious.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards
The team at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2009

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of years ago, and all I can say is "What a transformation!!" The refurbishment is very tasteful, very sophisticated.

Rooms are comfortable, spacious and immaculately clean.

For dinner the restaurant was attentive, relaxed and delicious, breakfast was fresh, plentiful and efficient.

Even a coffee in the lounge bar had a unique and interesting twist, home made biscuits and coffee cocktails available if desired.

The biggest transformation is the staff, a pride in their hotel is evident by how personable they are. Everywhere we went the staff we came across went out of their way to make our stay memorable, even a maintenance person we met in the lift had a cheery hello and enjoy your stay!

We will return, I guarantee you and will recommend the "New" Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonaLisaChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 3 March 2009
Dear MonaLisaChester

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback after your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham.

I have copied your comments and put them on to the notice board in our staff canteen to share with our team.

I am delighted that you have had an enjoyable stay and are impressed with our new facilities after our recent refurbishment.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards
Mark Kelly
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2009

We have flown from Dublin to Birmingham BHX with Aer Lingus and have taken the train to Newstreet Station, from there the hotel is only around 10 to 15 min. walk away in the heart of this superb City.This was our first stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham. We had only one night. The hotel was completely refreshed and it shows! The building work was still going on at the time ( 08/08 ), but the hotel saw a new lease of life. The check-in was efficient and we had a room no. 1103 on the Crowne Plaza Club floors which included Executive Lounge access and we had also Dinner and Breakfast included in our package we booked through Intercontinental Hotels website. The room was totally new and stylish, large LCD TV with international channels, view was to the Hyatt Hotel on the backside of the Crowne Plaza. The King size bed was large and comfortable which comes highly recommended. The value overall should be also great with the right rate. The Bathroom was also completely overhauled and stylish with bathtub and separate shower in a medium sized format and setting. The Executive Lounge was very nice to look at and would be also nice to use and spend some time in it, but the lounge is simply too small for too many people at certain times! The Food choice was also not very good and the employees were always overwhelmed with the service or refill they had done, which was alway too few items of everything which was on offer. Also the guests in the Executive Lounge have been disgusting in many ways ( a hen party ) how these women could get into the lounge is and was anybodys bad guess! They had been drunk, unruly, unfriendly, they drank too much alcohol and had been very loud! Worst of all the employees seemed simply too overwhelmed to get them out of the lounge and reprimand them at the time and on the spot. Which was very weak! This should have happened very fast for the sake of all paying fellow guests who have the quiet dignity not to disturb all other guests. The Dinner in the restaurant was included in our price as we have mentioned before and was just outstanding! The value for money and the quality of the food was excellent. Even when the dinner was not included in the price the 3-course would have been only 20 Pounds Sterling per person. Highly recommendable and very good friendly service in nice atmosphere which was upscale and modern in keeping up with the character of the hotel especially when the building work will completed which should be already done while we wrote this review for Tripadvisor! The breakfast on the next morning was for us in the Executive Lounge which was by now quieter ( no hens here by now ) but the staff seemed still overwhelmed with the service and the refill on products they had on offer which wasn' t that much anyway! The Breakfast buffet in the restaurant was probably much better with more choice and space provided and hopefully as with our dinner value and service as befitting a real Crowne Plaza Hotel! ( see also our review of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin - Northwood ). One of our other gripes included that they had charged us for our Dinner despite it was included in the price, but this was very fast rectified on the check-out within seconds, literally! Here in Birmingham we had a nice time in a lovely city in the midlands of England. We shall come back and should even stay once again at the Crowne Plaza but then we should avail of a standard room without Club access and breakfast and dinner included. This should be the right holiday in Birmingham we would highly recommend. ( Without the hens, Folks! ). Also as with many Crowne Plaza Hotels, here the management must decide what they actually want to be! More like Holiday Inn or more like Intercontinental Hotels or face death in the middle without clear identity and new ideas! Fly, Stay, Explore.

  • Liked — the room, the dinner, the location, the bed, the view from the room
  • Disliked — the staff in the Executive Lounge, the lounge itself, food in lounge, the drunken hen party in lounge, the dinner charge despite being included in price!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Flyers007Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 3 March 2009
Thank you very much for offering very detailed feedback after your stay at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City.

I am happy to inform you that the recent full hotel refurbishment is now complete and all areas including the new reception and b1 bar are open. The new pictures of which are available on our website.

I have noted your comments concerning the hen party and can confirm that we have reviewed our policy on Hen / Stag parties to ensure the comfort and enjoyment of all of our guests is met. I am very much aware of the group for which you are referring to as they did indeed take full advantage of the complimentary snacks and drinks in the Club lounge to the detriment of our other guests. I can assure you that this was a one off situation and one that will not be allowed to re – occur.

To answer your final question, the management of the Crowne Plaza Birmingham is very proud of its 4 star deluxe position in the Birmingham market place and will continue in striving to exceed our guest expectations in the service levels that we offer.

Thank you once again for your very constructive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards
Mark Kelly
Operations Manager
0121 2245030
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2009

Basically, this is a decent hotel with a few faults. The first is that you can't get from the underground car park into the hotel without going outside. It's no fun lugging your gear through the snow. There should be a lift into the lobby.

The next thing you notice is that, even after you have switched on the six or seven lights, your room is still dark. Dim, energy-saving bulbs, unhelpfully shaded by semi-opaque fabric. If you want to read a book or paper, you have to sit in the bathroom. The light fittings are American-style, screw-fit, by the way. But they are not rated for anything over 60 Watts.

My second stay (on the 9th floor) was marred by a smell of drains and a mysterious damp patch near the door. I complained after one night and the staff very efficiently and politely moved my belongings to an acceptable room on the 8th floor. Not bad but an upgrade would have been more impressive.

On the upside, the beds are big and comfortable and you even get a pillow menu. Ask for a medium-firm down-filled pillow and it is delivered to your room in minutes. The bathrooms (on the upper floors at least) are good, stylish and have actual baths. You even get a bathrobe.

Downstairs, there is a pretty good bar. It has a stylish design and some of the staff (notably Rob) really know their stuff. In general, the hotel staff are smart, polite, helpful. I don't know what the other reviewers are complaing about.

Oh yes, and the breakfasts are well up to standard. You can get a full English with black pudding and a choice of sausages.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mister_Whitebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 23 February 2009
Dear Mister_Whitebeard

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your recent experience at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham.

With regards to your feedback concerning the car park, unfortunately there is no lift access, however we do have a 24 hour concierge team who would be delighted to assist you with your luggage from the car park on your next stay. Their direct line is 0121 224 5043.

I have passed your comments concerning the power from the light bulbs to our Chief Engineer, we have indeed made the environmentally friendly decision to install energy save light bulbs in all our rooms, however we will ensure that the power is suffice for reading and working in rooms.

Thank you for your kind comments concerning the bar service, specifically our bar tender Rob, I will ensure he receives some internal awards points for his excellent customer service.

Kind regards
Mark Kelly
Operations Manager
0121 2245030
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2009

I stayed here on a business trip for one night. It is a nice hotel in the city center of birmingham. I stayed here a couple of years ago and at that time the hotel was totally worn out the rooms were very old. I heard that the hotel was totally refurbished. The new rooms are nice the bed and pillows great and the badroom clean. I would say it is a nice 4**** hotel much better than a couple of years ago. The only downside is the noisy rooms the walls are far to small so you can hear everything and if i say everything i mean EVERYTHING. Breakfast was soso not that special.

  • Liked — Location, bed.
  • Disliked — Very noisy rooms.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Netherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 23 February 2009
Thank you for taking the time to feedback on trip advisor following your recent stay at the hotel. Guest feedback is very much appreciated as it enables to ensure we are meeting the expectations of all our guests.
I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your visit to our newly refurbished hotel. The hotel has indeed gone through a £16 million pound refurbishment and is newest 4 star hotel in Birmingham.
With regards to your feedback concerning noise from other rooms, I will complete an inspection with our chief engineer to ensure all rooms are fully sound proofed.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
3,026 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
3,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Address: 19 Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing