We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel nothung too much trouble”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #36 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
nottinghamshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely hotel nothung too much trouble”
Reviewed 28 September 2009

stayed at this hotel with my husband for his birthday treat. we were meet by very helpful reception staff, check in very quick and were able to check into our room before actual checking time. i booked through crowne plaza central reservations a club room which i was told would be on the club lounge floor but was actually on the floor below. was slightly dissapointed was expecting a larger room by the description given by the booking staff. the room we had was very clean and all staff fantastic the 2hrs in the club lounge bar for complimentary drinks was great but make sure you get there early because not big enough for amount of people wanting to use. just wondered if i got the room i had actually booked or whether it was a standard room after speaking to others in the hotel who seemed to have the same room and facilities as us but paid slightly less !

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammyjimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    878
    349
    102
    58
See reviews for
243
631
89
716
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Stayed here after getting 2 nights for the price of 1 deal. The Crowne is just of Broad Street and walking distance to the main shopping area Bullring. We got a room with two double beds and the size of the room was good and also clean. Bathroom also was adequate. My only complaint would be the cost of parking - £13 a night i felt was a bit over the top. I would definately stay here again however.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunny-singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

This is the second time this year I've stayed for a long weekend. I must say I have been very impressed with the friendly staff, the rooms and facilities.
I paid under £60 a night for a double room which included breakfast (very good) the car park was £13 a night which took the total price to about £280 for four nights. Considering the location etc I think thats very good value for two people. I shall visit again soon.
I like Birmingham, always lots going on and fabulous reasonably priced restaurant. You can of course eat at the top end, Edmunds or Purnells but have a look in The Ikon Gallery, you wont be disappointed, Excellent food and friendly staff. I found this a little late on my visit and have only visited once but I was impressed. The Jam House is good too but make sure you book a week or so in advance.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunroaminChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

This hotel is located approx a 5 minutes walk, or approx £5 taxi fare from Birmingham New Street Station.

Check in staff were very efficient and friendly, even though check in was busy. Guest Services were brilliant and made you feel very welcome.

Rooms were large and nicely decorated. Modern throughout with great features. The rooms were spotless and had the usual ammenities.

The hotel boasts a fantastic location, with only a 2-5 minutes walk to 'The Mailbox' and 5-10 minutes walk to the 'Bull Ring'. Situated on the corner of Broad Street you can easily walk to many bars and restaurants.

Ideal hotel for a weekend get away in Birmingham. Would definately stay at this hotel again and recommend it to anyone who is thinking about where to stay in Birmingham.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limerickonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

This hotel was fantastic. Easy to get to, we travelled from London to Birmingham New Street by train and walked to the hotel. Easy check in, we were in our room within 5 minutes of arriving, no fuss at all. Room was fantastic, had everything we needed. Concierge very helpful in findng a local Sushi restaurant, even though I wouldn't recommend the restaurant! Breakfast was great, traditional buffet which I added to the room rate at time of booking for a very reasonable £7 each. Checkout was no fuss, and charges exactly as expected, and very reasonable (please don't change them!). We then walked to the NIA, which again was very easy. How could the experience be improved? Well glass tumblers in the room rather than plastic disposables would have been more inkeeping with the quality of the accomodation, and perhaps quieter fans on the in room AC, even though it was extremely efficient!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmarshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2009

I got a good deal on a room here via an online agent and felt it was excellent value for just under £64. The room was huge (two double beds) and very clean and comfortable. It is handily placed for restaurants in town if you don't fancy paying the prices in the onsite restaurant. All the staff I came into contact with were polite, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toiras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2009

Excellent, centrally-located hotel which has recently been refurbished to a very high standard. I got a cheap rate online through an agent which caused minor glitch at check-in. Manager was very apologetic and attentive (Mr. Wong) and soon had everything sorted out for me with the minimum of fuss.

Rooms are top-notch, with nice extras (like toiletries in the bathroom, free bottles of water, tea making equipment and biscuits, iron and ironing board in each room). Room service is available 24 hours and there's a stocked minibar in the room.

The bed was very comfortable, the air conditioning was effective, and the double glazing and thick curtains blocked out any noise and light meaning I had a perfect sleep.

Breakfast was also superb. All the usual hot buffet items, fruit, cold meats, continental options, cereal, toast etc plus you get one choice off the menu included. I opted for the delicious freshly-made waffles.

Overall, a great stay for me at the Crowne Plaza on a very cheap rate. If I'm in Birmingham again it would be my first choice and I would even be willing to pay full price!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottishtraveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
2,978 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,743 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Address: 19 Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Odigeo, Prestigia, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing