We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nite stop over from German MArket”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #32 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Worcester
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nite stop over from German MArket”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2009

Had a great deal saved £151.00 from walk in price!
Check in was easy & efficient. The lobby look modern and clean.
Room was clean and bright refrub has improved the appearance. Bed was huge, and a pillow menu too!
We didn’t eat there in the evening but looked nice.
Read a few reviews that it was a thro back to the 70’s for the breakfast? Well the menu was fine and plenty of, also wasn’t just buffet there were plenty of variety on the menu that was also included in the price
Over all a pleasant stay. With easy walking distance to the city centre whether it be the Mailbox of the Bull Ring.
Would stay again
Parking £13.00 attached to the hotel

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snoopy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 29 December 2009
Dear Snoopy1974

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your extremely positive review following your recent stay here at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham.

I am glad that you had a swift check in and found our room and the attention to detail beyond your expectations. We always get good comments about the food and service for our b1 bar and restaurant, I am sure that you will try next time.

Fantastic to read that you enjoyed the breakfast and liked the selection and variety. Soon we are introducing some changes to our breakfast offering which will include live cooking by our specialist chef and some new items to complement the breakfast menu. Great that you have noticed our cooked to order breakfast menu which is obviously included in price.

Please be assured that I share all comments on trip advisor with our team and I am sure that they will be very happy to read about your fantastic experience.

Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Akmal Shahzad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    849
    330
    95
    55
See reviews for
228
609
83
688
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2009

I've stayed at the Crown Plaza for a number of weeks on business and my conclusion is that the hotel is functional, bland and uninspiring. The best (only?) features are the rooms, which have all been subject to a recent refurbishment and are what you'd expect from a 4 start business hotel i.e. functional, clean, inoffensive. The low points are breakfast - a 70's style 'buffet' featuring poor quality ingredients that are akin to a 2 star hotel. The bar and restaurant wouldn't attract non-residents - they are aimed squarely at business guests. Having spent £16m on the refurbishment, I can't help think they've missed an opportunity to create something with a bit of style that would give guests a reason to return.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 8 December 2009
Dear Zico

Thank you very much for taking the time to add a review following your recent stay here at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City.

Great to read that you have stayed with us number of times and do like our rooms and facilities.

In regards to your comments regarding breakfast we are taking steps to improve the whole breakfast experience. It will include adding some new items and also by offering some weekly specials. We also do provide a breakfast checkout facility during the midweek which is very popular amongst our business guests.

We have been receiving excellent feed back for our b1 bar and restaurant. We are due to re-launch our b1 bar and restaurant in February to attract more local guests.

It is your comments that help us providing a better quality experience and always trying to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2009

Hotel was lovely, the staff were very helpful especially when upon getting there, there was no room booked with them! Octopus Travel who myself and a friend booked through, took our money and confirmed the room was booked. Turned out it wasn't. Luckily the hotel had a couple of rooms left , and the staff were very helpful and I didn't have to pay again!
Would defo recommend the hotel, location was great, rooms were great, breakfast was wonderful, Octopus Travel.....not great.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank westyslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 8 December 2009
Dear Westyslim

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your extremely positive review following your recent stay here at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham.

We spend a lot of time training our staff on the importance of first impressions and of course smiling and I am delighted to read that this has been reflected in your experience.

I am also happy to read that you have enjoyed the breakfast, rooms and location of our hotel.

Please be assured that I share all comments on trip advisor with our team and I am sure that they will be very happy to read about your fantastic experience.

Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Akmal Shahzad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

Clean, spacious, well equipped rooms, excellent restaurant. Certainly value for money. Only down side is having to pay £13 for parking overnight.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank Rendezvous2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, Lancs
Level Contributor
163 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

Stayed in Sept here with my husband and was wondering if the second visit would be just as good and it was. Last visit was at weekend and this time during the week and was wondering how it would be. Reception efficient and because it was full were upgraded to Club Room. The room in the same colours as the ones on the lower floors but with separate shower and better toiletries. Restaurant again just as good, 25% deduction if eating before 7pm and the choice well above the norm for a large hotel. Breakfast was very busy and I congratulate the staff for managing to keep everything going under the strain of so many guests. Plenty of choice for everybody. Would recommend this hotel for a great location for the centre of B'ham, very pleasant staff all round and good food. I just wish there was a lift from the car park to make it easier to arrive.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Goldenwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 8 December 2009
Dear GF&MEF

Thank you very much for taking the time to add such a detailed positive review following your second stay.

I am delighted to know that you got upgraded to the Club room and despite a very busy hotel, staff did provide you with a very personal service and attention to detail. We always try to ensure that our high standards and services are consistent through the midweek to the weekend and extremely glad to see that it reflects from your review.

Please be assured that your fantastic comments regarding our b1 bar and restaurant will be shared with the team. Our Head Chef and his team will be only pleased to know about your comments regarding food and the selection available.

As far as a lift is concerned from the car park, it was just not possible to provide this after the major refurbishment however our Guest Services team is there round the clock to assist guests with luggage.

One again thank you for coming back and writing such a wonderful review and we look forward to see you back in the near future.

Akmal Shahzad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

This is a sound hotel, clean great location for NIA. Would stay again for sure, just add £13.00 for parking under the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank layboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2009

I booked a club room here to celebrate my husbands birthday. We checked in early which was great but it was quite a lengthy process, the hotel was busy this weekend due to an event at the ICC. We were also told at check in that as they were busy this weekend we would not be allowed access to the club lounge on the 11th floor, but we could have 2 lots of complimentary drinks in the downstairs bar (after going to see the club lounge on the 11th which is more like a board room, we were quite happy to have our comlimentary drinks downstairs, much more atmosphere) After arriving in our room on the 10th floor I was quite dissapointed at the size I had expected it to be larger from the description and was convinced we hadn't been given a club room but after seeing a room on the 11th floor (the maid was cleaning and had the door open) the rooms were the same so I was OK about it. The room itself was although quite small, clean and nice. Good selection of toiletries and nice tray, was dissapointed the fridge was locked as I wanted to put my water in there. We paid £95 inc of breakfast, had we booked a few weeks earlier it would have been cheaper but we weren't sure of the date. It was lovely having a drink in the bar people watching, and breakfast was lovely. All in all a lovely stay and I would return.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ckenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,834 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,502 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Address: Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, IHG, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing