We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab hotel good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #35 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
southampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“fab hotel good location”
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Stayed at this hotel for a concert excellent location 2 mins to the Symphony Hall
Parking is in an underground car park with stairs that lead to the hotel and the cost £13 we checked out at 10.00 o`clock.
We were checked in very smoothly and went to the 11th floor to the club room we were allocated which was spotless and very comfortable with a lovely view.
The staff were very helpful you couldnt fault them.
Breakfast was very tasty and worth having .Checkout went smoothly and we were on our way would definately stay there again .
What made my day was the band I was going to see Go West were checking in just after I did made my stay!!!!.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gowestfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 23 April 2010
I would like to thank you for adding such a positive review after your recent stay with us.

I am glad that your check in was swift and room met your expectations. Our breakfast team will be happy to see your comments as it is reassurance of their hard work. Guest satisfaction is our top priority and your comments regarding our staff service reflects this well.

Once again, thank for staying with us and we look forward to welcome you back.

Akmal Shahzad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    631
    872
    344
    101
    58
See reviews for
240
624
88
713
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

I have just spent the easter weekend at this hotel with my wife for a romantic break. Very modern, clean hotel which has recently undergone a large refurb program. Public areas very clean and modern. Check in was swift and professional and we were upgraded to an executive room on the 11th floor. Room was clean with a beautiful bathroom and good size TV. The hotel is in a great location, 5 mins walk from New Street Station, bars of Brindley Place/Broad Street and 10 mins walk from the Bull Ring shopping centre. All the staff we encountered during our visit were polite and friendly. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeapingGazelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 23 April 2010
Many thanks for documenting your review after your stay at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City.

It is delightful to read that you have enjoyed your stay. We appreciate that you have recognised our customer service and attention to detail associated with it. Refurbishment was completed by late 2008 and now our Engineering team keeps up the good work. Glad to read your comments regarding Reception and cleanliness, please be assured that we share all comments with our staff.

Akmal Shahzad

Once again, thank you for recommending our hotel and we look forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW UK
Level Contributor
190 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Ths is a handy hotel for business in Birmingham centre. Club rooms are good with loads of dsapce to work. Club lounge is good with complementary drinks and snacks. Food is standard crowne plaza fare. Car park under hotel is handy if you are travelling by road.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter51964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 27 March 2010
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind review following your recent stay here at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City.

Fantastic to read that you stayed on the club floor and enjoyed all the extra facilities that it provides.

Please be assured that I have already shared your comments with the departmental managers for them to share with their teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Akmal Shahzad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kettering
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2010

A good spot right in the centre 5 min to the mailbox 10 min to Birmingham indoor arena.
Nice hotel clean & modern, we stop on a Saturday it was quit busy but we had a good nights sleep.
We eat at the red-peppers good meal but have to book at weekends.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krttering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Having stayed in other big chain hotels in Birmingham I was very pleased with this hotel. It is very clean, the rooms are large, it is very clean, well decorated and the staff are generally friendly and helpful.

The location is fairly good, only 5 minutes walk to Broad street that has lots of bars, resturants etc.

Only one complaint is that when you book online it doesn't actually take payment so you have to ensure that if you book on company card you have it with you during your stay - but it's worth it for this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJ20100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 27 March 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to add a review following your recent stay here at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City.

It’s a pleasure to read that as a frequent traveller you have rated our hotel very highly for accommodation, cleanliness and customer focus.

In regards to the payment for online bookings, it depends upon the nature of booking and its terms and conditions however I will pass the comments to the relevant department.

Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham in the not too distant future.

Akmal Shahzad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pordenone, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

I would not say that this Crowne Plaza really differs from other CP I've been to, but I have to admit that the Executive Lounge floor was the perfect place to have relax, a cup of coffee, breakfast and to have checkout completed and myboarding pass printed. Rooms were really clean and bathroom was perfect with the possibility to have either shower and bath. Perfect!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 27 March 2010
Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, we appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.
I am happy to note that your visit was enjoyable and our staff and facilities contributed equally.
Your comments will be shared with the entire team to recognise their hard work and commitment towards excellence.

Once again, we appreciate your review and look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Akmal Shahzad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
869 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

We had an exceptional weekend at the Crowne Plaza central Birmingham. Our special birthday celebration coincidenced (unknown to us) with a major international atheletics meeting. Our chosen hotel was the main accomodation for all the very serious athletes competing at the NIA just afew hundred yards away. consquently the hotel was very busy, but very well organised.
Lovely "club" room on the 10th floor , very comfortable bed, nicely furnished. Room and surrounding rooms very quiet, with a great view of the canal docks. it was hard to beleive that we were in the centre of Birmingham. Very convienent for everything including all the major shops and New street station / Mail Box / brindley Place / NIA.
The reception staff were best we have ever experienced, and when prompted gave us a quick but through guide to clothes shopping in the area. Yes... thanks.I think.. (i was paying!)
i must say how excellent they all were on the front desk, it was really first rate service.
it was a real pleasure to be in this very comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherriesfan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 2 March 2010
Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, we appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.


Guest satisfaction is our top priority and its good to read that your stay reflects this well. Please be assured that we share your comments with our entire team as reinforcement to continue their efforts. I will ensure that Reception team is aware of your lovely comments!

We did indeed hosted the Athletes during that particular weekend and hotel was extremely busy however it is a pleasure to read that the level of service and attention to detail was there as usual.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments and we look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Akmal Shahzad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#8 of 117 in Birmingham
2,930 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,680 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
912 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Address: 19 Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing