We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revamp puts it back into first class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #34 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Cardiff
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Revamp puts it back into first class”
Reviewed 23 July 2010

This is an old Crowne Plaza that has been given a better than skin-deep makeover. On my last visit the builders were still in, now it's a fresh as a new born baby: even the worst features of the monolithic block architecture nicely spruced up and toned down (quite a trick).
The new reception area spills onto a very attractive bar (which I didn't test out). I'm assuming that the restaurant still occupies its nice position on the first floor with a 'good as you can get' view across Brum.
As I checked in early (noon) there were fulsome apologies that I couldn't be given a room facing the same way, but those at the 'back' are fine, with a good view across the canals and the skyscraper block that's the Hyatt. From the 10th floor there are no interruptions.
I'd been upgraded to an Executive room with its all new decor. It's smart except for the ghastly cod-modern wall pictures. Massive tv, good work area, junk like the kettle nicely tucked away. The revamped bathroom now has a walk in shower as well as a good tub. One small complaint: the hot water cutout on the bath was too low (luke warn dip) whilst the shower and handbasin were scalding (see http://www.marycreagh.co.uk/index.php?id=438). Forgotten tooth brush instantly replaced.
Breakfast: hotels the world over are now ripping off customers with expensive add on breakfasts. The upgrade meant I got a free 'Continental' in the Executive lounge. Not only was it quiet and with great views (11th floor) the breakfast itself was exceptional. The only thing missing was hot eggs. I can cope.
In case you think this is a peon of praise, the inevitable niggle: why charge top rate customers £5 for internet use? It irritates and I just use my MIFI. (It's getting like phones where hotels lost a cash cow when everyone uses their mobile). Wifi is like water, we've got rid of expensive bottled stuff. Let's do the same with Wifi.
And one revamp loss, no swimming pool - just a gym. Boo.
PS This is often a cheaper online buy than the other - even budget - brands in the same group.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdconair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 4 August 2010
I would like to thank you for adding a review after your recent stay with Crowne Plaza Birmingham City.

It’s an absolute pleasure to read so many details. Our tip to toe refurbishment was completed in 2008 and now our Engineering team do their best to keep up the good shape. I am glad that you enjoyed the Club room and the Club Lounge access. Our Deluxe Continental breakfast is very popular with our regular guests, good to see that it exceeded your expectations too. In regards to your comments regarding internet charge, our Club Lounge provides complimentary WiFi internet but there is a charge in room.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to welcome you back.

Akmal Shahzad
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    871
    343
    101
    58
See reviews for
239
622
88
713
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambs
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

My husband and I fancied a night away and booked this hotel based on previous reviews on TA. It didn't disappoint. We stayed in a Club room which was big, clean and beautifully decorated with a fantastic view over Birmingham. The reception staff were cheerful, friendly and helpful and the breakfast was well organised with a selection of cold and hot food to choose from.

The benefit of the hotel was the location for us - just a short walk to The Mailbox for a great night out next to the Canal.

Couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmilingHamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Last time I stayed here the hotel was looking very tired. It appears to have been refurbished recently - they have done a good job. The bedroom was well appointed and the gym had a good range of equipment. There was a good variety for breakfast and the service was just right.

Two issues:
- £13.50 to park for 24 hours - no discount for staying in the hotel - a little steep!
- Have to pay for WiFi - this is a business hotel so should really be included in the rate

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

I am a regular traveller to Birmingham for short stays and always stay at the CP. Great location and a great hotel, especially when staying in the club rooms which I strongly recommend to anyone, although the basic rooms are also of a high standard.
Only problems I would say are sometimes, a small number of the check in staff can be quite obstructive and unhelpful. For example, during a recent visit I wanted to pay cash upfront as I had a large amount on me and the member of staff said it would not be possible and insisted on my credit card, I said I had done this before and the person next to me was doing the same!

Secondly, the car parking (at £13 per day in a shabby car park underneath) isn’t the best and can be quite costly for longer stays.

I rate this hotel quite highly, it has everything you would need all up to the quality expected – and despite the exterior looks the interior is exactly the opposite, modern and classy. If you want a quality stay in Birmingham I recommend the Advance Purchase packages in a club room at this CP – you won’t be disappointed – just don’t pay cash! (or drive!)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Worth using special offer voucher in the room which gave us a 3 course meal for 2 and a very nice wine for a total of £39.00 - only criticism the decor along the corridors is very dark - all black and brown (particularly in my prescription sunglasses)! Go to Mailbox area near the hotel. Was a lovely surprise right by the canal - lovely sunny bars and cafes and gentle stroll alongside the canal

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquiB34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Stayed in the CP club and normal floors on business many times and its my number one choice for stay in Brum.

Speedy checking, large cool rooms with comfy quiet beds. Good speedy breakfast, happy staff and pleanty parking in the underground NCP next to hotel.

Great location for a stay in Brum.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluebear74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Have stayed at the hotel on a mumber of occassions; including before, during and after the major refurbishment the hotel underwent a few years ago. Lovely large, clean rooms with crisp white linen. Has a reasonably priced mini-bar, ironingboard as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Location is great for New Street Station and Broad Street, next door to the Mailbox and no more than a 5-10min walk to the Bullring. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james4522uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#8 of 117 in Birmingham
2,925 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,666 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
911 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Address: 19 Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Prestigia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing