We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once again a good place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel
Ranked #40 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Once again a good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

We always stay at this hotel when visiting Birmingham LG Arena, NEC and the NIA. So last week when we went to see Michael McIntyre at the NIA we booked to stay here again.
The breakfasts are great, so is the location, and the rooms are good value for money.
We always visit the Chinese across the road for a meal.
A taxi was between £10 and £12 to get to the NIA which was so much easier than trying to drive there, park and then drive back again, and reception were very helpful phoned them for us and gave us their number so we could get a taxi back again.
Will stay here again for our next visit to any of the Birmingham arenas.

Room Tip: They have a designated smoking area now, but it's still at the front of the hotel so try and boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HonestRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert E, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, regarding the great breakfast offering, the location and the new refurbed rooms,here at Hall Green Premier Inn
Hope to see you again in any future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    124
    44
    11
    6
See reviews for
139
108
23
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

I didnt expect much of this very under priced what i though 'cheap n cheerful' hotel but was very pleasantly surprised. The staff were very nice, helpful and enjoyed the crack, the rooms were very clean, comfortable, well appointed and quiet and the breakfast was superb. All this and it came nowhere near to breaking the bank. Great find, i'll definately try them first next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert E, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thank you  for your kind feedback about your stay with us here at the Hall Green Premier Inn. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. It is important to us at Premier Inn to make all our guests feel welcome and our team are glad they were able to make this happen.
Hope to see you again in any future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kootenays, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We had just left the "hotel from hell" (Travelodge) and pointed our GPS to somewhere/anywhere else. We were - thankfully - pointed to this Premier Inn. We didn't have a reservation, and the hotel was quite busy, but the lovely lady at the front desk was extremely sympathetic to our late arrival & desperate need for 2 rooms. She found us 2 rooms as close together as possible. We were very pleased with the accommodations - clean, comfortable, quiet. I admit, I don't expect large, spacious rooms when I'm travelling in the UK (that seems to be a North American thing!), but both rooms were a good size with large comfortable beds & couches. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat! Thanks, Marie! ;-)

PS - The only reason I didn't give this hotel 5 stars is because the restaurant was out of commission that night & we were starving!

Room Tip: Keep in mind there isn't an elevator (or lift, as they say in the UK!). If there are any mobili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyBS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert E, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, regarding your stay & the staff here at Hall Green Premier Inn
I will pass on your thanks to Marie.
Hope to see you again in any future visits.

The Toby carvery opposite us,did experience problems that night & were out of commission.
Sorry they were unable to feed you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed before travelling from Birmingham Airport. We had a room with our 2 boys aged 14 and 11 and it was very cramped and hot and one of the kids beds was so uncomfortable that my Son had to sleep on his quilt from extra padding which meant they had to share the other quilt diagonally over the two beds.
It is not the closest hotel to the airport but we knew this before booking and chose it as it was best value.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddmrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert E, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I really appreciate your feedback as this enables helps us to improve standards and  provide guests with the best possible service and a comfortable stay. After reading your comments please accept my apologises for hot, cramped room and lumpy bed. Please feel free to phone me if you would like to discuss the matter further.
Please be assured that I take all feedback seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Attended a wedding inSouth B'ham recently and stayed in the Premier Inn - Hall Green as a family of four (2 kids under 12). Good location with easy access to M42, Stratford Road etc. Room 'cramped' with double bed, two single bed and four suitcases. Huge, modern flatscreen television which was great for watching olympics and easy to operate. Air con available in room, (preset) and we didnt need to alter it. Just wish the room had been a larger sized 'family' room as we stayed a number of nights. We would have had more space. We def would return for convenience and location as all our relations live within 5 mins of the hotel! The room was great value for what we paid. There is no real open seating area in the foyer and so you are confined to your room or the breakfast tables.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 713BAMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert E, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you  for your kind feedback about your stay with us here at the Hall Green Premier Inn. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. It is important to us at Premier Inn to make all our guests feel welcome, sorry you felt the room was cramped.
Hope to see you again in any future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012 via mobile

We are attending a show at NEC and wanted to stay over to cut the driving time.

Easy Booking and a very warm welcome from the dear Lady on Reception. Our room was perfect. Not even a tiny bit out of place. Bed comfy and soft pillows. What more can anyone say it was perfect.

We had booked a local Travelodge but after reading the TripAdvisor we cancelled as it was getting bad bad reviews and booked into this Premier Inn. OK so it's £20 a night more at the Premier Inn but it's really worth it.

Plenty of free parking, it's quite and we feel safe.

Nothing to detract from the hotel but the Toby Inn next door ran out of meat at 1930hrs so we dined on a most superb curry at Sherwoods only over the road.

Supper night.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LittlePlum&BigPlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert E, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback about your stay with us here at the Hall Green Premier Inn. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. It is important to us at Premier Inn to make all our guests feel welcome and the team are glad they were able to make this happen.
Hope to see you again in any future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Stayed for two nights, two adults and two children. Has a family room, all set up when we arrived, really suited our needs. It did say when booking that it only had a shower, thought i'd miss my bath but the shower was really powerfull and relaxing. room was very hot, no A/C and with four bodies in there we got a bit uncomfortable.
Breackfast was great in the morning. there is a Toby Cavery right next door, whch was very large with a beer garden. Several shops including a 24hr tesco short walk away for essentials.
This was very centrally located and suited our needs perfectly.

Room Tip: NO lift so ask for ground floor if you think you won;t make it up the steps. Only two floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plym1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert E, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.Great to hear you enjoyed your stay,sorry to hear you had you had problems with the room temperature, unfortunately we don't have air conditioning in the rooms.
Hope to see you again in any future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel
BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel
#69 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Maypole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham South (Longbridge Station) Hotel
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel
Address: Stratford Road | Hall Green, Birmingham B28 9ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#8 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn - Birmingham South (Hall Green) is ideally located just off the M42 Junction 4/5, 6 miles from the city centre and 8 miles from the NEC and Birmingham Airport. We have 52 recently refurbished en-suite bedrooms with shower units only. Complimentary tea and coffee making facilities in all rooms. Flat screen TVs with freeview in all rooms. We offer either an "all you can eat" premier breakfast or a continental for the lighter option. We are situated adjacent to a Toby Carvery offering our guests evening meals.The reception is manned 24 hours,so check in after 2pm at your convenience. Directions: From M42, take exit 4 to A34 (towards Shirley) , then pick up A34 (Birmingham). Go straight over 6 roundabouts. At the 7th roundabout, take the 4th exit. The hotel is on the left. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing