We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent professionally run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel
Ranked #42 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent professionally run hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my family for one night over the Christmas week, and we had a very comfortable time. I was surprised at how quiet the hotel was, given its location just off a large roundabout on the A34 - I wasn't aware of any noise (road or otherwise) for the entire stay.

The room itself was quite small for a family room, but the beds were of a good size and comfortable, with a good modern TV. Bathroom wasn't terribly large either, but, like the room, was spotless - no complaints in that direction. One small niggle is that there wasn't much natural light in the room - the window was inset in a bay at an odd angle - but if this was the price for good sound insulation then it was worth paying.

We had paid for premium breakfasts for the adults (the kids eating free) and were well satisfied with what we were served - all parts of the cooked breakfast being of good quality and properly cooked. I would probably had liked to see greater variety in the choice of fruit juices (there was no grapefruit, for instance), but this is minor.

Finally, the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam R, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Dear Steve L
Thank you very much for your kind review of Birmingham South Hall Green Premier Inn. We take a lot of pride in ensuring our guests have the best possible service and a good nights sleep, and I’m glad we were able to do this for you. We hope to see you soon.

Many Thanks
Sam and The Team @ Hall Green Premier Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    126
    45
    11
    6
See reviews for
141
110
23
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

I was really impressed. I got a really low advance room rate and I bought the full breakfast for Christmas morning as a treat. I arrived late on Christmas Eve and the friendly check in lady was happy to recommend a restaurant nearby. I got a double room for single use: spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The next morning I ordered breakfast including very well done scrambled egg and just the while of the fried egg and they were happy to accommodate me. The staff are really friendly and I will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam R, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Dear Joy A
Thank you for taking the time to leave your wonderful review of Birmingham Hall Green Premier Inn. I’m glad you had a good stay with us. Keep checking the Premier Inn website for more great offers in 2013. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Hope you had a great Christmas and we wish you all the best for the New Year.

Many Thanks
Sam & The Team @ Birmingham South Hall Green Premier Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

We have just spent two nights at this Premier Inn. It exceeded all our expectations as it has all the comforts and facilities you require to enjoy a good short break. It was made all the more pleasant by the warm welcome from the staff member who checked us in, he was extremely helpful and without asking gave us lots of tips of what to enjoy whilst on our break. It is very modern and spotlessly clean. Our room had a large (40inch) flat screen tv with all the computer connections wired into it. The heating was easily controllable and made for a nice warm atmosphere. The hotel is 10/15 mins by car to the City Centre of Birmingham, so was easy to access the city but far enough away to make our stay quiet, peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam R, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Melanie T
Thank you for your very kind review of Birmingham Hall Green Premier Inn. It always delights us to see our guests take the time out to let us know how we are doing. We pride ourselves on giving our guests the best service possible and we are really glad we exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you again in the future.

Everyone at Hall Green Premier Inn hopes you have a fantastic Christmas and New Year

Many Thanks

Sam & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

We stayed at the Premier Inn Hall Green as a bolt hole when visiting the Frankfurt Christmas Market because of the previous positive comments and we were not disappointed. We stayed in a family/twin room which was pretty spacious and clean, the bed was very comfy, the room well apointed with a large TV and decent hairdryer, the bathroom had everything we needed and unusually for a budget hotel there was plenty of towels and extra pillows in the room. All in all excellent value for what we paid for the room.

In the evening we ate at the China Garden chinese restaurant across the road as it had received favourable reviews previously. The service was a little slow but the food was really tasty so well worth the wait, the house wine was also good for house.

Next morning we had the cooked breakfast, which is an aditional charge but was well cooked and plentyful setting us nicely for the day ahead. The sausages and mushrooms were particularly delicious.

I would also recommend a visit to the Frankfurt Christmas Market in Birmingham, me and friends go to a Christmas Market in the UK or Europe every year, this one is certainly the best we have been to in the UK and comparable to the large markets you find on the continent. We went on a Friday and it was pretty busy but the crowds were bearable, so it may be best to avoid the weekends if you can!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 108 on the ground floor, it only had a view of a path and a wodden fence, but beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KABReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam R, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Dear KABReading

Thank you very much for kind review of Hall Green Premier Inn. The Frankfurt Christmas Market is a definite must for anyone visiting Birmingham this time of year. Each year it just gets bigger and better. I’m glad you found everything satisfactory with your stay, and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Everyone at Hall Green Premier Inn hopes you have a fantastic Christmas and New Year.

Many Thanks

Sam & the team @ Hall Green Premier Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

Stayed over a Saturday night, to use Birmingam city centre. Other city centre inns full, but this one is relatively easily accessed to the Bullring via rail from either Hall Green or Yardley Wood.
Used the Toby Carvery next door which was was fine. Nice big car park, shared by both facilities. Very happy with the room for one night - you get what you pay for - relatively bland but everything works fine. Breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Furthest down the corridor may help to avoid any noise from very late-night revellers returning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roamer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam R, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear roamer42

Thank you for your kind review of Birmingham South Hall Green Premier Inn, I’m glad your room was to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed your breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Many Thanks

Sam & The Team @ Birmingham Hall Green Premier Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

Only stayed one night but it was lovely. Nice and clean with a really comfortable bed. Had a meal next door at the Toby restaurant which I have never used before as we don't have any around us. It was lovely and as a vegetarian had great alternatives. Would definetely use again - great value.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam R, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Dear Tracey E

Many thanks for your lovely review of Premier Inn Birmingham Hall Green. I will pass on your kind remarks to the team at the Toby Carvery, as like us they are always happy to hear that our guests are leaving having had a good nights sleep, and a great value meal. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Many Thanks
Sam and the team @ Birmingham South Hall Green Premier Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

We have just returned from two nights at this Premier Inn. The room was well equipped if a little small. It was a family room and the sofa bed made up to a single which was a nice touch. The thing that let the room down was the bathroom which needs some serious attention. It smelt really foisty and the hand basin was blocked letting water out very slowly. We reported this to reception and it seemed a little better the next night. Although my husband and I had hot showers on Saturday morning our son complained that his shower water was cold. However this morning all three of us had to take cold showers. The room was quite cold when we first arrived and again when we returned from our trip. There is a thermostat which kicked in when we adjusted it but we think the rooms should be defaulted to a little higher setting now that winter has set in. It would have given a warmer welcome in the room.

Breakfast on the other hand was fantastic. I want to make a special mention about the two excellent waitresses. Nothing was too much trouble and the breakfasts well made and hot. A slight problem with our eggs (overcooked this morning) was dealt with swiftly and without fuss. We really couldn't fault this at all. It was lovely to see a little boy who had clearly had a good breakfast absolutely delighted with his stay as he left the hotel. The receptionist too was really helpful and gave directions to the NEC.

I would always pick a Premier Inn as my preferred value place to stay on trips away as they do offer good value for money, especially when pre-booking and the breakfast price at £8.25 with kids eating free is really good. Sorry but I really wanted to rate this property higher but our bathroom experience let it down.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam R, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Dear JCROWTHERYorkshire,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I’m sorry that your stay was not up to the high standards we set at Premier Inn Hall Green. Unfortunately during your stay we did encounter some issues with the hot water. One of the boilers had broken so was pumping out cold water. This has now been fixed and we are now back to running hot water, I’m just sorry the boiler broke during your visit. I’m glad the breakfast guys made up for the hot water. They really are a great asset to this hotel and company and they are always delighted to hear that their hard work is being recognised. Again thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we will hopefully see you soon.

Many Thanks
Sam & The Team @ Premier Inn Birmingham South Hall Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel
#67 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel
Address: Stratford Road | Hall Green, Birmingham B28 9ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#8 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn - Birmingham South (Hall Green) is ideally located just off the M42 Junction 4/5, 6 miles from the city centre and 8 miles from the NEC and Birmingham Airport. We have 52 recently refurbished en-suite bedrooms with shower units only. Complimentary tea and coffee making facilities in all rooms. Flat screen TVs with freeview in all rooms. We offer either an "all you can eat" premier breakfast or a continental for the lighter option. We are situated adjacent to a Toby Carvery offering our guests evening meals.The reception is manned 24 hours,so check in after 2pm at your convenience. Directions: From M42, take exit 4 to A34 (towards Shirley) , then pick up A34 (Birmingham). Go straight over 6 roundabouts. At the 7th roundabout, take the 4th exit. The hotel is on the left. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing