We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel
Ranked #42 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed overnight - we were a couple with one child. The room we were allocated was only a large single/small double room but they had squeezed in an extra bed. It meant we had no space to walk around the room without bumping into furniture. The room had not been prepared so despite arriving late in the evening we had to wait for a bed to made up and there were no extra towels. The room only had one small heater on a wall so the room was freezing. We did ask for a heater and this was provided and made a real difference.

The room did not have a bath, which for children is preferably however we were told afterwards that no rooms have baths so this might be something for others to bear in mind.It does mean bathrooms are quite small as they fit in a compact shower.

The reception staff member was helpful in resolving the issues but I don't think they should have taken our booking (not short notice) if they could not adequately accommodate us.

Breakfast was fine - usual choices and friendly staff but it's a small area so I imagine it could get quite busy when hotel is full.

Had our stay been for a number of nights we would have checked out early - it certainly would not have been pleasant to stay in the tiny room for more than one night.
We stay in Premier Inns on a frequent basis and this was the most disappointing stay we have had.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not squeezed into one of their tiny rooms, no baths are available so it may not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monks999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam R, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear HertfordshireLady

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Birmingham Hall Green Premier Inn. I’m very sorry that on this occasion we did not live up to the normal standards we have set at Hall Green. Unfortunately we do not have baths at this Premier Inn, which should have flagged up when you made the booking so you have the option not to book if you require a bath and not just a shower. Again I would like to apologise for your room not being ready for when you checked in, your comments have been passed onto the relevant department and we will investigate this further. I do hope you have not lost faith in this Premier Inn, and that we can welcome you back in the future.

Many Thanks
Sam Rowlands
Operations Manager
Birmingham South Hall Green Premier Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    130
    47
    12
    6
See reviews for
146
119
25
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I stay in a lot of these and I suspect that if I didn't, I wouldn't have much to grumble about.

The room was good, large and with a decent TV and as always nice and clean.

The service was a mixed bag, a little grumpy at night but friendly at breakfast - the breakfast itself being up to the usual standard and brought quickly.

Being picky (hey, this IS tripadvisor), I find the location of this one a touch irritating - not connected to a Beefeater, or even better a TableTable but instead a Toby Carvery. This is okay, the food is nice enough but if you don't dig the carvery thing, you're stuck.

Overall, it's a good enough stay but there are better Premier Inn's out there!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms right behind reception, it's possible to hear the staff coming and going which might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moos3h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam R, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear Moos3h

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Birmingham South Hall Green Premier Inn. I am sorry that we didn’t quite live up to the usual high standard set by Premier Inn. Your feedback will be taken on board and passed onto the relevant departments. We do hope this has not put you off Hall Green Premier Inn and we hope to see you inn the future.

Many Thanks

Sam Rowlands
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights on business, booked in Monday tea time, room did not warm up within an hour was moved immediately to the only room left, informed later that the thermostat had broken. Staff very helpful. Breakfast cooked to order which is better than help yourself. Toby Carvery next door good food but not much variety for longer stays. Try TUGS chippy about half a mile up the road near Tescos excellent food and well priced. Better location for moving around Birmingham without the variety of city centre. One of the better Premier Inns I have stayed in

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam R, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear Wayne H
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Birmingham South Hall Green. I do apologise for the problems you encored with the temperature of the room, the thermostat has now been fixed. TUGS are a fantastic chippy, great to have it just down the road but not great for my waistline!! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Many Thanks
Sam & the team @ Birmingham South Hall Green Premier Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

The hotel is well situated to visit attractions in and around Birmingham, there is a pub-restaurant (Toby Carvery) next door and quite a few shops and take-aways nearby. The hotel is welcoming with a smart modern looking reception and dining area, the staff are friendly and helpful. As with all Premier Inns the rooms are well fitted out and the beds are comfortable, my only criticism is that our bathroom wasn't as clean as it could have been.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lossboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam R, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear Lossboy

Thank you very much for your kind review of Birmingham South Hall Green. I’m sorry that the bathroom was not at our usual standard. Your comments have been passed on to the relevant people. I’m glad you found the staff friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Many thanks
Sam & the team@ Birmingham South Hall Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst at Crufts,cannot fault this hotel. I booked last year so we had an excellent price. The hotel is spotlessly clean, well laid out, very modern and easy to find. The staff were all amazingly helpful, great with my son and nothing too much trouble. Excellent breakfast and as much of it as you like. Handy for pub next door also. Would definately visit again, thankyou.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam R, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Dear Jetson 1

Thank you very much for your kind review of Birmingham Hall Green Premier Inn. I was glad to see that you had a ‘perfect’ stay with us when visiting the NEC. We hope you enjoyed Crufts this year. Many of our guests over the weekend attended and said it was fantastic.

Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Many Thanks
Sam and the team @ Birmingham South Hall Green Premier Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I recently had to visit family for a number of days over half term following my Mum's surgery for cancer. The staff were warm, caring and welcoming without being overly intrusive and understood our need to be flexible for breakfasts. The family room we were given was comfortable and handy as it was on the ground floor with beds for all of us . The breakfast was superb and enjoyable and both my children commented on how friendly and "at home" the staff helped them feel (including our son with aspbergers who doesn't usually notice this kind of thing!). The early saver booking helped us to extend this unexpected but much needed time with family when petrol is so expensive to begin with!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam R, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Dear Isabel M
Firstly may I thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Birmingham South Hall Green. It is always pleasing to see guests leave a review whether it is good or bad. I’m glad that the team made you feel welcome in what must have been a very tough time for you and your family. We do sincerely hope the surgery was a success and that your mum is on the road to recovery. We do hope to see you again in the near future.

Many thanks

Sam and the team @ Birmingham Hall Green Premier Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2013

reception staff really friendly, room was really nice, modern and very clean, breakfast was excellent, staff were very helpful as I was staying with children on my own. Wasnt expecting much with hotel being so cheap but was really nice, definately stay again

Room Tip: family room was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam R, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Dear Nikki B

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of Birmingham Hall Green Premier Inn. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Many thanks
Sam & the team @ Birmingham Hall Green Premier Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Best Western Westley Hotel
#73 of 117 in Birmingham
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Plough and Harrow Hotel
#88 of 117 in Birmingham
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel
Address: Stratford Road | Hall Green, Birmingham B28 9ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#8 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn - Birmingham South (Hall Green) is ideally located just off the M42 Junction 4/5, 6 miles from the city centre and 8 miles from the NEC and Birmingham Airport. We have 52 recently refurbished en-suite bedrooms with shower units only. Complimentary tea and coffee making facilities in all rooms. Flat screen TVs with freeview in all rooms. We offer either an "all you can eat" premier breakfast or a continental for the lighter option. We are situated adjacent to a Toby Carvery offering our guests evening meals.The reception is manned 24 hours,so check in after 2pm at your convenience. Directions: From M42, take exit 4 to A34 (towards Shirley) , then pick up A34 (Birmingham). Go straight over 6 roundabouts. At the 7th roundabout, take the 4th exit. The hotel is on the left. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing