We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, handy for NEC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel
Ranked #45 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Berwickshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good value, handy for NEC”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I value Premier Inns as their standards are high and prices reasonable. I was seeking a cheap, safe place to stay to attend a garden show at the NEC and meet ex colleagues in Birmingham. The Hall Green venue was convenient and staff very friendly and efficient. The next door pub was grim and crowded so I avoided it. The hotel serves breakfast only: it is self service other than for cooked items, but was fine other than that the veggie sausages were unpleasantly deep fried in some sort of strong tasting oil. I saw the staff dealing very courteously with some disabled people, and they went out of their way to be helpful to them. There is plenty of public transport into B'ham or Solihull and there are takeways, restaurants and Waitrose within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borderwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    126
    46
    11
    6
See reviews for
141
111
25
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014

best breakfast i've ever had worth every penny. will return just for that breakfast, my god them eggs was amazing, stayed for 2 nights and couldn't wait to get up and eat the breakfast the second morning. if you stay there make sure you eat breakfast at the premier inn NOT the TOBY CARVERY

Room Tip: please try the breakfast its to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0y1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear J0y1988,

Thankyou for such a lovely review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and not to mention your breakfasts!

We hope to see you very soon,
Thanks again

Premier Inn Birmingham South Hall Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Checked in around 5pm very welcoming staff ease of check in and lovely clean and fresh room. Had some teething problems with the wifi but reception did everything they could to help resolve the problem - which was great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Claire R

We are pleased to see that you had a stress free arrival and a good nights sleep.

Since your stay, we have looked into the wifi and have since got a new router put in, with that said you could perhaps come back and try out the new wifi..?

We hope to see you again soon,
Premier Inn Birmingham South Hall Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Plenty of car spaces. Short delay in checking in. Room was clean and had everything I needed. Only criticism of the room was the basin and shower water were very slow to drain away. The staff were pleasant. The Toby Carvery next door lets this hotel down. The restaurant wasn't busy but I had to wait some time to be seated. Service was slow and the room unpleasantly warm. I was pleased to find breakfast was being served in the hotel. Overall, ok visit, but would look to eat somewhere else if staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear JayneB,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback as this enables helps us to improve standards, and allow us to deliver the best service to our guests.
Please be assured that your feedback and your comments about the drainage system have been passed on to management.

I hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Very good all round with excellent helpful staff. Plenty of parking room and good snack food amenities. Compact shower/bathing facilities with fresh daily towels and cleanliness.
I have no complaints.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Alan G

Very pleased to see such lovely comments and that you had a good nights sleep within our hotel, We hope to see you again in the future so we can deliver that same experience to you again! :)

Premier Inn, Birmingham South Hall Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
166 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My husband has just returned from a weeks golf in the West Midlands with some friends and has asked me to submit this report on his behalf.
" We were warmly welcomed at this Premier Inn by a smiling, happy receptionist named Natalie who couldn't have been more helpful and she was typical of all the other members staff we encountered during our 6 night stay, particularly Iryna.
Our twin bedded room (1 double and 1 single, Room 104) was located on the ground floor next to the breakfast area. Although a tad small with very little wardrobe space, it was spotlessly clean and in a quiet location. Our towels and bedlinen were changed everyday and we had access to a flat screen T.V. and tea/coffee making facilities. The separate toilet/shower was adequate although without an electric shaver point (an adaptor is available from reception) and just a soap dispenser over the handbasin and in the shower cubicle.
We booked our rooms last November and got a very competitive rate and decided to add our breakfast when we got there. This turned out to be a sensible choice as the breakfast offered at the next doorToby Inn, although cheaper, did not come anywhere near as good as that offered at the Premier Inn. For a full breakfast option costing £8.75 you could have practically anything, except kippers, which was beautifully cooked and presented and which had to be paid for immediately afterwards. As for the Toby Inn next door, the beer (Pedigree being my tipple) was fine but the fare was more basic and rather limited for the discerning palate but it was useful as a place to gather as a small group such as ourselves.
Although this inn is really directed towards the overnight stay market it proved to be an excellent choice and provided an ideal base for someone like us who wanted to take advantage of the choice of the first class golf courses close by and would thoroughly recommend it."

Room Tip: Ground floor, away from the car parking area. Take a plug adaptor if you have an electric razor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SprogLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear SprogLondon,

I am pleased to see that your stay with us was a pleasure for you as much as it was for us!
Also were very happy to see that your room was ideal, and that you enjoyed our breakfast - bar missing out your kippers!

I hope your golfing week away was enjoyable, and we hope to see you in the near future and maybe you could teach us a few golfers tricks?

Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
433 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

You know what your room will be like, how it will be decorated, that it will be clean as will the bathroom , with a shower that works.
Staff here are cheerful, helpful .
Room overlooked the car park but was still quiet.
Only moan is the wifi.........you have to pay for more than 30mins use and it is slowwwwww.

Other hotels chains have this free. Come on Premier Inn...... do the same.
Bonus was Toby restaurant next door, really good carvery , friendly chef and staff were great.

In this area every couple of months so will stay here again .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUNTAN47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Best Western Westley Hotel
#68 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel
Address: Stratford Road | Hall Green, Birmingham B28 9ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#8 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn - Birmingham South (Hall Green) is ideally located just off the M42 Junction 4/5, 6 miles from the city centre and 8 miles from the NEC and Birmingham Airport. We have 52 recently refurbished en-suite bedrooms with shower units only. Complimentary tea and coffee making facilities in all rooms. Flat screen TVs with freeview in all rooms. We offer either an "all you can eat" premier breakfast or a continental for the lighter option. We are situated adjacent to a Toby Carvery offering our guests evening meals.The reception is manned 24 hours,so check in after 2pm at your convenience. Directions: From M42, take exit 4 to A34 (towards Shirley) , then pick up A34 (Birmingham). Go straight over 6 roundabouts. At the 7th roundabout, take the 4th exit. The hotel is on the left. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing