We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a night or two central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Birmingham
Ranked #96 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Stayed here for the night as very close to Alexandrea Theatre - idea for Britains Got Talent if you get to do the live show, which I was!

Hotel was quite averge, not a new one but things in the room worked Ok and the staff were quite helpful.

If we were staying longer we would go for a nicer hotel but for a quick stay it's fine and not too pricy.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WindsorboyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

437 - 443 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2011

We stayed for 3 nights for work. My single room was a pretty good size and the bed was comfortable, although my main complaint with the room was the sticky floor!! Both the bathroom floor tiles and the carpet were sticky and i had to keep my socks/shoes on at all times. Also there are no toiletries included- and no biscuits!!! (which is a particular pet hate of mine).
The area isnt great- sex cinema around the corner and lots of adult book shops! Also a pretty rough pub on the same street.
On the plus side the hotel is right outside the train station and it is a short walk into town. The breakfast is also individually cooked- rather than an awful buffet breakfast.
The staff are very nice and helpful too.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenniecole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

I knew that the Comofrt Inn wasn't going to blow me away and, for a mere £50 a night, it served its purpose: of housing two weary revellers for a night.

The rooms are basic but clean but the shower took AGES to warm up and the quality of the shower itself was poor - imagine standing under a child's watering can. Also, both taps in the wash basin were hot which made brushing your teeth an...interesting experience.

It's worth shopping around if you're visiting BIrmingham because other budget hotels are much better than this.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank everythings_rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

The location is excellent as it is less than 100 meters from the train station and also walking distance to the centre, Hurst St, the Cathedral and Symphony Hall, the Bullring Shopping centre, etc.

The problem is that it has an ancient elevator. A relic that works when it wants.

The common areas are clean and corridors look tidy but the room I had was very dirty.
The carpet was so dirty I had to keep my shoes on when in the room.
The dirt was also where the carpet meets the wall meaning the vaccum cleaner didn't reach those spots for years!
Also the upholstered headboard looked like it needed a good scrub as did the curtains.
Once they solve the cleanliness issue I guess it would be an acceptable budget choice.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yurisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

For £30 for one night on a weekend in a city centre WITH breakfast included this hotel was very good value for money. I requested a quiet room and was allocated one - albeit at the top of the building but that suited me fine as alot of young weekenders use the hotel and can be noisy by the looks of it - I pass them on the way up to the top floor. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
1  Thank chinkypada126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

This hotel was dated and does need renovating, but it is in a good location right next to the station. My room was large, but a little noisy as the windows didn't seem to block the noise from outside.

Breakfast was nice, but you didn't get much.

I would still recommend this hotel if you want to be in the City Centre.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeatherUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

great place to stay, very friendly and attentive staff make your stay brilliant. comfortable and spacious rooms make up for the slightly shabby exterior. amazing location and great value make this an ideal to stay for business or pleasure!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hobo1236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
EasyHotel Birmingham
EasyHotel Birmingham
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#72 of 118 in Birmingham
1,146 reviews
Ladywood
The Briar Rose Hotel
The Briar Rose Hotel
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Birmingham

Address: Station Street, Birmingham B5 4DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £33 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Traditional Comfort Inn Birmingham City Centre is situated in prime position adjacent to Birmingham's New Street Train Station, With regular connections to the NEC and Birmingham's International Airport, the ICC, NIA and Symphony Hall are all within walking distance, you truly are in the heart of the City! The Famous Bullring centre is a 2 minutes walk away with all its major stores, with a wealth of restaurants, bars, theatres and attractions to suit every taste on our doorstep. The Comfort Inn makes for the perfect place to stay for both the business and leisure traveller. 40 well appointed en-suite bedrooms which are brightly decorated and comfortable, each with television, telephone, Wifi, trouser press and tea/coffee making facilities. The Station Bar is relaxed with large screen TV (Sky Sports) , light bars snacks & drink promotions not to be missed! The traditional Breakfast room offers both continental and Full English Breakfast which is freshly cooked to order.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing