We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Anniversary Stay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Birmingham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Comfort Inn Birmingham
Ranked #96 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wedding Anniversary Stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

This is a very tired hotel, that is crying out for a major refit. Reception is fine, but as soon as you climb the stairs you see old carpets, old fashioned embossed wallpaper & very worn doors & locks. Tea & coffee making facilities were OK, bed had nice & clean sheets, but the Bathroom was very dated & didn't look clean.
Great location next to New Street Station, but we wouldn't use again unless it was completely upgraded.
Staff were very helpful, friendly & the included breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    137
    145
    82
    90
See reviews for
38
121
84
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

The Hotel was very clean but dated. My room was allocated near to the lift; the lift was old fashioned and had two doors which needed to be pulled across making quite a noise...especially in the morning when you want a lye in and people are up and down for breakfast. I found the mattress uncomfortable and worn you could feel the springs, investment in this area could help. Quite easy to get to from the train station when you know which exit to leave from.

Room Tip: Avoid a room near the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vixon84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

This hotel is convenient for Birmingham New Street Station and I have now used it on four occasions when attending the NEC. Clean room, quite cosy. Mattress coming to the end of its life but nevertheless had a good nights sleep. Young man on reception friendly and pleasant. Shame there is no exit from the station any more onto Station Street but still within easy walking distance. Ideally located for Bullring shopping centre.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seventiesgirl500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed for one night as we were planning on going out as I wanted my boyfriend to experience Birmingham nightlife as he is from up north. We arrived at the hotel at 1:50pm and didn't mind sitting in the bar as check in is at 2pm and they said they were just 'finishing up' the room. We sat in the bar until 3:30pm and returned to reception frequently to ask if our room was ready. When we finally got into our room it seems like it was barely cleaned, just the bathroom wiped over and bedding changed. There was still thick layers of dust on the side board and the floor. There were enough supplies for one cup of tea between us and with mild grumpiness I gave the room a wipe over with baby wipes and relaxed. After leaving at around 7pm for dinner and drinks we returned at about midnight to get ready for clubbing. We turned the light on and were in the room for around 3 minutes before two mice ran across the floor and pushed their way under the door and ran down the hall. We immediately called reception who offered us another room, despite claiming they were fully booked. They said they had to 'check the cameras' before giving us a 50% refund as we may have been mistaken (we were not and they confirmed this the next morning) - the room we were moved to was dire, it was a single room (although I had paid for a luxury double) and only had a shower which ran at lukewarm temperatures, and taps that didn't run warm at all. We were offered a broken camp bed so we could both sleep, which was impossible to lie on without it breaking, so we had to top and tail on a single bed. And the room was a mess, no clean sheets, the bin filled with rubbish etc we were told this was because a guest 'unexpectedly left' leaving them with one room to move us into.

This was the worst hotel I had ever stayed in and wouldn't recommend it to anyone. We paid £50 for a one night stay and were only refunded £20 for the ordeal when we believe we should have deserved a full refund.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dinahlucea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Birmingham
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed here for Birmingham Pride this year, the hotel was good value for money despite it being Birmingham Pride weekend when most other hotels hike their prices up.

FIrst impression was good, the reception staff were very friendly, however the lift appeared dangerous, it's a manual door, and the inner door didn't close fully, would be easy to get a childs arm trapped in this.

The room was a decent size for a few nights stay, and the bed was comfy. Extra pillow was available in the cupboard.

Would definately stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trusse03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Really disappointed with my stay. I stayed for 4 nights whilst on a course. Apparently you must pre-pay for this hotel even though they don't tell you this over the phone when you book!

However, the charged my card before I had even arrived at the hotel which I felt was bang out of order as I hadn't even authorised them to use my card details, he also tried to use details for another card he held of mine without my permission or me being there. When I stated my unhappiness of this to the receptionist on arrival and said I wasn't aware of the pre-payment charge he was totally rude, non-apologetic and refused to give me details of what he had tried to charge to what card..really lousy customer service, bad attitude and disloyal towards me, very bad customer experience and I won't go back.

Room Tip: Rooms ok for business, customer service was not up to scratch, certainly on the reception desk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sas1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Location was alright, close to bullring shopping centre and New Street Station but right by some dodgy looking shops. We got a taxi to and from our meal out to be on the safe side but I believe the area would be fairly safe anyway.
Staff helpful- ordered taxis for me.
Decent sized room, was clean. What you would expect really from the rating.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PippaCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#60 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Ladywood
The Briar Rose Hotel
The Briar Rose Hotel
#25 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Birmingham

Property: Comfort Inn Birmingham
Address: Station Street, Birmingham B5 4DY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Traditional Comfort Inn Birmingham City Centre is situated in prime position adjacent to Birmingham's New Street Train Station, With regular connections to the NEC and Birmingham's International Airport, the ICC, NIA and Symphony Hall are all within walking distance, you truly are in the heart of the City! The Famous Bullring centre is a 2 minutes walk away with all its major stores, with a wealth of restaurants, bars, theatres and attractions to suit every taste on our doorstep. The Comfort Inn makes for the perfect place to stay for both the business and leisure traveller. 40 well appointed en-suite bedrooms which are brightly decorated and comfortable, each with television, telephone, Wifi, trouser press and tea/coffee making facilities. The Station Bar is relaxed with large screen TV (Sky Sports) , light bars snacks & drink promotions not to be missed! The traditional Breakfast room offers both continental and Full English Breakfast which is freshly cooked to order.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing