We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convienant, cheap & great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Birmingham
Ranked #97 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convienant, cheap & great breakfast”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

I needed a cheap single room for an overnight stop, this was ideal, close to New Street but not noisy. Worried about breakfast when I was told if I agreed to it I couldnt change my mind, but it was great. Loved the old fashioned lift too. Wish I'd tried the little independent cinema very near by - next time!

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Lifelover67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    139
    152
    85
    91
See reviews for
38
123
87
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Absolutely shocking stay in this hotel. All trains were cancelled due to adverse weather and I had no way of getting home so I had to stay in this cesspit. They knew that people were stranded so they put their room price up to £89 and that didn't even include breakfast!

My room genuinely smelled like excrement and I spent the whole night in the casino and a cafe along the road because I couldn't stand the smell.

I have stayed in some rubbish hotels in my time but this was the worst. What made it worse was the price and the fact that they were totally capitalising on poor, stranded travellers.


  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlasgowJPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a clean hotel after a night on the town which is cheaper than a taxi ride home then look no further! It's no palace but we paid around £38 so for the money I considered this good value. A budget hotel which for one night was perfectly acceptable.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Close to the centre. A little hard to get to with all the roadworks. Staff are friendly. The bar is a bit of a dive. Quite dated but is being cleaned up. Two stars is about right. Would use again for the money.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMP12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed at the comfort Inn before needing to get an early train and it did the job we wanted perfectly. The hotel is dated, and getting on a bit, but the room was clean, tidy and offered everything we needed.

It's not going to win any hotel of the year awards but it's location is excellent and i'd recommend highly for an overnight stop. The reception guy was helpful and the old fashioned lift an experience all on it's own.

If you want 4 or 5 star then give it a miss, but if you want something that's clean, tidy and basic then this hotel will do the job.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

first time in the hotel..11 of us travelled for funeral...although it need to be done up we enjoyed our few days...its right in city center and just across the road from train station...staff are friendly and bar staff bridge and richard were great really looked after us...huge problem with the lift it seems to always break so if your up on 3rd floor its alot of stairs...other wise everything else was fine...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashley141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trang, Thailand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

First time in this hotel and no complaints for the price. Its an old building so it comes as no surprise that the floorboards creak. Our room was very small but i new it would be from the pictures on internet. The bathroom was ok but the large tap was quite loose on the wall. Did not have breakfast so don't know what it's like. Staff were ok and quite helpful. Located not too far from the Bullring and places to eat. Nothing was too far and i would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 402shadrack402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#14 of 117 in Birmingham
218 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Birmingham

Property: Comfort Inn Birmingham
Address: Station Street, Birmingham B5 4DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Traditional Comfort Inn Birmingham City Centre is situated in prime position adjacent to Birmingham's New Street Train Station, With regular connections to the NEC and Birmingham's International Airport, the ICC, NIA and Symphony Hall are all within walking distance, you truly are in the heart of the City! The Famous Bullring centre is a 2 minutes walk away with all its major stores, with a wealth of restaurants, bars, theatres and attractions to suit every taste on our doorstep. The Comfort Inn makes for the perfect place to stay for both the business and leisure traveller. 40 well appointed en-suite bedrooms which are brightly decorated and comfortable, each with television, telephone, Wifi, trouser press and tea/coffee making facilities. The Station Bar is relaxed with large screen TV (Sky Sports) , light bars snacks & drink promotions not to be missed! The traditional Breakfast room offers both continental and Full English Breakfast which is freshly cooked to order.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Comfort Inn Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing