We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but cheap more like a semi posh hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Birmingham
Ranked #96 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed here for one night for £30 quid. Place is quite dated and walls are thin so you hear everything. It's hard to sleep when you here the slightest movement in the hallway. This place needs a lick of paint and some new carpets but for £30, can't really complain. One thing I was shocked at was that the elevator wasn't working and it seemed like it hasn't been working for quite a while. I had one heavy suitcase and thankfully I stayed on the second floor so it wasn't too bad carrying my suitcase up. I can't see how other people could take their heavy luggage up to higher floors. Isn't it standard to have a working elevator in a hotel?

I'll probably stay here again only if I'm having a late night out and want a quick place to crash.Other than that pretty much doubt I'll stay again.

Room Tip: Chose a ground level floor if you have heavy suitcases as the elevator isn't working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travetelic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Strong smell of disinfectant in the room, trying to mask something? Paper peeling, carpet and curtains dirty, mattress soiled, bathroom dated.
Room far too hot at night. The only positive is the central location. Breakfast was very poor too.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pippip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I was 4th floor. Lift was broken. Room was very small and smelt of bleach so had at least been recently cleaned. Bed was terrible. A single bed with no redeeming features. Noisy room and I slept terribly. I had a freezing cold shower. The receptionist says it needs running for a bit, but I ran it for a long time. I resorted to jumping in and out for as long as I could tolerate the cold to get washed. No meals or breakfast even though it had been booked on that basis. Hated it

It's right next door to AdultWorld if that's your thing!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OskyDosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The Comfort Inn is situated behind Birmingham New St Station and next to Adult World! Great for a Stag Party but if your looking for a nice hotel in Birmingham stay clear. I paid £59 for a single room for one night, the room was pokey, dated, worn/dirty looking carpet, awful bathroom, mismatched furniture, broken wardrobe, net curtains which are too short for the window... etc. On the plus side it is in a central location. You have to pay for wifi too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PascoeEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed here one night during Cheltenham Races this year "2014"
Booked it in advance so i got it cheap. €50e would not like to pay much more.
At €50 it was ok, Beside the train station. Hotel is very basic and dated, but we had a good sleep. Lift not working. We did not eat at hotel so cant comment on food. Room and beds clean

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

By not bad I mean exactly that. I'm glad we got a deal on our rooms but even £40 is pushing it. Plenty of free tea and coffee but the rooms are quite sterile, almost hospitalish. The paint is chipped and the bath has no shower gel or shampoo. The bed is no luxury experience, but I've had worse

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank andys624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed here end of Feb enjoyed the location as its so close to shops china town , clubland , train station & bullring , theatre ,. Major building works at new station at the moment so some people might find it off putting and noisy .

Room Tip: Back of hotel away from noise of building works at the moment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
EasyHotel Birmingham
EasyHotel Birmingham
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#72 of 118 in Birmingham
1,146 reviews
Ladywood
The Briar Rose Hotel
The Briar Rose Hotel
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Birmingham

Address: Station Street, Birmingham B5 4DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £33 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Traditional Comfort Inn Birmingham City Centre is situated in prime position adjacent to Birmingham's New Street Train Station, With regular connections to the NEC and Birmingham's International Airport, the ICC, NIA and Symphony Hall are all within walking distance, you truly are in the heart of the City! The Famous Bullring centre is a 2 minutes walk away with all its major stores, with a wealth of restaurants, bars, theatres and attractions to suit every taste on our doorstep. The Comfort Inn makes for the perfect place to stay for both the business and leisure traveller. 40 well appointed en-suite bedrooms which are brightly decorated and comfortable, each with television, telephone, Wifi, trouser press and tea/coffee making facilities. The Station Bar is relaxed with large screen TV (Sky Sports) , light bars snacks & drink promotions not to be missed! The traditional Breakfast room offers both continental and Full English Breakfast which is freshly cooked to order.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing