We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Comfort Inn' is a contradiction in terms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Birmingham
Ranked #97 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Caerdydd
1 review
“'Comfort Inn' is a contradiction in terms.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2010

The 'Comfort Inn' in Birmingham is situated right next to the railway station, a particularly ugly concrete part of town. The hotel itself looks pleasant enough, a 19th century red brick building. The price is good but that's where the postives end. You could describe it as basic. The bedroom door brushed against the bottom of the bed, the room was that small. dirty looking carpet, a door that didn't lock properly from the inside, the TV didn't work, the shower was a dribble and leaked. No double glazing so the traffic noise is quite high, especially the sirens at night. Didn't stay for breakfast, couldn't face the inevitable cheap coffee etc. Providing reasonably piced hotel rooms shouldn't mean 'poor quality', but I suppose it is Birminghman.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank Pibydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    138
    146
    84
    91
See reviews for
38
122
86
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

Very convenient for New Street station and train to airport & NEC. Also close to Bullring centre and main shopping areas. Not the most luxurious hotel but what do you expect for this price. No restaurant but plenty of eating places nearby. Ideal for a 1 or 2 night stay, especially for the unfussy solo traveller. I have read other reviews and I think some reviewers have simply been unlucky with their room. My decent-sized single room was clean, warm, fairly quiet considering the city centre location, and there was nothing broken. The bed could perhaps have been a little comfier but I slept ok. The ensuite bathroom also was clean and the (in-bath) shower worked well. A hair, hand & body wash dispenser was provided above the wash hand basin, and there was a soap, shampoo & shower gel dispenser at the bath/shower. The full English breakfast was tasty and filling and well worth paying £7 extra for. I found the staff polite and helpful. All in all a hotel I would happily use again for a short stay in Birmingham.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertss33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2010

This hotel is next to new street station so it is ideal if you don't want to mess around with cabs if you are a lone female traveller. Breakfast was good and filled me for the hectic day ahead. Would stay here again for any business in the future.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2009

perfect location for business in Birmingham's city centre - stones throw from New Street Stn. However, the heating and plumbing were annoying - the central heating raditor was permanently fixed on (despite being on the * setting, which should mean it's off), which made for a restless nights sleep due to being far too hot. Ironically when I came to use the shower in the morning though, it was only running luke warm. But then when I brushed my teeth hot water was coming out of the cold tap! (no, I wasn't using the hot tap by mistake - as hot water was coming out of both taps!). Great value though, as my room rate included a full cooked breakfast and the hotel staff were really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank wardsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shrophire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2009

First impressions, the hotel is ok, what you would expect for the price. However, we soon discovered that the service levels are zero. My friend booked a triple room at this hotel 6 weeks prior to our trip. we were staying one night. On check in we were advised that they had ''given our room to somebody else'', and they offered 3 single rooms. After much discussion with the ill informed receptionist, who simply regurgitated random hotel policy, but was unable to show us any documentation to prove his statements. We agreed to take all 3 single rooms for £15.00 a room, £45.00 total. Out of all 3 rooms, only 2 showers worked. My friend locked her key inside her room whilst using the only working bathroom, the receptionist simply gave her the master keys for the entire hotel and told her to ''just bring them back''. Its a good job none of us are thieves! The lift was broken, the roof was leaking in the corridor, and the staff were less than helpful. On our return home, it was discovered that the hotel has in fact charged us £45 per room. We are still trying to get hold of the manager...

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nic1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

Located right beside New Street train station, this is an ultra-convenient if slightly dingy choice for a one night stopover. Strictly a "room for the night" experience. No frills at all, like no tiles on the bathroom floor, cheap soap in a dispenser, TV remote that doesn't work, 4 channels on TV, no meals. But HEY, they give a really good, home cooked breakfast, if you are into the "full English". Not particularly cheap, horrible on the outside, my room had a "view" of a wall about 3 feet away, but the room was clean, and the bed reasonably comfortable, even if the springs skweaked a bit. Next time, I think I'd spend the extra few quid for a bit more comfort, though.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nothingbutthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The midlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

great location right next to new street station. Yes the hotel is a little dated but what do people expect for the price. The bedrooms were spacious and mine had been recently decorated and the hotel was very clean, breakfast room is lovely and breakfast was cooked to order and great. 2 minute walk from the bullring.... Excellent for those looking for a cheap hotel right in the city centre - no taxis required..

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lennythemidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#62 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Ladywood
The Briar Rose Hotel
The Briar Rose Hotel
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Birmingham

Property: Comfort Inn Birmingham
Address: Station Street, Birmingham B5 4DY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Traditional Comfort Inn Birmingham City Centre is situated in prime position adjacent to Birmingham's New Street Train Station, With regular connections to the NEC and Birmingham's International Airport, the ICC, NIA and Symphony Hall are all within walking distance, you truly are in the heart of the City! The Famous Bullring centre is a 2 minutes walk away with all its major stores, with a wealth of restaurants, bars, theatres and attractions to suit every taste on our doorstep. The Comfort Inn makes for the perfect place to stay for both the business and leisure traveller. 40 well appointed en-suite bedrooms which are brightly decorated and comfortable, each with television, telephone, Wifi, trouser press and tea/coffee making facilities. The Station Bar is relaxed with large screen TV (Sky Sports) , light bars snacks & drink promotions not to be missed! The traditional Breakfast room offers both continental and Full English Breakfast which is freshly cooked to order.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing