We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent Value for Money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Ranked #23 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excelent Value for Money.”
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Second time we've stayed at this hotel. This hotel has a lot more positvies than negatives.
Positvies... Excelent location for Birmingham Airport ,The LG Arena and The N.E.C. (The free skyrail operated from Birmingham Airport takes you straight the LG and NEC).
Nice room, not a bad size and very clean. The room has a secondary door which when closed makes for a good night sleep as very quite. Really comfortable bed.
Lovely breakfast (help yourself) with plenty of options.
Negatives... Really expensive parking at the NCP short/medium term parking. £20 per night.
Only one towel in the bathroom (but I'm sure this could have been recified very easily by calling housekeeping).
Near on impossible to get a drink at the bar, bar staff are very good at doing everything and anything not to serve you. Would not use the bar again. If going to the NEC or LG try Weatherspoons, located at the NEC/LG end of the skyrail.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starfish6659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBIA, Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 31 May 2011
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your detailed comments. I was pleased to read you had a good night’s sleep and enjoyed our buffet breakfast.
I was extremely disappointed to read your comments regarding our bar service as we have recently spent a lot of time on this area and have now been awarded 4* by the AA. I do genuinely believe that this was an isolated incident however I have still asked our Food and Beverage Manager to follow your comments up with his team and I will also personally monitor this closely moving forward.
Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon when you are next at the NEC.
Kind Regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    753
    937
    429
    117
    66
See reviews for
475
839
207
601
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Straight opposite departures, great for early flights. Great staff, rooms are soundproof, clean and spacious. Walking distance from carpark. Great value for money, would definitely use again if we had an early start.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBIA, Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 31 May 2011
Dear Reviewer,
I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing your comments.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

I have stayed at the Birmingham Novotel Airport previously, although the hotel is by no means a new building it is in good condition throughout. I keep returning to this hotel mainly for two reasons Service and location, On many ocasions the value has been very good but no hotel is cheap near the NEC during the larger shows such as IFSEC. The location is excellent, 3mns from the rail station, across from the airport terminal and 5mns from the NEC (walking times), the City centre is 10mns by train.
Those who know Novotel hotels will know what to expect but this isn't just a Novotel, it is one of the better Novotels, the service throughout is extremely pleasant, the quality of food is good, I am not sure of the grade, in the past it was a 3*, this year I saw an AA 4 Losenge sign at the door, it certainly deserves a 4* rating even more so when you consider its location, this novotelis one of the best in Europe along with the Novotel at the excel in London.
One negative comment however which I must admit not to have brought to the attention of the staff, the bed in my room creaked excessively.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBIA, Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for posting your review. I will share your feedback with our team, it is always a pleasure to read such positive comments about the service you received.
We hope to welcome you back next time you are using Birmingham Airport or the NEC.
Kind Regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We stayed at this hotel for the same reason as most people do- for an early morning flight. It is so convenient being over the road from the airport. Its very modern with everything you need for a quick overnight. We had an upgraded room which had a fab nespresso machine in and fantastic slippers. They have free internet in the lobby for 20 mins if you need to catch up on anything before leaving. They automatically enrol you in their frequent traveller programme which seems really good. Good night sleep with extra pillows and total sound proof.

I would def stay at this hotel again if I have an early departure it takes every bit of stress out of travelling.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBIA, Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am pleased you found the Hotel excellently located for the airport and you enjoyed your Executive room.
We hope to welcome you back next time you are using Birmingham Airport.
Kind Regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

My star rating is based on the fact that the main bed is solid, didn't get a very good nights sleep. Kids single pull out beds are awful, springs stick out with only a thin layer of fabric separating them. Had to ask for a duvet to soften it. Housekeeping didn't put it in our room, dumped on the floor in the corridor outside.

The other reason for 1 star is that I asked 2 members off staff advice where to park. The hotel doesn't have a car park so there is a choice of a short stay at £20 a day or long stay at £13.50 for first day and £7.50 thereafter. I asked which would be the cheapest to park for 36 hours. Both staff members said the short stay aa you get a discount. Wrong advice, with the discount it would cost over £30 for 36 hrs in the short stay. I paid £21 for the long stay which was about a 5 min walk. You will need to factor in parking charges in your costings.

In addition we were told breakfast finished at 10.30am on a Monday, wrong, it was 10am. So only managed to get a few things of what was left when we went down.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h0lidaysf0rfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBIA, Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for leaving your review however I was disappointed to read your experience was negatively impacted by the car parking charges at the airport. My team may well have mentioned the short stay car park as this is often the preferred choice for guest for its convenience being able to walk to the hotel. I do understand though that this has an increased cost for the benefit.
Regarding breakfast, I have asked the Reception manager to reissue a memo for his team to clarify our food and beverage opening times. My sincere apologies for your breakfast being affected by this.
Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2011

The hotel is perfectly placed for the airport and nearby railway station, NEC and LG Arena. A very clean and relativly modern hotel with pleasant staf which was good value for money. However the experience was spoilt by not been able to use the rewards points to pay for the stay that i have for the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umptysrewby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBIA, Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 12 May 2011
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay.
I have investigated your comments with regarding using your reward points to pay for your stay. This is possible however you must claim the vouchers first and bring them to the hotel. We will then put the value of them against your stay immedialty. The card itself cannot be read to pay for your stay, only to claim the reward points for what you have spent. Please visit the link to claim your vouchers at the A-club website.
Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Birmingham Airport

Property: Novotel Birmingham Airport
Address: Birmingham International Airport | Opposite Main Terminal Building, Birmingham B26 3QL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#10 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#27 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#30 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Birmingham Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Birmingham Airport is located at Birmingham International Airport, opposite Terminal 1, 20 minutes drive from the centre of Birmingham. Adjacent to the NEC and offering modern meeting rooms, this hotel is ideal for a business trip. A free SkyRail service every 90 seconds links the hotel with Birmingham International railway station and the NEC. Elements restaurant and bar with 24 hour room service. Fitness and excercise room. NCP multi storey car parks adjacent to hotel (fees apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Airport
Hotel Birmingham Airport
Birmingham Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing