We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Ranked #24 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gloucester
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very convenient airport hotel”
Reviewed 23 June 2011

With an early morning flight from Birmingham we opted to stay at the Novotel the night before because it is just yards from the airport departure lounge.
We decided to arrive by train because the airport has its own rail station and a monorail link takes you straight to the airport. From train platform to hotel takes only a few minutes walk and it is well signposted.. We have stayed here a couple of times now because it is so convenient for early morning flights..
The hotel is modern, smart, with good sized rooms. We had a comfortable king-sized bed, very crisp bedlinen and an excellent shower unit. Inspite of being so close to the airport, sound insulation is very good and we heard no noise at all.
Buffet breakfast was very good too with a wide choice of fresh hot and cold food.
Booking a month in advance through Airmiles UK we got a good rate inclusive of breakfast.
Checkout was swift and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrington66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBIA, Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Dear Harington 66,
Thank you for such a detailed review, I am pleased to see you had a great stay all round.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon when you are next flying from Birmingham.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    779
    973
    449
    124
    71
See reviews for
496
875
216
619
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
555 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I love this hotel, so convenient to airport. Really nice staff, high quality hotel and great price, especially for location. Left my ipad charger in the room and they even posted it back to me! Excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HullPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBIA, Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for such positive comments. I was also pleased to see you received your lost property safely.
We hope to see you again when you are next using the airport.
Kind Regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We stayed here for 1 night, as we had booked up for the Peter Kay show, The hotel is more a 5 star than 4,standard room was very large. They have thought about every comfort bed was very comfortable, iron and ironing board at hand. There was another door in room making it sound proof from corridor, there was no noise from airport as the windows are double double glazed and no need to open window as air conditioning is great and quite.There is also a free shuttle bus taking you to the NEC, we are going back once I have booked my holiday. Staff are very professional and polite a good impression for the hotel. The whole place is spotless, can not comment on food as we ate out.

Room Tip: Standard room is 5 star
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheJewels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBIA, Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Dear The Jewells,
Thank you for you positive review, I am very happy to see you had a great stay. We launch our new menu next month so on your next stay you may wish to try us for dinner as well.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

I booked two rooms here for two nights for myself and my wife and our daughter and son-in-law to visit the NEC for a gardening and food exhibition. We arrived from London by train and found the location of the hotel to be ideal as there is a very frequent free shuttle train service between the International station and the airport which is just across the road from the hotel. Furthermore, the same shuttle can be used to gain access to an undercover walkway leading directly to the NEC from the station.
The hotel itself is not quite as luxurious as the website would imply but it is practical and the staff are friendly. The bedrooms are rather stark but our shower room, although small, was very clean, well lit and had an efficient shower. Beds were comfortable enough but pillows were very small and barely adequate (I have always maintained that managers should occasionally sleep in their own hotel rooms and such irritations would immediately come to light). Soundproofing is excellent.
We didn't eat dinner in the hotel - preferring, instead, to go into Birmingham by train to Purnell's restaurant which was a great treat (trains into Birmingham New Street are about every 10 minutes and the journey is only another 10). However, we did have breakfast in the hotel on both mornings of our stay. Breakfast is of the usual buffet type and standard, which means not all that wonderful. Certainly, there is a good choice of dishes at breakfast but the food often sits on hotplates for some while before being consumed so mushrooms (some tinned?), are stewed in their own juice and bacon is limp and flaccid. Sadly, gone are the days of freshly cooked breakfast to order in chain hotels.
All in all, reasonable value for money - although the £19.50 'special deal' for internet access is outrageous. I would be happy to return here for another NEC exhibition or pre-flight stopover but would leave my computer at home or bring my 'dongle' with me.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Le_Dap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBIA, Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased to see you found our location ideal for your trip to the NEC.
Thank you for your comments about our pillows. Today we are completing the changeover of our pillows from the square to a standard rectangular similar to the style you will be more accustom to at home. I am confident you find this to your liking on your next stay with us. I am pleased to read you found the sound proofing excellent considering our location opposite the terminal entrance.
I was disappointed to read you comments about our buffet breakfast. We usually receive very positive reviews regarding this offer for both the quality of items and the choice. I have given your comments directly to the Food and Beverage Manager and Head chef to make sure the cooked items are being prepared correctly. The mushrooms used are fresh button mushrooms which are delivered daily to the Hotel. I do eat regularly in our restaurant and bar to experience our food offer as a guest so I will personally monitor your comments about the bacon and mushroom over the coming weeks.
Thank you again for your feedback which is paramount to us being able to monitor and improve the service we offer. We hope to welcome you back next time you visit the NEC.
Kind Regards,
Matt Brett
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skane, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Just walk across the road to the entrance. VERY quiet room which is nice considering that ypu can see the runways. Good restaurant for both dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Majodang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBIA, Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to hear you found the Hotel perfectly situated for the Airport and enjoyed the food at dinner and breakfast.
Hope to welcome you back when you are next at the Airport.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

I had heard varied reports but our experience was very good.Great location and service with an executive room to enjoy.Well worth the extra £15 for the executive room upgrade.Goog ale availble in the bar ( Grolsh) not over expensive and better than the usual poor hotel beer that tends to be offered in hotels.Will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJ49BridgnorthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBIA, Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Dear Reviewer,
I am pleased to see you took advantage of our Executive offer and enjoyed the beer in our bar.
See you when you are next at the Airport.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#25 of 117 in Birmingham
1,825 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#39 of 117 in Birmingham
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Birmingham Airport

Property: Novotel Birmingham Airport
Address: Birmingham International Airport | Opposite Main Terminal Building, Birmingham B26 3QL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#27 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#30 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Birmingham Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Birmingham Airport is located at Birmingham International Airport, opposite Terminal 1, 20 minutes drive from the centre of Birmingham. Adjacent to the NEC and offering modern meeting rooms, this hotel is ideal for a business trip. A free SkyRail service every 90 seconds links the hotel with Birmingham International railway station and the NEC. Elements restaurant and bar with 24 hour room service. Fitness and excercise room. NCP multi storey car parks adjacent to hotel (fees apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Lastminute, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Airport
Hotel Birmingham Airport
Birmingham Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing