We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but average experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Ranked #23 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good location but average experience”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I found the Novotel Birmingham Airport on booking.com and decided to stay there the night as I had an early flight to Tenerife the next morning. I could have got a really early taxi from my home about an hour and a half's drive away but decided to treat myself to a hotel room and a good breakfast. I'd last stayed in a Novotel some 10 years previously and had no issues then and selected an "Executive Room" - which I presumed would be better than the average room.
Check-in was easy as I'd paid in advance (via the booking site) but it really wasn't necessary for the receptionist to loudly announce this fact and to enquire whether I wanted 'further credit' (ie in the bar / restaurant). My room was on the fourth floor just out of the lift. Fine for access; unfortunately not if you are trying to sleep and the lift is operating all night. The 'Executive Room' was not executive - I've had standard rooms better. Maybe it was because I was a single traveller. The only saving grace was the coffee machine. To be fair, the room was ok but was over-priced. This theme continued. I decided to have dinner in the hotel and a relatively early night (6-7pm ish). I went to the bar. Very twee and typical modern hotel bar that clearly catered for a large short-stay crowd. I ordered a large, red wine (Merlot). The menu said something like £7.10 (expensive) - I was charged £9.80. I didn't notice until later that I'd been given a more expensive wine. I had a rump steak for dinner which, with all the trimmings, was in the mid £20s mark. Again, expensive. I don't mind paying money for food if quality matches the price but this was just-above-average. Not 5-star, no real quality or panache. Service was indifferent from an under-trained waitress who'd root-learnt bog-standard phrases. "Was that all right for you?" without any real meaning or conviction. Once I'd finished dinner I decided on breakfast in bed and went to Reception to order. They advertised an "Early Birds" menu prior to 5am and went to book for 4.30am to allow me sufficient time to check-in and meet friends. The receptionist was totally unprofessional. Clearly my request was not welcome. "We only do breakfast from 5am - before that you'll have to make do with what we can find in the kitchen. What I suggest is that you check-in your bags and come back after 5am when the chef is in." Fighting the urge to explode with rage, I said that wasn't possible as I was meeting friends and would have breakfast at the airport instead (despite having paid for breakfast in the hotel). I went to bed and was kept awake most of the night by the lift. Overall, staying at the Novotel was not the best start to my holiday. I can see why they have custom as they are located directly opposite the terminal. However, the small things (no early breakfast; despite advertising they do; expensive drinks / food; and an executive room that isn't executive will put me off staying there again. At check-out, the Receptionist acknowledged I had paid for breakfast but no recompense for not being able to take it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian_Dick, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating this matter. Please feel free to contact me on 0121 7827000 to discuss this further. Kind regards, Ian Dick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    766
    957
    442
    121
    69
See reviews for
480
868
213
610
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Good clean hotel, extremely helpful and professional staff. No noise from other guests getting up to travel or from airport noise.
Food exceeded expectations.
My only complaint would be for the hotel to let you know prior to arrival what car park you are booked in.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matty111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian_Dick, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Ian Dick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Novotel in early May of 2014 on the day and evening prior to flying out of Birmingham Airport to Skiathos.
The Novotel is well managed and the staff are most helpful. The triple glazing fulfilled its purpose, no disturbance from noise.
The room was clean and well appointed, it had everything that we needed.
Another big bonus is the location of the hotel, it is a couple of minutes level walk to the departure lounge. Could not be better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 333Pedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian_Dick, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Ian Dick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here as I had an early morning flight however will in future probably stay here the night before future trips regardless. I got a park & fly deal which was very good value, the room was clean and modern and the restaurant food good quality for the price paid. It was so convenient to literally cross the road and be in the terminal, much less stressful than normal!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kellywelly2284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian_Dick, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Ian Dick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Novotel @ B'ham Airport is a really convenient stopover for early departures or late arriving flights. In our case just walking across from Hotel to Terminal for an early morning departure was really great. This does not say enough because the staff at check-in were excellent, very fast and efficient service, but the best surprise was the restaurant, it appeared to have been completely remodelled to create a nice relaxing evening ( after M6 torture) and with food to match. We both selected Rib-eye steaks which were cooked exactly as ordered and really tasty albeit at the top end of what you might expect to pay.
Bedroom was clean and modern with great noise insulation could not hear any planes on take-off. One minor negative was the typical French split of toilet from bathroom which limited space in both areas.
Definitely use again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian_Dick, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Ian Dick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberageri, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Directly in front of the Departures terminal so absolutely ideal position if, like me, you have a very early flight. Very good value too (for the room) - particularly when using various very well-known booking sites.
Can't comment on breakfast (left too early) but late evening meal in bar way over-priced by UK standards.
Choose this hotel for practicality, not gastronomy or luxury.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFrog59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian_Dick, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Ian Dick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
1,787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#42 of 117 in Birmingham
1,034 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Birmingham Airport

Property: Novotel Birmingham Airport
Address: Birmingham International Airport | Opposite Main Terminal Building, Birmingham B26 3QL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#27 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#30 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Birmingham Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Birmingham Airport is located at Birmingham International Airport, opposite Terminal 1, 20 minutes drive from the centre of Birmingham. Adjacent to the NEC and offering modern meeting rooms, this hotel is ideal for a business trip. A free SkyRail service every 90 seconds links the hotel with Birmingham International railway station and the NEC. Elements restaurant and bar with 24 hour room service. Fitness and excercise room. NCP multi storey car parks adjacent to hotel (fees apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Airport
Hotel Birmingham Airport
Birmingham Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing