We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Birmingham Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Ranked #19 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
midleton cork
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not the best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2010

Check in-fine. Bar food-poor, rubber steak! Room- no air con very hot all night, able to hear bedroom activity from the next room, kept awake by the lifts working, and the room above me using the bathroom! Breakfeast- good. Stay again-NO.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joolaaaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBIA, Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 5 May 2010
Thank you for your feedback which I will discuss with my management team, we have as of this week a new air conditioning system installed throughout the bedrooms which can be operated by individual controllers. Over the last 4 months the new system has been gradually commissioned and will much improve the comfort of all of our guests, while residing at the Novotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    724
    921
    409
    112
    61
See reviews for
459
809
198
585
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2010

when booked into this hotel we upgraded to a superior room at an extra cost but found our friends standard room was exactly the same and cheeper. When it came to parking hotel staff were not helpful and didn't tell us the full price which was £13 for overnight and £2.00 to unload our bags. Reception staff were unhelpful with with any request or question we had. Would not ever stay here again as you have to enter the airport at terminal 2 just to pay for your parking. Did not enjoy stay we ended spending our evening in sister hotel ibis which was half price on drinks and rooms exactly the same almost half the price and very helpful and friendly staff !!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayles03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBIA, Hotel Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 12 April 2010
Thank you for your feedback which we always appreciate, in relation to the comments our executive rooms contain additional supplies i.e. robe & slippers, complimentary Nespresso machine and free internet access. In relation to the car park charges, we do not have any free hotel parking unless pre booked in an inclusive package where clients generally use NCP or APH car parks, as we are located 'on airport' opposite terminal 1 departures. We do however have free vehicular access to the hotel frontage for all clients to drop off their colleagues and luggage, in order to avail of this we need to validate tickets on arrival otherwise NCP charges do apply. We also offer a 30% discount on parking at the NCP short & medium car parks, which is £13 per night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport pagnell
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2010

We stayed one night in a mid category room (superior?) and were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel isn't exactly easy to find , but its location from the terminal is very convenient. Check-in was smooth and when we entered our room it reminded us of the type of room at The Hilton Heathrow which we often use-very nice. The hotel has a decent bar although the seating type and their layout mean you would be left standing if the bar was busy. We had dinner and were again very impressed. Helpful,efficient staff and a good menu. We felt very relaxed, and noticed that for diners on their own the restaurant had tables which didn't leave them standing out like billy no mates, and had a personal TV screen with headphones. Overall the hotel was clean with good quality furnishing and staff which were a credit. The most surprising thing for us was breakfast. Most one night hotels have a breakfast buffet which isn't that appealing, but this was great. There was a good choice and most important of all, it was hot. Would definatelty stay again if flying out from the airport or attending the N.E.C.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewelleryjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

Stayed just one night at this hotel before flying out from the airport. We ate dinner in the resturant which was very good and excellent value for money. Check in and out was very efficient and the staff were helpful and friendly. Would definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamroseCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2010

Just returned from another stay at the Novotel. Perfectly situated right next to the airport ,sky rail,NEC and rail links. The staff are very helpful and welcoming, the hotel is clean and the rooms perfect. The beds are extremely comfortable and the ensuite well appointed. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation and look forward to my next visit

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claychalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissonerga, Cyprus
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

Spent one night here prior to flight in morning. Bedrooms very comfortable and clean. Bathroom is very spacious and plenty of toiletries. In fact I took the shampoo with me on holiday and it lasted 2 weeks!! so who knows how much is thrown away after just one nights stay? Best thing is the close proximity to the airport departure lounge. 2 minutes across road. Pretty expensive to eat in restaurant, so we went into departure lounge of airport and had reasonable meal at Frankie and Benny's.
All in all a good choice and will stay there again

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart1374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

I travel at least once a year to Birmingham for a conference at the NEC and this past year my company booked our hotel at the Novotel at the airport. GREAT hotel and location for the NEC. You can walk directly from the hotel into the airport which is just across the street and then once inside the airport you can take the tram (60 seconds) to the NEC.

The hotel was very clean and the room was plenty large enough for 1 person and also very clean. Windows are thick and i never heard any noise outside. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was plenty big. Ate at the hotel for dinner one night and the food was only OK. But fun staff. Room service was ordered one night and the meal arrived hot and was presented very nicely.

There is a bar and waiting area downstairs which was always clean and looked inviting. I will be staying here this next year as i really had a great stay.

The airport is open 24 hours and there is a Starbucks inside that also stays open 24 hours. That was a nice treat since i often came home late in the evening and it was nice to be able to walk across the street and get a nice caramel machiato at any hour i wanted!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsfountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport
Ibis Birmingham Airport
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
0.6 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Birmingham Airport

Property: Novotel Birmingham Airport
Address: Birmingham International Airport | Opposite Main Terminal Building, Birmingham B26 3QL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#10 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#22 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#27 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#29 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Birmingham Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Birmingham Airport is located at Birmingham International Airport, opposite Terminal 1, 20 minutes drive from the centre of Birmingham. Adjacent to the NEC and offering modern meeting rooms, this hotel is ideal for a business trip. A free SkyRail service every 90 seconds links the hotel with Birmingham International railway station and the NEC. Elements restaurant and bar with 24 hour room service. Fitness and excercise room. NCP multi storey car parks adjacent to hotel (fees apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Novotel Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Airport
Hotel Birmingham Airport
Birmingham Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing