We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Ranked #24 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tring Herts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent airport hotel”
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We stayed here prior to an early morning flight to Jamaica. It couldnt have been more perfect for the job. We travelled up by train, straight on the monorail into the terminal and then straight across the road tp the hotel. Efficient, friendly and quick check in at reception. We had a room on the 6th floor overlooking the runway, but no noise at all. Good size room, clean and had everything we needed, although not sure about the square pillows, they were a pain as not big enough, but a small niggle. We didnt eat in the restaurant as it seemed very expensive, we went over the road to the Terminal and went to Franky and Bennys, then to Weatherspoons for a nightcap. Breakfast was included in the price and what a fine breakfast it was. Buffet style, all you can eat and good service. We then had an efficient check out and within 5 mins we had walked across the road to the terminal and had checked in. It cost £79 in total for bed and breakfast for two of us and this included an extra payment to upgrade to a queen size bed.For an airport hotel i thought this was very good value for money and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel or using it again myself in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuleeMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBIA, Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 17 August 2010
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.com following your recent stay at the Novotel Birmingham Airport.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you will look to stay with us again.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    946
    436
    119
    69
See reviews for
479
852
212
605
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

I’ve stayed here a few times, but mainly because my company was paying and I found the location convenient after several long meetings being since it’s only a few meters away from the arrival check-in Area.

The hotel offers all the usual facilities and the rooms are clean enough if not particularly spacious, the breakfast is acceptable and the bar / restaurants are fine. The reception has been renovated to help give the hotel a modern feel to account for the high room prices but to be honest it’s pretty much a standard airport hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren_on_business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBIA, Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 17 August 2010
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.com following your recent stay at the Novotel Birmingham Airport.

I was pleased to see you had a comfortable stay. I was though disappointed to see you only found breakfast acceptable. I would be more than happy to discuss this matter with you in more detail. Please feel free to contact me directly on 0121 782 7000.

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Novotel always guarantees the good same clean standard wherever you are in the world. Reliable clean rooms, showers that function, reasonable beds..though the air con i personally find always an issue.
The hotel in Birmingham airport is great for me for both private and business use. Good food in the restaurant as one could expect from an airport hotel i was surprised it was of a better standard than expected.
Rooms usual novotel size and standard and a comfortable stay. Best of all, all within
20mins of your departure gate !

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neoklassiksoul-yahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBIA, Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 17 August 2010
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.com following your recent stay at the Novotel Birmingham Airport.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and was pleased to see our restaurant exceed your expectations. I will pass on your comments to our Food and Beverage team.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

My mother, sister and I stayed here after our trip to Oslo, to make travel home the next day easier transportation wise and we were highly impressed with this hotel.

The rooms were spacious and comfortable, with a very large clean bathroom, complete with free toiletries. Breakfast was delicious, as it had Continental, Traditional English and many other various types of meals to offer (I especially enjoyed the Belgium waffles and cereal!).

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShiverZ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBIA, Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 17 August 2010
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.com following your recent stay at the Novotel Birmingham Airport.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I was very pleased to hear our location was so convenient and that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet selection.

We very much look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

The main benefit in staying at this hotel was that it was literally across the street from the departure terminal for our flight home to Canada. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was small, but adequately accommodated my mother, son and I. Beds (including sofa bed) were surpisingly comfortable. The bathroom was absolutely gorgeous with very distinct modern design. Entrance hallway and bathroom and separate toilet could be closed off from bedroom, which was a nice feature for reducing noise in outer hallway. Standard features such as cable tv and internet were available. Large, wall mounted flat screen tv. Mini bar fridge, iron and board, etc. available as well.

Had dinner in the restaurant, which was very disappointing...very overpriced and not at all up to the standard that we had become accustomed to while dining out in the UK during our 4-week vacation.

We paid 65 GBP for the room, but then if you include the price for breakfast, it would bring the price well over 100GBP, which is the going price for alot of local bed and breakfasts. However, if its location that you want, then this place is it for catching a flight back home to Canada or the US.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nammyohorengekyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBIA, Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 17 August 2010
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.com following your recent stay at the Novotel Birmingham Airport.

I was very pleased to hear you found the bedroom both modern and comfortable.

I was disappointed to read your comments with reference to your evening meal. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel should you wish to discuss the matter in more detail. I can be reached on the main line of the hotel which is: 0121 782 7000.

We very much look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Stayed 26 June 2010. Had a very comfortable room and could not be faulted. Had a meal prior to going out for the evening. Mistake. Service was diabolical. Ordered drinks for 4 people, went over the order 3 times with the foreign waitress and she still managed to get it wrong. Food was very poor quality and did not match the exorbitant price on the menu. Service extremely slow. Don't mind paying even over the odds for good food and service but the restaurant at Novotel, Birmimgham Airport was diabolical. Gave us the bill and then folllowed up later with another bill for another table! Bad service all round in restaurant. Breakfast next morning was excellent and service extremely good.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edgarscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBIA, Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 17 August 2010
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.com following your recent stay at the Novotel Birmingham Airport.

I was very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your evening meal. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel should you wish to discuss the matter in more detail. I can be reached on the main line of the hotel which is: 0121 782 7000.

I was however pleased to see that you had an enjoyable breakfast in the morning.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the not to distant future.

Kind regards,

Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pershore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

We stayed the night before an early flight and all worked well. We needed an executive room in order to get a king-size bed: fortunately the price we paid through a booking agent was far less than the hotel’s advertised rate. The room was clean and pleasant. The menu – and the food – was better than we had expected, offering a wide range of dishes. Room service worked well too.
The restaurant is very noisy, with lots of hard surfaces, and piped music to boot. The latter was turned down slightly at our request, for a short time. The bar was equally noisy with television. A strange feature is that, because we had prepaid for breakfast, we were not able to charge anything to the room, but had to pay for it on the spot.

In spite of this, we would happily stay there again.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank yraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBIA, Manager at Novotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 17 August 2010
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.com following your recent stay at the Novotel Birmingham Airport.

I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the selection and quality of the food for your evening meal. I was however disappointed to read your comments with reference to the noise levels of our dining room and bar. I shall personally monitor this to ensure the background music is kept at and enjoyable level for all of our customers.

With reference to charging hotel incidentals (Room service, bar drinks etc) to your room account, we do offer this facility at the Hotel, my apologies for this not being explained clearly to your on check in. If you choose to use this facility on a future stay, an authorisation will be taken from your credit card with your consent. We will then open the credit facilities on your room account enabling you to then pay for any extras on check out.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the not to distant future.

Kind regards,

Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
1,772 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#42 of 117 in Birmingham
1,015 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Birmingham Airport

Property: Novotel Birmingham Airport
Address: Birmingham International Airport | Opposite Main Terminal Building, Birmingham B26 3QL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#27 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#30 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Birmingham Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Birmingham Airport is located at Birmingham International Airport, opposite Terminal 1, 20 minutes drive from the centre of Birmingham. Adjacent to the NEC and offering modern meeting rooms, this hotel is ideal for a business trip. A free SkyRail service every 90 seconds links the hotel with Birmingham International railway station and the NEC. Elements restaurant and bar with 24 hour room service. Fitness and excercise room. NCP multi storey car parks adjacent to hotel (fees apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Nozio Netplan srl, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Airport
Hotel Birmingham Airport
Birmingham Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing