We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clubbing & Shopping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Ranked #53 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank mikkri
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,034 - 1,040 of 1,533 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

Just come back from an overnight in Birmingham city center 22/06/2013, First time in the area and this hotel was perfectly positioned. Fifteen minutes walk from the train station and literally a stones throw from the canal bar and restaurants around the mail box. To accommodation was £105 for the room and breakfast for the 2 of us. Apparently a little more money as were all the other hotel due to the cricket being played yesterday.
The food was excellent, plenty of choice and piping hot.
All round very good place to plan your visit to the city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to Novotel Birmingham Centre very soon.
Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location, within easy walking distance of the Bullring shopping centre. There are plenty of bars and places to eat just outside the Hotel, from cheap to expensive with a good variety. There are two Weatherspoons, one opposite and the other just down the road. A Sainsburys local store is next door just in case you have forgotten anything. A short walk to the back of the Hotel is the Canal, with lots more bars and places to eat. The staff were all friendly and helpful, the breakfast was excellent with good choices. The rooms were clean and in good decorative order. The only negative comment on the room, was the bathroom. The bathroom and toilet were seperate this made the toilet section very small and felt like a public toilet rather than a toilet in a hotel. The bathroom was very nice and modern, the toilet could easily have been incorporated. The Car park is secure but I felt overpriced, if you are not bothered about parking on the premises, there is a publc car park opposite that only charges £7.50 for 24 hours, half the price of the hotel.

Room Tip: A room on the upper level at the weekend is less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Novotel Birmingham Centre. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments, which we will address where appropriate. Be assured that we do compare our parking prices with other comparable, secure facilities. I hope we can look forward to seeing again soon.
Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed here as a group of 4 young girls going out in Birmingham. Staff were argumentative, sarcastic and rude. We arrived to find out we were not on the same floor even though we booked it together! We then complained on check out and the man that dealt with us was incredibly sarcastic and argumentative, he was also incredibly unhelpful! Room was average apart from the fact we were on completely seperate floors, which was completely unacceptable! The room was also small and toulet seperate from the bathroom which waa odd, toilet was tiny could hardy fit in it! it cost us £85 for one room and I have stayed at a premier inn before for £29 and had a better experience. Would not stay again and staff need to realise that smiling sarcastically at customers is not good customer service. I advice people to stay at the premier inn around the corner!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mollxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I will look into this. I truly regret that we didn’t handle things better and will follow up with my team to ensure such a situation does not recur. At Novotel we spend many resources in training and improving our teams and I will use your example in reviewing our front office performance.
I hope you will change you mind and give us another opportunity to display the hospitality, which all of our guests should be able to expect to enjoy.
Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We spent a night here on Monday 17th June, we were in high spirits due to the upcoming Josh Groban concert that evening at the Sympony Hall. Our sat nav gave us good directions to the hotel, we were so pleased at its location being a few hundred metres from the venue.Check in was swift, the receptionist was amongst the politest we've ever had & we've stayed in some very pricey ones!!She showed an interest in our journey to the hotel, made several suggestions to maximise our stay, all with a smile! Our room was very comfortable, tea/coffee facilities, small fridge stocked with water & soft drinks, comfy bed & large bathroom. It was spotlessly clean. Breakfast, included in the price was good, it was constantly replenished whilst we ate. All in all a great stay. If you're looking for luxury this hotel isn't for you, but if you want a friendly clean hotel in a great location you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments, especially about the team! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Birmingham Centre and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The hotel is in the city center of Birmingham and easy to find and has its own parking on site. The rooms are of good quality and clean, the check in is quick and friendly. Being in the center means you don't have to get taxi or a bus if you want to eat just walk outside and turn either way and you will find everything you are looking for.
Will use again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snelljustin27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Birmingham Centre and making particular reference to the team and the hospitality they provide, is very pleasing! We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I stayed here with a friend for a night out on Broad Street. I booked it through Last Minute and it was a great choice for the money we paid.

Our room was great, we had twin beds and a clean bathroom with separate toilet. We did not have breakfast there as this was not part of our deal so I can't comment on that.

I was especially impressed with the security at night, we had to produce our room key to be allowed into the hotel. I can recommend this hotel to anyone looking for somewhere to stay along Broad Street as the location is ideal

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank MexicoPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to wirte your review.
We are glad your enjoyed your stay ; togehter with the location and security of the hotel
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at Novotel.
Kind regards
Daniel Batista

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,430 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#42 of 118 in Birmingham
1,311 reviews
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Birmingham Centre

Address: 70 Broad Street, Birmingham B1 2HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#28 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#37 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £59 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Birmingham Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Birmingham Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel right in the centre of Birmingham. We are the first choice for a business trip or a holiday. For meetings, conferences and banquets, Meeting at Novotel offers a professional service to ensure your event runs smoothly and successfully. A short walk for the international Convention Centre, National indoor Arena and Brindley Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Birmingham Centre Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Centre
Birmingham Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing