We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Ranked #40 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Great location, great services on offer, and very helpful staff. I stayed here on business for one night, it's near the New Street Station so travel is very easy, and it's located on a busy street full of restaurants and bars.

The hotel is very clean, very modern, with a great restaurant and fantastically helpful staff. I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments, especially about the team! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Birmingham Centre and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    603
    284
    73
    47
See reviews for
214
485
86
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for at least 3 nights a month for the past year, I have therefore experienced most floors and room types.

The difference between a standard and exectuive room is mainly the use of robe and slippers, free cable internet and a movie package. It is worth booking this level room if you book in advance and the price difference is not too much and you are going to make use of the cable internet. The movie selection is good with lots of new releases and definitely worth making the most of if you have the time. The bathroom between room classes is also different, with the executive room having a sliding chinese style door into the bathroom, a separate bath and shower and extra products including a facial exfoliator and nail care kit. The robes and slippers are comfortable and soft, you also get two free bottles of water from the minibar. The bathroom in the standard rooms have a shower over the bath, come with shampoo, shower gel, soap and moisturiser, no robes and are a little smaller than the exectuive room. My only gripe about the bathrooms is that the toilet is in a separate small room by the door to the room and doesn't have a sink in the toilet room, you therefore have to go to the toilet in one room and then walk back into the bathroom to wah your hands. It hasn't really bothered me but I do find it a little strange.

The breakfast in the hotel offers 4-5 different cereals, a selection of fruit - fruit salad, prunes, fresh apples, grapes and bananas, continental hams, cheeses, pastries and yoghurts as well as a good variety of hot options such as waffles, then the usual english breakfast components. I often ask for porridge which is always made well, not takig too long even when it is busy. The breakfast staff are friendly and efficient and will bring tea/coffee to your table. You help yourself to the buffet for food (unless you order something separate like porridge).

The gym is small and there is only 1 of each piece of equipment, this could be a problem if you visit it at a busy time however I have had no issues with overcrowding on my numerous stays. There is a treadmill, cross trainer, rowing machine, srtepper, 2 mats and a stand of free weights. The gym best serves those who wish to do cardio and people who wish to do strength training would be better placed to buy a day pass at the Puregym (£5.99) which is just a 5 minute walk away at the Fiveways leisure centre.

The hotel is in a great location, just a 10 minute walk from New Street station. It is close to Brindleyplace which has lots of good restaurants and bars, and the main shopping street/bullring is closeby.

I sometimes find the rooms a little hot even with the air con on, I think it must be on a timer that cannot be controlled within the room. As the hotel is tucked into a busy street opening the windows for fresh air can open up the exposure to noise from the nearby bars and clubs. To combat this I wouls recommend a room with a high number for that foor - so say 326 as opposed to 305 as this is further down the corridor and so further away from Broad street where the majority of bars are. I would also recommend an even numbered room as I have found these slightly quieter. I should stress that with the windows shut the double glazing is very effective at blocking out the noise.

This hotel is perfect for the business traveller as I assume that is what it is set up for, not sure if I would stay here on a leisure trip although the location would be great. I will continue to book into this hotel for regular visits which is a testament to the staff and service received - particularly at breakfast.

Room Tip: Even numbered and higher numbered rooms tend to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GibsonM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Delighted to hear from one of our regular clients, who can give a view of our business over a number of months and the on-going consistency that we strive to achieve. It gives us great pleasure that you enjoy your stays at Novotel Birmingham Centre and your time away from home are made comfortable and hassle free. Making particular reference to the team and the hospitality they provide, is very pleasing! I think the recommendations made are very realistic for other guests to follow, thank you. We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business and would both recommend + return. Modern spacious rooms that have everything you need. Clean, central, gym, quiet, shop next door + good value.

Would stay here again when on business + would also return for leisure.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0xMx0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Birmingham Centre and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Richard Marsh, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

A short list of the less perfect elements: half-dated décor due to the halfway refurbishments including separate toilet from bathroom in the hotel rooms; no air conditioning (but windows can be open with a bit of noise from the street), complimentary Wi-Fi slightly slow and service issue for only ONE occasion at the reception - while the lady at the reception working non-stop, there were another two members of staff busy discussing but paid no attention to the queue of guests at all.

Other than that one occasion, the service I had received was 5-star; about eight members of staff I had acquainted during my stay were super friendly, professional and helpful!
As many other reviewers mentioned, the location is very good. The hotel has it's own car park which is very convenient. Although the hotel is slightly dated it is properly maintained. The gym, changing room, steam room were all very clean and highly practical. The restaurant provided delicious food, staff again very friendly and caring, some interesting characters as well. Nevertheless, there is tv dinner available - a table for one with tv facilities! Nice breakfast too!

Last but not least, very thoughtful and generous toiletries and I was also offered free movie package.

As a guest I felt being well looked after by this very sincere hotel! Thanks!

Room Tip: The executive room package is very good value; it would be even better if my room not facing the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mangofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback and the constructive manner I which you have provided it. We look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Birmingham Centre, the next time your are in the city.
Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Just come back from an overnight in Birmingham city center 22/06/2013, First time in the area and this hotel was perfectly positioned. Fifteen minutes walk from the train station and literally a stones throw from the canal bar and restaurants around the mail box. To accommodation was £105 for the room and breakfast for the 2 of us. Apparently a little more money as were all the other hotel due to the cricket being played yesterday.
The food was excellent, plenty of choice and piping hot.
All round very good place to plan your visit to the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to Novotel Birmingham Centre very soon.
Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location, within easy walking distance of the Bullring shopping centre. There are plenty of bars and places to eat just outside the Hotel, from cheap to expensive with a good variety. There are two Weatherspoons, one opposite and the other just down the road. A Sainsburys local store is next door just in case you have forgotten anything. A short walk to the back of the Hotel is the Canal, with lots more bars and places to eat. The staff were all friendly and helpful, the breakfast was excellent with good choices. The rooms were clean and in good decorative order. The only negative comment on the room, was the bathroom. The bathroom and toilet were seperate this made the toilet section very small and felt like a public toilet rather than a toilet in a hotel. The bathroom was very nice and modern, the toilet could easily have been incorporated. The Car park is secure but I felt overpriced, if you are not bothered about parking on the premises, there is a publc car park opposite that only charges £7.50 for 24 hours, half the price of the hotel.

Room Tip: A room on the upper level at the weekend is less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Novotel Birmingham Centre. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments, which we will address where appropriate. Be assured that we do compare our parking prices with other comparable, secure facilities. I hope we can look forward to seeing again soon.
Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,758 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#36 of 117 in Birmingham
1,195 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
2,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Birmingham Centre

Property: Novotel Birmingham Centre
Address: 70 Broad Street, Birmingham B1 2HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#28 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#37 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Birmingham Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Birmingham Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel right in the centre of Birmingham. We are the first choice for a business trip or a holiday. For meetings, conferences and banquets, Meeting at Novotel offers a professional service to ensure your event runs smoothly and successfully. A short walk for the international Convention Centre, National indoor Arena and Brindley Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Birmingham Centre Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Centre
Birmingham Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing