We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - nice location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Ranked #53 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
An Accor traveller
London
2015
Reviewed 23 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,021 - 1,027 of 1,533 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

Arrival by car drivers need to be aware that the entrance to the car park is down ramp to right of hotel - stop at yellow line for security gate to open. Lots of space under hotel and knowing it is in a secure garage is a relief.
There is a lift to lobby but not easy to access.
Reception staff on the whole very friendly and helpful. The lobby is open plan with plenty of seating.
Bed room - the room is ideal for a business trip and a couple would find it very good if they are staying in B'ham for concert or sporting events.
The room has comfortable double bed, sofa and a desk that rotates. The WC and bath are in separate rooms. The WC is a little on small side - but then you do not spend much time in there - do you!
The restaurant is pleasant, breakfast was good, with a wide variety of options. Lunch I had salad - as hot food did not look appetising - was ok, but nothing to go with salad so I had cheese from cheese board. Evening meal was a set menu organsised by company - passable.
Overall - having staying in many hotels this one passed as one of the better ones. The only thing missing is a swimming pool/sauna/steam room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_Imp_1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to Novotel Birmingham Centre very soon. (just to clarify although we do not have a pool, we do provide sauna and steam in our Fitness Area).
Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Visited this hotel for one night. First impressions were good. Clean reception and polite staff. Room was spacious. However that is where the good impression ends. Mini bar had half drunk bottles of water, surely this should have been checked? Later on in the evening I found a small drop of blood on the sheets. Since returning home both my partner and I have large bites on us, something i can only assume is from bedding as we have never had them before. Not something I would expect from a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller3329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Novotel Birmingham Centre. Please feel free to let us know immediately if you have any concerns during your stay in the future. As you are aware, we invetigated your report, as soon as we received it, with no confirmed presence of any bugs. As a precaution the room and adjoining rooms were treated by our pest controller.
Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

great location right in the center of birmingham. car park under hotel. only problem lat 400 yards took 35mins at 5.30pm.
reception and rooms typical novotel, staff all very good restaurant and bar staff all attentive and the food was well served and of a high standard. no real need to leave the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodAndArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time for your review.

We always appreciate feedback from our customers. I am glad you enjoyed your stay despite the room layout.

In regards to internet connection, I would like to inform you that we now have free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.

I hope we will have the chance to welcome you once again at our hotel.

Kind regards

Daniel Batista

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed here overnight ths week in an Executive Room on the 3rd floor. The reception area has been refurbished and looks pretty impressive. The room was a good size, clean and equipped with a fridge, safe, large very comfortable bed and tv with good range of channels. During one of the hottest weeks of the year it was surprisingly cool and I had a great nights sleep. The room only had one small window which made it a little dark and I wasn't too keen on the toilet being separate from the bathroom, it's by the room door and is not only dark and pokey but also very unhygienic. My biggest gripe, and this applies to all large chain hotels is there being a charge for wifi. If independent hotels can offer high speed wifi for free why can't you, wifi is as important nowadays as having a tv in the room. The hotel has its own car park and charges £14 for 24 hours. For a City Centre hotel this is reasonable, it's under the building and is gated.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank kevinse16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Novotel Birmingham Centre. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments, which we are addressing. I am delighteed top be able to inform you that we now provide FREE WiFi to all our guests!
Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Standard Novotel in a good location. Public area is newly refurbished and modern. Staff helpful and friendly. The restaurant on both occasions I have stayed there has served surprisingly good food. The standard rooms are dated and in need of redecorating. The executive rooms are better. Downside is the car park charge, and the high charge for internet access. Overall, though if you are in Birmingham on business, this is a good option.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CADLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review.
Your comments about our facilities, food and service are highly appreciated. Note taken about the standard rooms.
In regards to internet, wi-fi access, I am happy to inform you that it is now complimentary throughout the hotel.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome again at Novotel Birmingham Centre.
Sincerely
Daniel Batista

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Visited this hotel for a business trip. The rooms were tidy, the staff were all friendly and efficient. Really can't complain about anything as the location was good too - just a stone's throw from the pubs on the canals if you don't like the rowdy bars on Broad Street.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

I appreciate the comments - especially in regards to the team friendliness and efficiency. They will be delighted to read that.

I hope we can welcome you once again in the future.

Kind regards

Daniel Batista

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
4,440 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#40 of 118 in Birmingham
1,313 reviews
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Birmingham Centre

Address: 70 Broad Street, Birmingham B1 2HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#28 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#37 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £58 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Birmingham Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Birmingham Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel right in the centre of Birmingham. We are the first choice for a business trip or a holiday. For meetings, conferences and banquets, Meeting at Novotel offers a professional service to ensure your event runs smoothly and successfully. A short walk for the international Convention Centre, National indoor Arena and Brindley Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Birmingham Centre Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Centre
Birmingham Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing