We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Ranked #45 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Great location. Stayed on a friday and saturday night with my wife. Very friendly staff, clean rooms and perfectly situated for local bars, shopping and restaurants, even stopped in the bar for a quick nightcap n ended up staying for another four drinks...the cosmopolitan cocktail comes highly recommended!

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank Joeq9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our Elements bar.
I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Sharon Thandi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

895 - 901 of 1,490 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

I am a member of the Accor Hotels loyalty club and am a Platinum member. This gives me certain privileges at their hotels worldwide however on a lot of a occasions, I have to remind them of this leading to some awkward moments and conversations.

However, this Novotel has been the exception and many of their group hotels can learn something from the staff here. From check in to check out it was a very enjoyable stay and we had no complaints at all. I was indeed made to feel like a Platinum member of their loyalty program.

The price was very competitive and the location was excellent for what we needed (we were at a concert at the LG arena and New Street train station is a short 10 minute walk away).

Breakfast was very good in the morning and the room size was adequate for the little time we spent in it.

The only reason I didn't give 5 stars was because the room itself felt a little dated, especially the separate toilet in the room.

Otherwise it was completely faultless and highly recommended.

Room Tip: The quiet side away from Broad Street is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review regarding your recent stay here at the Novotel. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Sharon Thandi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Very nice, great helpful staff.

Very modern, very clean, lovely comfortable beds.

It was outstandingly quiet too, which was a surprise for a centre location.

We stayed in room 200, which has no adjoining rooms on any side, an added luxury.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank rich17865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Sharon Thandi
General Manager Name

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed here on a Thursday night. Reception staff friendly, room very comfortable and spacious. Also quiet for its location in Broad street. Ideally placed for town. Gym well equipped and bar was great in hotel.
I have stayed in this hotel several times and do rate it.
Unfortunately I had a bad experience at breakfast which rather spoilt my stay. The young lady by the name of Laura that checked me in for breakfast had a terrible attitude. After 20 minutes and three requests for a cup of coffee with my breakfast she snapped and stated it would come if I waited. She plonked a tea pot on the table eventually and when I said I ordered coffee she huffed and rolled her eyes! She was obviously having a bad morning, but really this is not acceptable when paying £110 a night for B&B. I actually went back to have a word with her after checking out but could not find her.
So overall really nice hotel in great location, but plenty of competition on Broad St so Staff need to take note!

Stayed: November 2013
Thank greecelover9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.

Kind regards,
Sharon Thandi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed this Novotel expecting a normal business man's hotel but was pleasantly surprised by the service and attitude that the staff afforded us. We had booked this as a last minute stopover so we could attend my cousins wedding however we forgot to pack a camera. The staff at the hotel tracked down where we could but one at 11.30 pm the night before thus saving us a lot of embarrassment and we would recommend this hotel to any one needing to stay in Birmingham well done people and keep up the good work

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nothgiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable.

Kind regards

Sharon Thandi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank N J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,127 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#43 of 118 in Birmingham
1,262 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Birmingham Centre

Address: 70 Broad Street, Birmingham B1 2HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#28 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#37 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £56 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Birmingham Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Birmingham Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel right in the centre of Birmingham. We are the first choice for a business trip or a holiday. For meetings, conferences and banquets, Meeting at Novotel offers a professional service to ensure your event runs smoothly and successfully. A short walk for the international Convention Centre, National indoor Arena and Brindley Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Birmingham Centre Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Centre
Birmingham Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing