We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good city centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Ranked #43 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good city centre hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed here in January for a saturday night stay. The hotel is centrally located - close to the bars and restaurants around Broad Street & Birlington Place, and a short walk to the Bullring and city centre shopping.

The hotel is clean & of the expected standard of the Novotel brand. The only downside was the very high price of parking once you go over 24 hours.

The hotel was undergoing some renovation in the reception area, but this didn't really impact on our stay.

Good hotel if you need to stay centrally in Birmingham for leisure or business.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveyC-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sharon Thandi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    581
    276
    70
    46
See reviews for
204
472
83
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Standard hotel. At the time of my stay it was going under a lot of refurb and the main entrance was closed so had to use the side/bar entrance and exit. I paid a £28 pounds for parking in car park where the exit barrier was continuously up. I'm sure less moral people would have just driven out at the end of their stay. The room was clean and furniture etc upto usual Novotel standards. The carpet throughout the hotel looked very worn and dirty due to its style. Other than that an ok hotel in general but expect more giving the name....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShivC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay here at the Novotel. I am pleased to say that the hotel refurbishments have now been complerted and I apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit.

Kind regards,

Sharon Thandi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Nice reception and eating area. Rooms are old fashioned and need updating. Food was ok, good variety. Check in was VERY SLOW as there was only one or two members of staff the whole weekend. Would expect that for a full hotel. Did the job, would stay again but only for business proposes.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte_PCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay here at Novotel Birmingham Centre. I am sorry that you experienced delays at reception. I have shared your feedback with my Front Office Manager who will be reviewing staffing levels.
I do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Sharon Thandi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I was here on a work trip and the staff were so friendly and customer focussed I felt at ease and at home. The reception, restaurant, room cleaning staff were all consistently friendly, cheerful, welcoming and professional. You got the sense this highly valued by the hotel generally, part of the training etc, as the level of service and quality of the customer interactions really stood out compared to your average hotel stay. The decor is modern and tasteful especially in the lobby and restaurant, and the general comfort level was high. I was impressed with the lift security, that a room key was required to operate it. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyC138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review for yuor recent stay here at Novotel Birmingham Centre. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Sharon Thandi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,500 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Birmingham Centre

Property: Novotel Birmingham Centre
Address: 70 Broad Street, Birmingham B1 2HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#28 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#37 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Birmingham Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Birmingham Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel right in the centre of Birmingham. We are the first choice for a business trip or a holiday. For meetings, conferences and banquets, Meeting at Novotel offers a professional service to ensure your event runs smoothly and successfully. A short walk for the international Convention Centre, National indoor Arena and Brindley Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Birmingham Centre Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Centre
Birmingham Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing