We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Ranked #42 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Staff ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Daniel went the extra mile, Robert was fantastic! Aneta was a great supervisor :)) staff went out their way... Really satisfied :) bar fantastic :):):):):):):) aneta is so polite And lovely. Every single member off staff was delight. Zaneta helped to get me a towel which Ali brought to me with the biggest smile. Best hotel on broad street

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rajvirnijjar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Sharon Thandi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    581
    276
    70
    46
See reviews for
204
472
83
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, sometimes
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

The Novotel chain is remarkably uniform in general and there is often little to choose between them - they are all acceptable. However, this particular example is a notch above the Novotel average, primarily because of the staff. Without exception they were pleasant, cheery and helpful.

The rooms are relatively spacious for hotels at this price point and the bathrooms are identical to Novotel bathrooms all over Europe - they are a reasonable size and they work. There's a decent breakfast buffet which is worth the £8.95 advance price if you aren't on an inclusive rate. It's very close to many of the attractions in central Birmingham and particularly convenient for the ICC. It's on a street with many bars and restaurants and there is a small Sainsbury's express supermarket next door should you find yourself short of any essentials.

The one thing that marred my stay was the staffing at the reception desk; only one person on even at peak evening times, meaning longer waits and no priority checkin available.

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor to avoid what I suspect could be distracting street-level noise, particularly at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cziwkga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Sharon Thandi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

My name is Susan George, and I am from the states. I came to Birmingham with my husband who is
from Birmingham. I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I felt very welcomed by the friendly people at the front desk. I found the rooms to be very clean and very spacious. We had a great night sleep, no noises from outside of the room.

The next morning we got up and went down to have breakfast. There was plenty of food to eat, and i found the restaurant to be very clean, and once again the staff was friendly. The prices were reasonable.

If I ever get back to Birmingham, I plan on staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSue66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Sharon Thandi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

WE stayed at this hotel last year in a standard double room but decided to upgrade this time to the Executive Room.......Same room but with trimmings ! TV was larger, Broadband was included as well as the Film channels....a nice surprise as we did not know it was included in the Executive package!
Room was nice and the bed very comfortable...shower was fantastic.
The hotel is ideally sited in the centre of things on Broad Street in Birmingham and most things are within a minutes walk, including the canals and numerous restaurants.
Breakfast was excellent and the service was impeccable.

Room Tip: The street at the side of the hotel has late night revellers and there is a fair amount of shouting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertRaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Sharon Thandi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We are local and stayed at the Novotel for a friend's 40th rather than get a taxi home. So we knew how busy Broad Street was and knew the hotel. It is great for Broad Street/Brindley Place and about 10 minute walk into main city centre area. Room was nice and clean and spacious and nothing more than what we needed, but it was weird having a separate bathroom from toilet and suggested to us that the rooms were a bit dated. We asked for a high floor knowing how noisy the hotels around this area can be and they very helpfully put us on the top floor, 7th. We had no noise all night and had a great night's sleep. We didn't have breakfast as there are plenty of places around doing breakfast the next morning - Cafe Rouge in Brindley Place is nice. They have underground secure parking which was great and a reasonable price. Overall would recommend if you need to be this side of town - if not, pay a bit extra to stay at Hotel La Tour - my favourite hotel in Birmingham

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joby69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sharon Thandi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Staff were very nice and helpful. Breakfast was amazing, although expensive at £16.95 for a cooked breakfast. AC was very good.
Room was very clean and bathroom was lovely.
We stayed in a superior room.
Negatives- The mattress was very hard, not comfortable, but the main problem was noise. We stayed on a Friday night and it was unbearable, in the end I put cotton wool in my ears.
Can hear doors slamming and everything in the adjoining rooms and hallway. Outside noise was very high as well but that's understandable due to the location.

We ended up paying only £45 for the room as we got a deal, and at this price would definitely stay again. If paying over £100 I probably wouldn't purely because of thin walls.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectations due to the noise you encountered at the weekend. We are looking into solutions to reduce the level of noise disruption caused by the main road on Broad Street.

Kind regards,

Sharon Thandi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,495 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Birmingham Centre

Property: Novotel Birmingham Centre
Address: 70 Broad Street, Birmingham B1 2HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#28 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#37 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Birmingham Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Birmingham Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel right in the centre of Birmingham. We are the first choice for a business trip or a holiday. For meetings, conferences and banquets, Meeting at Novotel offers a professional service to ensure your event runs smoothly and successfully. A short walk for the international Convention Centre, National indoor Arena and Brindley Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Birmingham Centre Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Centre
Birmingham Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing