We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Birmingham Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Ranked #40 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    575
    273
    67
    46
See reviews for
199
468
83
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I was here for a week on business. Located very centrally in Birmingham, really nice lobby, decent buffet breakfast, free wifi throughout, very clean and comfortable. Rooms are nice albeit a bit odd.. really nice bathroom/shower/sink but bizarrely the toilet is in a room by itself (with no sink) next door and is TIIINNNY, so no long leisurely toilet breaks are to be had here.

My room faced the street (where all the pubs and clubs are) and got quite noisy due to the street activity, I can sleep through anything but didn't really bother me but a light sleeper might have issues.

The bar is great, nice cocktails, really friendly bartender whose name escapes me now (trained in Ireland in the Connemara Coast hotel) who was very helpful, remembered my name throughout the stay etc. I'd certainly stay here again when back in Birmimgham on business.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garthicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Novotel Birmingham Centre. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the noise and the toilet area.
I have also passed on your positive comments to Robert in the bar, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sharon Thandi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

For a one night stay for a family of three visiting symphony hall this was the ideal location.
Room was plenty big enough even with the bed settee. Didn't find noise a problem but the mattress was extremely hard so didn't get a good nights sleep.
Some extra pillows and a third cup put in the room would have been appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cromercrab55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Novotel Birmingham Centre. I can assure you that the points you have raised are currently being addressed within the hotel.
I do hope to welcome you back to the Novotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sharon Thandi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I find it ridiculous that a hotel charging as much as the Novotel can not provide Wifi in the room, especially when they say they have Wifi. I spoke to the staff about it and was told that they were having an issue affecting certain guests and it was out of their control but this is not good enough to a paying guest. I rely hugely on the Internet for work and expect a service the hotel say they provide to be provided.

The one saving grace for this hotel is the staff, they were exceptional front of house. Really did make a difference. I would have given the hotel one star rating but the staff pushed it up to a 2 star rating.

An alleged 4 star hotel not providing a service they say they do is not acceptable and if they were having issues then they should have solved them in the 3 days that I spent here but they didnt.

Will not visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rx8231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating the issue with the WIFI further.
Please feel free to contact me on 0121 643 2000 to discuss this further.

Kind regards,

Sharon Thandi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Daniel went the extra mile, Robert was fantastic! Aneta was a great supervisor :)) staff went out their way... Really satisfied :) bar fantastic :):):):):):):) aneta is so polite And lovely. Every single member off staff was delight. Zaneta helped to get me a towel which Ali brought to me with the biggest smile. Best hotel on broad street

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rajvirnijjar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Sharon Thandi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,406 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Birmingham Centre

Property: Novotel Birmingham Centre
Address: 70 Broad Street, Birmingham B1 2HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#27 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#36 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Birmingham Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Birmingham Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel right in the centre of Birmingham. We are the first choice for a business trip or a holiday. For meetings, conferences and banquets, Meeting at Novotel offers a professional service to ensure your event runs smoothly and successfully. A short walk for the international Convention Centre, National indoor Arena and Brindley Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Birmingham Centre Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Centre
Birmingham Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing