We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Ranked #40 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Colne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“highly recommended”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the novotel on broad street last night after spending the day at the NEC and for £50 for a double room only I'm really impressed.
All the staff were friendly and helpful, and we were asked where we would like a room! We got a nice quiet one that we asked for!
The hotel is very modern and the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. The toilet is in a room on its own which is a little bit odd and small but it wouldn't bother me!
The hotel is well placed for some lovely restaurants and bars and we had a really enjoyable evening. We didn't have breakfast as there is a wetherspoons just down the road at a third of the price. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank proudnorthener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sharon Thandi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    603
    284
    73
    47
See reviews for
214
485
86
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
midlands
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We parked in the hotel car park in the morning before we could check in which was useful. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable, It is the first time we have found a bathroom and separate toilet room . This hotel is very close to the NIA ( 10 minute walk) There are many places to eat nearby and a supermarket next door. When coming into Birmingham from the west, this hotel is very easy to get to.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dodge011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback regartding your recent stay here at Novotel Birmingham Centre. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the location of the hotel central to your requirements. I do look forward to welcoming you back the the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Sharon Thandi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed here two nights for a conference at the ICC. The staff were really professional and helpful. Its a really modern hotel with great colourful designs. Breakfast was good for a buffet and the rooms were clean and well equipped. We stayed midweek and it was really quiet in the room and we had a good nights sleep in the king size bed. Coffee maker and good range of toiletries.
Car park under hotel which enabled us to leave the car and walk to the ICC. There are stairs up from car park however you could arrange to have help with luggage.
Very easy to walk to bars, restaurants and the canal area.
Also near the Sea Life Centre.
Would return if we visited Birmingham again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanshort62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed your trip to the Sea Life Centre. I hope to welcome you back to the Novotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sharon Thandi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I was here for a week on business. Located very centrally in Birmingham, really nice lobby, decent buffet breakfast, free wifi throughout, very clean and comfortable. Rooms are nice albeit a bit odd.. really nice bathroom/shower/sink but bizarrely the toilet is in a room by itself (with no sink) next door and is TIIINNNY, so no long leisurely toilet breaks are to be had here.

My room faced the street (where all the pubs and clubs are) and got quite noisy due to the street activity, I can sleep through anything but didn't really bother me but a light sleeper might have issues.

The bar is great, nice cocktails, really friendly bartender whose name escapes me now (trained in Ireland in the Connemara Coast hotel) who was very helpful, remembered my name throughout the stay etc. I'd certainly stay here again when back in Birmimgham on business.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garthicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Novotel Birmingham Centre. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the noise and the toilet area.
I have also passed on your positive comments to Robert in the bar, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sharon Thandi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

For a one night stay for a family of three visiting symphony hall this was the ideal location.
Room was plenty big enough even with the bed settee. Didn't find noise a problem but the mattress was extremely hard so didn't get a good nights sleep.
Some extra pillows and a third cup put in the room would have been appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cromercrab55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Novotel Birmingham Centre. I can assure you that the points you have raised are currently being addressed within the hotel.
I do hope to welcome you back to the Novotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sharon Thandi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I find it ridiculous that a hotel charging as much as the Novotel can not provide Wifi in the room, especially when they say they have Wifi. I spoke to the staff about it and was told that they were having an issue affecting certain guests and it was out of their control but this is not good enough to a paying guest. I rely hugely on the Internet for work and expect a service the hotel say they provide to be provided.

The one saving grace for this hotel is the staff, they were exceptional front of house. Really did make a difference. I would have given the hotel one star rating but the staff pushed it up to a 2 star rating.

An alleged 4 star hotel not providing a service they say they do is not acceptable and if they were having issues then they should have solved them in the 3 days that I spent here but they didnt.

Will not visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rx8231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating the issue with the WIFI further.
Please feel free to contact me on 0121 643 2000 to discuss this further.

Kind regards,

Sharon Thandi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,751 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#36 of 117 in Birmingham
1,195 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
2,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Birmingham Centre

Property: Novotel Birmingham Centre
Address: 70 Broad Street, Birmingham B1 2HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#28 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#37 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Birmingham Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Birmingham Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel right in the centre of Birmingham. We are the first choice for a business trip or a holiday. For meetings, conferences and banquets, Meeting at Novotel offers a professional service to ensure your event runs smoothly and successfully. A short walk for the international Convention Centre, National indoor Arena and Brindley Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Birmingham Centre Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Centre
Birmingham Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing