We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shame about the noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Ranked #42 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
shrewsbury england
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Shame about the noise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2009

We were there to attend Last night of the Christmas Proms at Symphony Hall .The hotel is in an great location for Symphony hall and only a ten minute walk into the city centre. But despite asking for a quiet room we given a room on the 3rd floor at the side of the hotel.The noise was horrendous given that it was the 27th December ,so I would assume slightly more peaceful than previous evenings. Everything else about the hotel was great but because of the noise we would not stop there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    581
    276
    70
    46
See reviews for
204
472
83
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2009

Stayed for I night to visit the Christmas market, which was only a short walk away. Quick and friendly check in. Were advised of a Xmas party in the hotel that night, so we were given a top floor room away from the disco. Nice room and clean too. Excellent buffet breakfast next morning.
Would definitely stay here again, especially at advance on-line rates.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulww99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frome
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2009

I stayed here for one night with my teenage children to watch a concert at the NIA. The hotel is centrally located and only a few minutes walk from the NIA. Room was very clean and tidy and the breakfast was lovely. All staff very friendy and helpful. A great place to stay and if you book early you can get cheaper rates.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksshootingstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Staffordshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2009

I booked a one-night stay for my wife and myself at this Hotel in order to attend the 'Bad Boys' Concert, featuring Bryn Terfel, at the Symphony Hall which is just a few yards down the road. We had stayed here on a previous occasion and were impressed then by the courteous, friendly nature of the staff, the well-appointed room and the attention paid to Security. I also liked the fact that there was a large Car Park beneath the Hotel for the use of its guests. As I had found the prices were very competitive then, when we were coming to Birmingham again, we did not consider approaching any other Hotel and booked at the Novotel, Birmingham Centre. We are very glad we did, and were as impressed as we had been on our previous visit.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank designerman36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

Stayed one night to see Fleetwood Mac at the NIA.
This hotel is ideally placed for most of the City attractions, bit of a hike from New St station but bearable.
I paid £69 for an advance booking double room, B & B. The "off the street" price was £165 when I checked in. For £69 this hotel is an absolute bargain !!
The room was spotlessly clean, well fitted with everything you could think of. Iron, & board, TV, mini bar/fridge, tea/coffee, bikkies, double glazed, huge double bed. The bedroom had a door that isolated it from the "hallway", the bathroom and loo (separate) led off this.
The only negative thing about the room was the carpet, it was a drab grey colour - it was clean, but just didn't go with the room !

Breakfast ! There was absolutely every thing you could want, hot, cold, juices, cereals, fruit, continental.
My wife and I made pigs of ourselves - even the plates on the hot counter were ginormous. It was all self serve apart from tea/coffee which was brought to your table.
There was even a sit up bar with small TVs and headsets for those who wanted to watch the morning TV.

If you are going to Brum, try and get a room in this hotel - at a discount ! For £165 ??, for £69 absolutely great !

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonrakerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2009

Myself and several friends stayed here for a long weekend over Halloween, and the stay in the hotel was comfortable and convenient for things to do in the canal area and for all city centre amenities. The rooms and facilities were clean and comfortable and all staff in the hotel were helpful and friendly. One particular highlight over this busy weekend was the fact that there was a strong security presence at the front door, who were friendly to all guests while ensuring anyone who did not belong in the hotel did not get access. The only comment for improvement to suggest would be to spruce up the separate toilet rooms in each room - a good idea, but they lacked character and were a bit drab. Other than that a great stay and I would recommend this hotel for anyone staying in the city centre.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muvah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

The hotel was easy to find and ideally situated for what we needed,the staff were friendly and the room was spotless as was the rest of the hotel.
As a bonus when we came back from the concert that night there were doormen at the entrance which added to our feeling of security.
The breakfast was great,huge choice with everything freshly cooked/prepared.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audir8Shrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,498 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Birmingham Centre

Property: Novotel Birmingham Centre
Address: 70 Broad Street, Birmingham B1 2HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#28 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#37 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Birmingham Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Birmingham Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel right in the centre of Birmingham. We are the first choice for a business trip or a holiday. For meetings, conferences and banquets, Meeting at Novotel offers a professional service to ensure your event runs smoothly and successfully. A short walk for the international Convention Centre, National indoor Arena and Brindley Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Birmingham Centre Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Centre
Birmingham Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing