We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Ranked #43 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 3 August 2010

This hotel was ideal for shopping and nightlife. Would definitely use it again as it was very clean, the staff were friendly and the rooms spacious. Although in busy Broad Street we had no problems with noise at all.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise5921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 13 August 2010
Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at the Novotel Birmingham. Kind regards, Richard marsh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    590
    277
    71
    47
See reviews for
209
475
84
407
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Unfortunately, I didn't check Tripadvisor before booking this hotel. I was aware of its location on Broad Street but naively thought the rooms would be soundproofed. They are not. I finally got to sleep at around 4am, but was then woken by a group of drunks running up and down the corridor, shouting and banging on peoples doors - it attracts that kind of clientele (presumably it's this type of guest who write positive reviews).

For what it's worth, the room was shabby and dated. Worse stil, the toilet had very evidently not been cleaned - disgusting - but somehow typical of this shoddy operation.

I have stayed in nearly all of Birmingham's 4 star hotels and this is comfortably the worst. In fact, its 4 star rating really brings the whole rating system into disrepute.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mightyquin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 13 August 2010
I’m sorry we failed to live up to your expectations. The team and I at the Novotel in Birmingham appreciate your feedback, though, and we are addressing the issues you have mentioned. Please feel free to call me on 01216432000 or email me on richard.marsh@accor.com to discuss your comments further. Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We have just returned home after spending 2 nights this weekend at the Novotel. The hotel is quite small and compact with parking underneath which is £13.00 a day. We booked the executive room which was on the 3rd floor; the side of Sainburys express and we literally only had 2 hours sleep a night, in fact last night it was soo loud until 4am that we thought that there was a riot going on outside with the noise and all the sirens. The rooms are ok and the executive room has an ipod docking station and coffee machine which was nice, but they didnt refresh any toiletires or coffee the next morning so we had to ask for things. The bath and shower area has open double doors into the bedroom area but the separate toilet is soo tiny you have to close the door before sitting down.
Breakfast buffet was quite good and served until 11am. The hotel is between £5 to £7 in a taxi each way to china town or bull ring ect so you could get somewhere closer for the £100 a night we paid.
The hotel has a gym, sauna and steam room but does not have a pool or jacuzzi. The hotel also appears to cater for large groups and conferences.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BUSTYBREEZER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 18 June 2010
Firstly I would like this guest for their comments and the positive and constructive way in which they have made their feelings known. I feel for any guest, when they say they had a disturbed night and would sympathise.
The Novotel Birmingham Centre is on Broad Street, a busy and very popular destination for weekend night life. We are working with the local emergency services to reduce the siren noise and are currently reviewing our glazing/sound proofing. Rooms nearer to Broad St have double glazing however it is a consideration to introduce a further layer of secondary double glazing this summer.
We will also always give priority to guests who wish to have room away from the front of the hotel, as rooms towards the rear of the hotel appear to suffer much less from this issue.
I hope that this guest will consider the Novotel for their next visit to Birmingham, whereupon we can display our committment to a 'good nights sleep' for every guest! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

The hotel's location is ideal for the city centre attractions.
We stay in many hotels around the world and this has to be one of the most depressing rooms we have ever had. The decor is very tired and mostly grey. The bathroom and toilet were dreadful.
The noise from outside on a Friday night is unbearable and the windows did not fit properly and let in all the noise. We were supposed to be in the quiet part!
The bed was ghastly.
The lift was faulty and jerked up and down and we ended up having to walk up to the 5th floor.
In fairness the management gave us our money back for the remaining 2 nights of our booking and we went to the Marriott which was wonderful and cheaper.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ArtfanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 18 June 2010
On this occasion we obviously could not satisfy the guest. I would like to thank them for their frank observations. I would however question some of their feedback and will attempt to discuss it with them personally.
In reading this review I would encourage potential guests to have an overview of the many positive comments about the Novotel Birmingham Centre on Tripadvisor and come and experience our product and service for yourselves. I am confident that the New Generation Novation Rooms will be to the satisfaction of most guests. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2010

I stayed here just overnight with my 10 year old son as we were visiting the NEC the next day. I've stayed here previously on business so knew about the hotel. The Reception staff are friendly, polite and are pleased to help with any queries you may have during your stay. The ground floor of the hotel is quite small, but not too small, with a separate bar area and play area for small children. There are a couple of computers you can use for free (20 minutes per session) and free wi-fi on the ground floor. The rooms are spotless and beds large and comfortable. No problems sleeping and it wasn't noisy despite a large conference in attendance and the roadside location.

Breakfast is good - a mixture of cerals, fruits, yoghurts, sliced meats, cheeses as well as cooked breakfast choices. There is also a decent evening meal menu selection, although you're not far from restuarants if you want to go out for the evening.

The location is central to most things in Brimingham - lots of bars, restaurants, canal walks, and the ICC. The Bullring is only a 10 minute walk, and the hotel is a 5 minute taxi ride or 15 minute stroll.

I enjoyed staying here...the staff are friendly, the rooms are clean and everything you need is close by. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyager69UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 28 July 2010
Can I thank this customer for their positive review. I would encourage any guests who have used the Novotel Birmingham Centre to post a review of your experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

the receptionist was very helpful although they could no find our booking and took us 20 mins before we could get into our room.the passage on the 5th floor was smelly and musty but as soon as we got into our room it was nice and cosy. could not sleep the whole night because of the noise on broad street slept around 5 am and was tired the next day. i would not recommend this hotel if you want a peaceful rest but only a night out because you will definitely not sleep. the bathroom is marvellous

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ye2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 18 June 2010
Firstly I would like this guest for their comments and the positive and constructive way in which they have made their feelings known. I feel for any guest, when they say they had a disturbed night and would sympathise.
The Novotel Birmingham Centre is on Broad Street, a busy and very popular destination for weekend night life. We are working with the local emergency services to reduce the siren noise and are currently reviewing our glazing/sound proofing. Rooms nearer to Broad St have double glazing however it is a consideration to introduce a further layer of secondary double glazing this summer.
We will also always give priority to guests who wish to have room away from the front of the hotel, as rooms towards the rear of the hotel appear to suffer much less from this issue.
I hope that this guest will consider the Novotel for their next visit to Birmingham, whereupon we can display our committment to a 'good nights sleep' for every guest! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Check in was best had in large hotel and staff spoke clear english.
Car park right next to hotel at reasonable rates. Room nice but nothing special .Had to queue 20 mins to get a table for breakfast on Sunday morning at 10am and in end the maitre d asked if anyone would sharte which we did with another couple. I have to say that once seated the buffet breakfast was excellent however my fried eggs were raw and had to queue again for these but nothing else. I also had to ask for our tea and coffee as noone came to us after being there for 15 mins. They were evidently very busy and short staffed but making excuses for poor service is a typical englisg thing to do but doesn't get you an apology nor a refund. When we checked out I pointed out the problems about breakfast and was told that the hotel provides breakfast for guests from other hotels too which can lead to there being insufficient seating despite expanding into thearden area she said however no apology was offered !! When we returned from our nite out there were about 10 guests standing immediately outside entrance smoking as no shelter away from door provided plus although our floor was no smoking it wreaked of fags !! Once in our room we could hear revellers on broad street well into the night so if you are a light sleeper its not for you

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loobylindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 28 July 2010
I would like to thank this guest for their review. A mixture of positives and some areas we can work on. I can assure any potential guest reading this review and considering a stay with us, that although we might have one or two guests from other hotels coming into our restaurant for breakfast on occasion, this is very carefully managed and our hotel guets are given priority.
We have recently introduced a higher level of corridor montoring by our night team, to ensure any internal disturbances are kept to an absolute minimum. I hope to have a direct conversation with this guest to pass on my assurances. Thank you for reading my response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,576 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Birmingham Centre

Property: Novotel Birmingham Centre
Address: 70 Broad Street, Birmingham B1 2HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#28 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#37 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Birmingham Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Birmingham Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel right in the centre of Birmingham. We are the first choice for a business trip or a holiday. For meetings, conferences and banquets, Meeting at Novotel offers a professional service to ensure your event runs smoothly and successfully. A short walk for the international Convention Centre, National indoor Arena and Brindley Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Birmingham Centre Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Centre
Birmingham Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing