We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and spotlessly clean- couldn't fault the Novotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Ranked #43 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
362 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
“Great location and spotlessly clean- couldn't fault the Novotel”
Reviewed 6 February 2011

We stayed Friday to Sunday for a city break. It is a short walk to the hotel from Birmingham New Street railway station. Check in was speedy and friendly, and our room on the first floor was spotless and comfortable. It is possible to upgrade to a room with an I-Pod dock, coffee maker etc, but we could play the I-Pod through the TV and we were out and about so we didn't bother to upgrade. The room was spacious, we could control the temperature, we had a large double bed and there was a large sofa bed too. The bathroom was well equipped, the shower was effective and the towels and toiletries were fine. There is a well stocked mini bar but there is a Sainsburys right next door to the hotel so we bought our own wine and water and chilled it instead. Plenty of TV and radio channels, effective hairdryer, in fact everything we needed. Room was very quiet but we were at the back, I don't know what it would be like at the front as we were on the first floor.Breakfast was lovely, there are plenty of tables and a great choice of food. Again the staff were courteous and helpful. There are free newspapers and TVs in the breakfast area for some of the seats so if you are dining solo you can watch TV. There is a small childrens' play area off the lobby with books and games and a playstation. There is a steam room we didn't use. We had booked a late train to go home on the Sunday and so I enquired if it was possible to have a later check out rather than noon. That was no problem and we were allowed to keep our room until 5pm! Which meant we were able to go out and come back and freshen up and pack before our train, it made all the difference. It is a lovely hotel, all you need is there and the location is fabulous. I shall definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glamourpuss1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 24 February 2011
Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments. Rest assured we will address them. Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    590
    277
    71
    47
See reviews for
209
475
84
407
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 31 January 2011

It costs us only 5GBP to reach the hotel from the railway station. Upon arrival, we were being greeted by courteous staff at the reception. The room's layout is very practical for guests traveling with teenagers. The separate bathroom and the toilet makes one's stay more hazzle free.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 24 February 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to Novotel Birmingham Centre very soon.
Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Located on Broad Street so ideal if you are on a stag or hen do, otherwise you'll be in for a noisy night. Even though my room was to the rear of the hotel I could still hear the partying students in the bar opposite. Executive rooms ok, but walls white roughcast, same as a £29 etap hotel, coffee machine not working, or the Bose Ipod dock.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 24 February 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to comment. We appreciate all feedback. If you’d like to talk about the matter further, please feel free to call me at the hotel. As and when you stay with us again, please do bring any such maintenance matters to our attention, so we can rectify them immediately.
Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

I stayed in the hotel for purposes of a business conference. The room was clean, comfortable, and a good size, but I thought the lavatory, which was separate from the bathroom, should have had its own basin. Internet access was overpriced. The evening meal was poor, but that may have been because they were catering for large numbers. Noise from outside was quite noticeable.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veritate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, 24 February 2011
Apologies for not living up to your expectations. We’ll look into these matters, and I hope we can welcome you back to Novotel Birmingham Centre some time in the future. Do feel free to call me if you wish to discuss the matter further.
Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,568 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Birmingham Centre

Property: Novotel Birmingham Centre
Address: 70 Broad Street, Birmingham B1 2HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#28 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#37 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Birmingham Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Birmingham Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel right in the centre of Birmingham. We are the first choice for a business trip or a holiday. For meetings, conferences and banquets, Meeting at Novotel offers a professional service to ensure your event runs smoothly and successfully. A short walk for the international Convention Centre, National indoor Arena and Brindley Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Birmingham Centre Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Centre
Birmingham Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing