We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best but ok.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #110 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights whilst attending a competition at the NEC. On the plus side it's only 2 minutes from New Street Rail Station, plenty of places to eat nearby and in the centre of the main shopping area. This was once clearly a very high class hotel but now it is sadly quite tired and could do with some money spending on it. As a budget hotel I've stayed in worse BUT have stayed in better. Staff pleasant in the main though some clearly weren't interested. I had a single room which was ok, the bed linen was nice and crisp and clean and the bathroom ok but dated. Carpet in my room though had a few dubious stains on it in several places but off putting really. Breakfast on the whole was standard but good no complaints there. Must mention the young man behind the hotel bar what a pleasant helpful person he was when we needed directions or recommendations, full marks to him. Would I stay here again ?? Yes the plus points outweighed the negative.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scara100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer, and were not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,972 - 1,978 of 2,628 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2012

After reading the reviews I was really worried I had booked this hotel but I do not see what people are saying. The hotel could do with a bit of paint but it was clean. Bed linen was white. Towels were white. Beds were comfortable. We were on the 3rd floor and looked out the front. Yes there is a bit of noise from late night revellers and the electronic voice went on for some time Friday night but it really didn't bother us. Where ever you go your first night is always a bit strange because quite frankly it is not your own bed!! The breakfast was lovely. We only stayed for two nights but could quite easily have stayed for a week. My only complaint was that my son and daughter 16 and 20 had to share a double bed but if we had stayed any longer I would have done something about it. We would definitely stay here again if we had to go back to Birmingham for anything.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IloveFlorida08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your positive/uplifting comments which will be shared with the rest of the Staff.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, exceptional value for money and high level of customer service we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer, and were not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Great hotel, right in the middle of Birmingham so close to all the bars, restaurants and shopping

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scarface9769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your positive comments.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, exceptional value for money and high level of customer service we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer, and were not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Booked in here for one night have to say it was most scary and dirtiest hotel i have ever set foot in Thankfully we asked to see the room before we paid to stay decor was form 1950 and looked like it not been cleaned since then also

Was pretty scary entering the hotel with people begging outside and hoodies hanging around in lobby made it look more like drug den then a hotel

When we did complain about room being dated and dirty the offered us a recently renovated room with jacuzzi bath Not sure why we wernt offered this room in first place but still would not of stay as whole hotel was smelly and dirty

Room Tip: No room is good in this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bessbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am sorry that the Hotel failed to meet your standards at this time, I do disagree with your comments, though we are all entitled to our opinions.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

A good hotel for visiting the centre of Birmingham.
A quiet room on the fifth floor, excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denisepoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your positive comments which will be shared with the rest of the Staff.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, exceptional value for money and high level of customer service we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer, and were not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I booked this hotel based on the excellent photos and the couple of testimonials it had on its booking website, the difference I found on arrival was nothing short of a confrontation against the 'trades description act'. The rooms were clean but were from the seventies (1870's) and the electrical goods were dangerous- I am qualified to state this as I am qualified in H&S legislation. I paid for the well advertised buffet, and in reality I received a shock to find that the food was preheated and direct from Iceland's - I had the pleasure of seeing the EXACT same salad two days running! I went to use the Ironing room and found people smoking in the corridors. I would never stay in this hotel again!!! Horrendous.

Room Tip: Do not stay is the best advice!! If you must ask for a room away from the public thoroughfare side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am sorry that the Hotel failed to meet your standards at this time.

The hotel does have two smoking floors one of these being on the same floor as the ironing room, and I can assure you that all of our electrical items are PAT Tested and in line with all H&S requirements, the most recent test being the 5-9 March 2012.

Had you brought any of your concerns to our attention during your stay, it would have given us the opportunity to address them first hand, and allowed you to leave the Hotel with a more favourable opinion.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

we stayed at the Britannia Hotel in Birmingham in February 2012 as was amuse by the service provide by one of your night staff I cannot remember his name but the is a Aisian young man , bold head and have a goatee beard.

He was everywhere at the same time, his service was preeminent my wife was amaze and wanted to take him home, I never thought or have ever experience this service in any of the Britannia train before , I have stayed at the Britannia a lot as it incorporated with my business and this was a complete new experience for me, i never met this young man before he must be a new member of staff, if I can remember well the night staff normally be two stucked up, unpleasant, impolite men, one older and a younger man, I do hope they replace those two, we need more staff like this hardworking, efficent young man to welcome more guest to your hotels….. I didn’t get to say thanks to you for making our stay more enjoyable, but I hope you will be able to receive this message as I wanted to say a big thank you from me and my family hope to see you on our next visit to Birmingham.

Collin and family.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Collin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your positive comments, which will be passed onto the relevant Staff Member, who will be equally delighted.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
352 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#96 of 118 in Birmingham
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#67 of 118 in Birmingham
1,112 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Address: New Street, Birmingham B2 4RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £31 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Birmingham is situated in the very heart of Birmingham city centre. The famous Bullring shopping mall is within walking distance and Primark and other high street stores are right next door to the hotel. The hotel's 214 en-suite bedrooms are tastefully furnished, all with tea and coffee making facilities, ideal for cost effective city centre accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Britannia Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing