We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent value city centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #109 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I was pretty pleased with this hotel, given the price. The rooms are fairly basic and quite dark (next time I'll ask for a room which doesn't overlook the courtyard as my room got almost no daylight), and the whole hotel is a bit tatty, old-fashioned and in need of refurbishment, but everywhere is scrupulously clean, the staff are friendly and helpful, the breakfast buffet, while not fantastic quality, is extensive and tasty, and the central location is unbeatable. I wouldn't recommend the Britannia if you like luxury accommodation but, if you just want somewhere central and reasonably priced to sleep, it's a good bet.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, and exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer, and were not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,039 - 2,045 of 2,743 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012

I have been very impressed by the way the front office manager shouted to a customer who were just asking for a half an hour late check out. The customer claimed that he asked for a superior room, he paid for a superior room, but he had only a standard room. Nevertheless the front office manager have been very rude with the gentleman.
One thing is very special in the bathrooms. The taps have two ducts: one for the cold and one for the hot water. You have just to put your hands right in the middle to have a normal temperature water...otherwise the right hand would have been cold and the left one hot!!!!
The rooms are so old style...not so clean, but....if you go out of the hotel you are in very center of the town!!!! Enjoy it only for a good good price!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mricco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Dear Guest

I am sorry that the Hotel failed to meet your standards at this time and wish that you had brought this to our attention during your stay as it would have given us the opportunity to address your concerns first hand, and allowed you to leave the Hotel with a more favourable opinion.

Just to clarify, the Gentleman you are writing about was give a superior room, but he declined this as he wanted a smoking room, the difference in price was refunded.

As a goodwill gesture, (at no fault of the Hotel ) he was offered a late checkout till 2pm free of charge ( checkout is 11am ), which he felt wasn't acceptable as he didn't want to leave till 4pm and didn't to pay for this.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night, but wouldn't really have liked to stay any longer. The room I had was a double for single occupancy and a good size, but it looked out on to a very dark courtyard with a brick wall and some more windows opposite. I could not see the sky, although i was on the 6th floor! The lighting was not adequate either and the room was papered in a very dark slime green. Not the best decor. The carpet was dirty and stained The room was boiling and I could not get the radiator off. However, the bed was reasonably comfortable, and the bathroom adequate. Certainly couldn't fault the position if you want to be in the centre of the Bullring, and you get what you pay for I guess, which was £45 with no breakfast. Not that cheap really.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. I did not eat in the hotel.

Room Tip: Best to ask for rooms that face outwards to the shopping mall, rather than the ones that face into t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clearaschristal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, and exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer, and were not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here.

I am sorry that certain asspects of the Hotel failed to meet your standards at this time, these will be passed to the relevant Department Heads for investigation, and improvements will be implemented where deemed necessary.

We do hope however that you decide to book again in the future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Booked last minute as going to Black Sabbath concert at the O2 Birmingham. Central location and booked on the £50 dinner, breakfast, bed and free wine offer online. They kindly let us eat in the bar early and the free wine was good! Staff are very friendly and helpful, the hotel needs a refurb and bringing into the 21st century but it was a place to crash after a night out and did the job for us. This is cheap and cheerful - our room was quite small and looked out onto a inner 'courtyard' but we were not expecting the ritz and it was value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn-Macky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your comments which will be shared with the rest of the Staff.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, and exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer, and were not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night in May. It is a rather down at heel and rundown hotel that has decor reminiscent of the early 1990s. It was quite scruffy. The room was very dingy looking out onto some kind of internal roof and with little internal lighting. I couldn't get the door to lock and had to ram a chair under the handle in case of intruders in the night. The breakfast was the best bit which seemed reasonable. For the price I guess it wasn't too bad but wouldn't choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acerbic-twit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am sorry that the Hotel failed to meet your standards at this time and wish that you had brought this to our attention during your stay as it would have given us the opportunity to address your concerns first hand, and allowed you to leave the Hotel with a more favourable opinion.

I can assure you that once inside any bedroom the only way a bedroom door can be opened from the outside is with a key, also all of our bedroom doors are equipped with a chain lock for extra security.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We paid £134 each for three windowless rooms (apparently a free upgrade!). I thought windowless rooms were illegal. We had just travelled from the exceptionally well-appointed and very friendly Hope Street Hotel where we had paid £99 each for a very comfortable room. The Britannia in Birmingham is obviously run to make as much money as possible from helpless customers. Getting there is extremely difficult (it is in the middle of a pedestrianised area) though the hotel staff were good enough to come looking for us when our SatNav got us hopelessly lost because of major roadworks around the city centre. The hotel is shabby, in dire need of renovation, the carpets dirty. There is a bad smell in the lift (food?) as well as in the rooms (stale potatoes). My room had a tiny table - hardly a desk, with the chair missing. The light in the entrance to the room wasn't working. The bed was comfortable enough and the sheets clean, though the cushion on the bed was badly stained (heaven knows what kind of stain) as was the carpet. The TV was a circa 1970 model, looked as if it had been picked up in a second hand shop, 4:3 ratio curved screen. One of the long-life milk containers had obviously passed it's safe life expectancy and it was separated and foul smelling.

Breakfast for a b & b deal costing £134 was disgusting: the toast burnt and soggy (the cheapest kind of bread), eggs barely fried in an inch of fat (you could see it being done), bacon that was impossible to chew it was so tough, mushrooms from a tin. Only the generic baked beans were reliable. Jam and marmalade were of the cheapest kind. All the fruit was tinned and the tinned peaches had a suspicious un-appetising colour.

The staff were generally friendly: this is the only positive thing that could be said about a hotel which is a total rip-off and a shameful example of totally mercenary hotel trade.We had a really bad experience staying there.

Room Tip: Avoid the windowless rooms on the ninth floor even if you're seduced by the idea of an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am sorry that the Hotel failed to meet your standards at this time and wish that you had brought this to our attention during your stay as it would have given us the opportunity to address your concerns first hand, and allowed you to leave the Hotel with a more favourable opinion.

I am so pleased that we were able to send a member of Staff to help assist you in locating the Hotel.

Your comments will be passed to the relevant Departmental Heads for investigation, and improvements will be implemented where deemed necessary.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Paid £32 a night so didn't expect much, however hotel had basic amenities lacking, i.e. adequate artificial lighting, working bathroom lights, double glazing (room noisy all night long). Also rude hotel manager came knocking on doors asking guests to check out at 10.30 even though check out time is 11am. Would not recommend or return.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Louise_hilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am sorry that the Hotel failed to meet your standards at this time and wish that you had brought this to our attention during your stay as it would have given us the opportunity to address your concerns first hand, and allowed you to leave the Hotel with a more favourable opinion.

Your comments will be passed to the relevant Departmental Heads for investigation, and improvements will be implemented where deemed necessary.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
486 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#97 of 118 in Birmingham
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#70 of 118 in Birmingham
1,137 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#32 of 118 in Birmingham
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Address: New Street, Birmingham B2 4RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £25 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Birmingham is situated in the very heart of Birmingham city centre. The famous Bullring shopping mall is within walking distance and Primark and other high street stores are right next door to the hotel. The hotel's 214 en-suite bedrooms are tastefully furnished, all with tea and coffee making facilities, ideal for cost effective city centre accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing