We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired and in need of a re-vamp” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #107 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tired and in need of a re-vamp”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012 via mobile

Well, what can i say that already hasn't been said before on trip advisor!? My room was overlooking main public walk way through the tiwn centre..great for convenience, but not so great for listensing to screaming girls, drunken blokes yelling at each other at 3am. The old single pane window failed to dampen/filter any noise. A constant and highly annoying public tannoy system was calling out names and numbers until 6/7 am - the source of which i never found out, but was very disprutive to any sleep. The bathroom was very tired,And in need of major revamp, the finish very poor, toilet seat lid had a label which was infested with various stains/colours. Bed was just ok. Skipped breakfast, as i always think...if they can't be bothered to clean the public areas properly (like bathroom in my room) what's the kitchen going to be like...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DucatiBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Guest

I am sorry that the Hotel failed to meet your standards at this time and wish that you had brought this to our attention during your stay as it would have given us the opportunity to address your concerns first hand, and allowed you to leave the Hotel with a more favourable outlook.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    271
    484
    474
    1,093
See reviews for
197
601
286
641
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Helpful receptionist, clean building, birds outside can be very loud with their squawking but that is out of the hotels control

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sawley69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your comments which will be shared with the rest of the Staff.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, and exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer, and were not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

you get what you pay for, one of the most uncomfortable beds in the world and room smelled very strongly of smoke. quite clean and helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and for your comments with regards to the room and Staff.

We do have two smoking floors to cater for those that do smoke, these rooms are aired everyday, but unfortunately sometimes the smell of smoke does linger, if you had mentioned this to Staff along with the problems with the bed ( availability permitting ), we would have happily provided you with an alternative room.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

We needed a cheap place to crash for one night after a night out and it was perfect. We asked for a quiet room as we're light sleepers and we ended up oversleeping for the first time ever in a hotel. The room was fine, clean, tv worked. We can recommend room 634:)

They have a deal with Albert Street car park too which made it £9.90 for 24 hours.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joeshoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your comments which will be shared with the rest of the Staff.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, and exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer, and were not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

Great location near to the bull ring shopping centre, train station and resturants, clean rooms and bathroom. Deco is a bit dull and out of date but hey you get what u pay for. Overall great value for money. Free wifi in reception area, I would stay here again !

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackb0713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am pleased to see that you were able to experience first hand the fantastic location and value for money which the hotel offers.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

I spent two nights here in June 2012. It is good value. Clean rooms. Full English Breafast was extremely good with everything imaginable including sausage, bacon, tomato, eggs, mushroom, fruit, juices, cereals and you can help yourself as you wish, The hotel is a few minutes walk from New Street Station. As you exit the station (Pallisades side), just turn right and the hotel is there. The hotel is in an alley and there are often strange men lurking at the entrance to the hotel. One day as I was leaving one man called out to me "Hello" and as I kept walking he kept on calling out "Hello, Hello" so I turned around and he asked me "Do you have a light". The hotel should ensure that its entrance is kept clear of undesirable looking people who I'm sure could get their "light" elsewhere. But I would stay here again if in Birmingham.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulysses236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your comments which will be shared with the rest of the Staff.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, and exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer, and were not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here.

Outside of the Hotel is a public right of way and The Hotel cannot be held responsible for the people that frequent this, apologies for any nuisance this may have caused you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

I picked this hotel as I had an interview in Birmingham, having never been there before I wanted one that was central. Also the pictures on the internet looked good.

Positives:
Friendly staff
Very handy for train station
Tea and coffee making facilities in room
Quiet room at night
Smoking facilities useful for those who do smoke, most hotels are non smoking.

Negatives:
Very dark, dingy decor make place look scary, felt as was in Bates Motel.
Undesirable people hanging around outside.
Bathroom was filthy, pre used soap, stains on sink.
Stains on carpet and mattress.
Room tiny, dusty, very old fashioned, not homely at all.
TV did not work.
No dinner served on a Sunday (very old fashioned), had to go and get a McDonald's.
No breakfast served due to a 'kitchen problem.'
Staff forgot to book taxi the following morning for me, so had to ask why it hadn't turned up, making me late for interview.

Overall, very depressing and glad I was only there for one night! I am sure it was nice at one point and could be with some refurbishment. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments, I will pass these onto the staff who I'm sure will be delighted to read them.

However, I totally disagree with your comments regarding dinner and breakfast as our Restaurant is open every night for dinner including Sundays from 7-9.30pm and we have never had any issues whereby we have not served breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#95 of 117 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#64 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
The Briar Rose Hotel
The Briar Rose Hotel
#26 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#33 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Property: Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Address: New Street, Birmingham B2 4RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Birmingham is situated in the very heart of Birmingham city centre. The famous Bullring shopping mall is within walking distance and Primark and other high street stores are right next door to the hotel. The hotel's 214 en-suite bedrooms are tastefully furnished, all with tea and coffee making facilities, ideal for cost effective city centre accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK and Priceline so you can book your Britannia Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing