We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Room with a great view and a great bath.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #109 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Really close to the station and handy for the centre. Excellent value for money £54 for two people B&B. Had a room on the 9th floor, huge windows overlooking the city. Very quiet hotel. Great service from reception staff and the staff in the restaurant. Left bags there all day when we went to a conference at the NEC
Would recommend Room 906. Room clean, with TV and plenty of space, The fastest filling bath in the world.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hilltopfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your comments which will be shared with the rest of the Staff.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, and exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer, and were not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,045 - 2,051 of 2,782 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed here for the weekend with a group of friends attending music festival (30 June). Wanted somewhere reasonably cheap for 4 of us to stay for 2 nights room only. Had reservations having read reviews but our rooms (209 and 210) were clean, had new shower curtains and rooms recently had a lick of paint. Our rooms faced New Street, was amazed how quiet it was for a city centre on a weekend, the road in front of hotel has since become pedestrianised so less noisy than I expected when it used to be a bus route! Sure, the rooms and the hotel is a bit past its prime but it was a bargain. Very handy for New Street Station. We shared a car, there is no car park but we stayed at Pershore Road Birmingham City Council car park for £3 per 24 hours, the hotel also has a deal with a nearer (and dearer) NCP, but we knew our way around Birmingham so not a problem for us to find the hotel. Not the Ritz but if you want a reasonable and centrally priced place to stay when you are out and about, it is worth a try. We had breakfast at the Whetherspoons Square Peg on Corporation Street, a few minutes away.

Room Tip: our rooms (209 and 210) were clean, had new shower curtains and rooms recently had a lick of paint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am pleased to see that you took the opportunity to experience the hotel first hand despite the negative reviews and was able to take advantage of our exceptional value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Excellent location and room was clean, what you'd expect for the price. However we returned after eating out to find the place cordoned off and evacuated by the fire brigade due to a 'chemical spill in the basement'. There was no one from the staff around, just a fireman who told us 'it could be an hour it could be five' leaving us in the rain with all of our belongings stuck inside the hotel! It would have been good to have someone from the hotel around to advise us!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W0rktrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am pleased to see that you took the opportunity to experience the hotel first hand and was able to take advantage of our fantastic rates.

A minor incident did occur recently which was dealt with by the fire service and fortunately the situation was contained quickly with very minimal disruption to guests

We look forward to welcoming you back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stopped here for 2nts and found the hotel ideally situated in the centre near to shops,pubs and restuarants.You cant drive to hotel,go to Albert st carpark £10 for 24hrswhich is a short walk away.The room was basic and decor a little tired but clean .My bed was hard and could feel all the springs but what made things worse was the room was hot so i had to open the window and the sqawking of seagulls kept you awake all night.Go to Witherspoons pub had a 14oz angus steak+guiness+sweet all for £14 on steaknight.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotty049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

The hotel is perfectly located in the city centre with a wide range of amenities on the doorstep.

Any problems that you may have had with the room could have been rectified by the staff had you made them aware.

Fans are available to borrow from the hotel reception for a small refundable deposit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

OK so the hotel isnt the Ritz, but what do you expect for a typical sub £50 room in the heart of Britains second city? The room we had was comfortable and clean, with nice hot water in the shower and a great floor to ceiling window looking out onto New Street. Its literally 5 mins walk from New St Station and the Bullring, so if you're after some shopping and a few drinkies in the city you cant really ask for more.

Staff are nice, breakfast was average, overall a great place to stay and will no doubt be going back soon.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel will offer a better nights sleep at the weekends. We had noise all ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojonic79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your comments which will be shared with the rest of the Staff.

I am so pleased that you take the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, and exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer on a regular basis and were not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012 via mobile

Well, what can i say that already hasn't been said before on trip advisor!? My room was overlooking main public walk way through the tiwn centre..great for convenience, but not so great for listensing to screaming girls, drunken blokes yelling at each other at 3am. The old single pane window failed to dampen/filter any noise. A constant and highly annoying public tannoy system was calling out names and numbers until 6/7 am - the source of which i never found out, but was very disprutive to any sleep. The bathroom was very tired,And in need of major revamp, the finish very poor, toilet seat lid had a label which was infested with various stains/colours. Bed was just ok. Skipped breakfast, as i always think...if they can't be bothered to clean the public areas properly (like bathroom in my room) what's the kitchen going to be like...

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DucatiBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Dear Guest

I am sorry that the Hotel failed to meet your standards at this time and wish that you had brought this to our attention during your stay as it would have given us the opportunity to address your concerns first hand, and allowed you to leave the Hotel with a more favourable outlook.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Helpful receptionist, clean building, birds outside can be very loud with their squawking but that is out of the hotels control

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sawley69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your comments which will be shared with the rest of the Staff.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, and exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer, and were not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
EasyHotel Birmingham
EasyHotel Birmingham
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
559 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#72 of 118 in Birmingham
1,146 reviews
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#96 of 118 in Birmingham
535 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#31 of 118 in Birmingham
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Address: New Street, Birmingham B2 4RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £28 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Birmingham is situated in the very heart of Birmingham city centre. The famous Bullring shopping mall is within walking distance and Primark and other high street stores are right next door to the hotel. The hotel's 214 en-suite bedrooms are tastefully furnished, all with tea and coffee making facilities, ideal for cost effective city centre accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing