We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No, thank you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #109 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No, thank you”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I had booked my 1 one night stay at this hotel way in advance on a real low, pre-paid rate and was very pleased to find such a good price for a 3star property. The location is superb, but my experience was unfortunately far from good. I checked-in after 11pm on a Wednesday evening. My first shock was when I stepped out from the elevator. The corridor looked shabby and dirty giving the feeling of a dorm. My allocated room turned out to be already occupied, however luckily the person was not in at the time, just his/her belongings. So I returned to reception. With the key to a new room and a small apology I headed up again. Well, this corridor did not look better either. My room.... the good point was that the sheets and towels were clean. However the rest needs attention. I straightaway spotted biscuit crumbs and coffee sachet remainings under the dressing table. The remote control was not working. The bedside cabinets drawers were broken. The green chair in the corner had a greyish colour from all the dust. In the bathroom the bathtub was a colour between light grey and light yellow and I do not think that any chemical would have been able to clean the tabs any more. The whole building is in desparate need of a thorough refurbishment, but in the meantime could do with a deep cleaning. On my check-out I was prepared to give a strictly constructive critism (bearing in mind how low rate I have paid), but when I handed in my key the receptionist simply checked my account and wished me farewell. I am not sure how they can keep their star-rating with such standards.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Szilvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel failed to meet with your expectations, I have passed a copy of your comments onto The Housekeeper for her to ensure that improvements are made where deemed necessary.

The hotel reception is manned 24 hours per day and a member of staff would have been available at any time should you have made your dis satisfaction known at the hotel.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    277
    500
    487
    1,155
See reviews for
210
632
296
665
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I on average stay at the Britannia 2/3 a month with work and here are my views.

The hotel is tired, it needs a massive facelift but for the price my company pay I can't really moan about the astetics.

The breakfast is ample but the quality lets it down but as a vegetarian I thankfully don't have to sample the poor looking sausages & bacon.

The noise from the outside road can't be helped as New Street is the main shopping street in Birmingham. Why moan about something out of the hotels control?

The hotel cleanliness is fine. I've never had a problem with my room except for a broken TV on one occasion.

The only thing I would slightly agree on is the rude staff. Not everyone but the front of house staff at reception. Most are fine but the Asian gentlemen & big white gentlemen have been quite rude on occasion but again this has been forgotten soon enough due to the fact that I'd be angry with the world if I had to live in Birmingham full time. Poor guys. Sort this out though.

All in all I have no major problems with this hotel & actually shall be staying here 12/9 with work. I look forward to it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am so pleased that you take the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, and exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer, and are not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here, rest assured I shall certainly be looking into the comments you have made with regards to the Staff.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

The room was very basic but perfect if you just want a place to set your stuff down in the city.
Situated literally above Primark in the city centre it's perfect if you want to visit the shops. The Bullring is about 1 minute away. The station is located about 200 yards from the door to the hotel.
Because of the location. If you get a street facing room don't be surprised to hear the hustle and bustle from the people below. A automated bollard kept talking throughout one of the nights we stayed. Also a busker kept us entertained too.
The staff were quick but not friendly. Not that it mattered to us. Wifi is available in the lobby.
Basic but perfect for the city adventurer

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, and exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer, and were not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Classic tired , wonky old city hotel. Location cannot be beat though , right on the pedestrianized New Street , main shopping street. Bargain really , i paid £55 for 2 nights through Kayak. It was HOT as was August but outside of summer heat will not be a problem, as no A/C. Would stay again but only at these prices.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cornish-scrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, and exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer, and were not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Well I'm surprised by the poor reviews as I think for the price you pay you can't complained we stayed last night and were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was,
Don't get me wrong the place does look tired but we paid £43.00 for one night including breakfast.
The room was adquate and had all working facilities for what we needed! The check in was friendly and smooth and breakfast was a lovely selection of cereals and hot food.
I must say we felt that we got a great bargain and would defiantly stay again if we were in Birmingham.
I think people on here are being slightly fussy and need to understand that if you pay such a cheap price expect basic commodities pay for an expensive hotel expect the very best
I work for a 4star hotel so of course standard is expected
But thank you to all staff yesterday for a pleasant and welcoming stay

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liseeelou316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I couldnot agree with your comments more.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, and exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer, and were not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limoges, France
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Spent 3 nights on business in this awful hotel. This hotel is soooo old and needs upgrading from the reception desk to the floors and dining room. I booked a non smoking room through the internet and paid for it. I was told it was available but when I turned up, I was given a different room as the hotel was fully booked with a conference. It was like sleeping in an ashtray !!! From the curtains to the bed spread, everything smelt of smoke ! Horrible. The entrance to the hotel isn't on the main road but in a narrow side street, you blink and you miss it. Breakfast was generous but poor quality. There are so many conferences going on all the time that it's a constant come and go between floors (old lifts). Night life is virtually non existant on the high street (there's a cinema though) and you need to walk quite a bit to find any sign of life. The personel is nice. The bedding was old but clean so was the bathroom.

Room Tip: On the top floor you get a tiny balcony with a view of the city. Don't chose one that overlooks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traduction87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear Guest

The hotel accommodates 2000+ guests on a weekly basis and I believe that we offer excellent service and value for money.

We are situated directly in the City Centre and are only 2 minutes walk away from all the nightlife in Birmingham.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2012

You won't beat the hotel for it's location and at £31 (double room on R/O) or £41 (double room B&B) you can't expect that much. The rooms are small and can be noisy due to the location and very old windows. The hotel does need a facelift and the rooms need updating.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, and exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer, and were not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#97 of 117 in Birmingham
506 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
#38 of 117 in Birmingham
2,958 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#64 of 117 in Birmingham
1,069 reviews
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#14 of 117 in Birmingham
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Property: Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Address: New Street, Birmingham B2 4RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Birmingham is situated in the very heart of Birmingham city centre. The famous Bullring shopping mall is within walking distance and Primark and other high street stores are right next door to the hotel. The hotel's 214 en-suite bedrooms are tastefully furnished, all with tea and coffee making facilities, ideal for cost effective city centre accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing