We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #109 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very basic”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed here 1 night 18/09/2013, had read reviews so new wot to expect but do like to make my own mind up!!! It's right in the middle of the shops on the high street and few minutes walk from new street train station. Arrived early for check in but was able to leave bags and go off for the day. We checked in and on our way to the room found the decor to be dark and dismal, basically the skirting, doors and frames all painted black! Went into our room and wow we were thrown back in time!!! This room was as basic as basic could be but was clean! Breakfast was fine the next morning. The only positive I have is the staff, they were very helpful and friendly especially the young man who checked us in and out (sorry we didn't get your name or your twin brothers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!) :-))

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, and exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer, and were not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    277
    500
    487
    1,155
See reviews for
210
632
296
665
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is not really a hotel you would go on holiday, it is in the centre of Birmingham and right near New Street Station. Great value for money, helpful friendly staff, a great low cost base for the centre of Birmingham

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brucieb0nus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, and exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer, and were not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Simple review as follows - I have stayed here alottttttttttttttt over the years

great location, no parking, very dear NCP car park, very old fashioned, excellent value at times yet sometimes rack rate way too high. Bar isnt the best and shuts alot. Can be a very hot place in the summer with no air con etc. Good place if you wanna get wrecked and sleep somewhere or just take your gf or bf to bed and drill if ya get what I mean?

CCTV on floors and lifts, good security to be fair.

Phil the manager on nights is cool as hell :)

TV and decor in rooms and landings are dated as 70s 80s can get but overall its alright 5/10

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigworm0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, and exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer, and were not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I stayed in the Britannia hotel last week for a few nights. Although asking for a non smoking room the hotel had put me in a smoking with no prior apology. A room which has had 40 years worth of smoking customers inside really isn't very nice to a non-smoker and as a result all of my clothes therefore smelt of smoke for the rest of the week. There was also no hot water available in the morning so therefore was unable to shower. Everything in the room seemed to be chipped or scuffed or damaged. And marks were everywhere to be seen. I found the reception staff extremely rude towards me In my claim and how I felt how overpriced my stay was for the quality of services I was achieving, but they didn't want to know and no apology was issued.

I felt very disappointed in the amount of money I paid for my room and the overall level of experience I had at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L1434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Guest

Please accept my most sincere apologies for the problems you encountered whilst staying with us.

Unfortunately the Hotel does have 2 smoking floors ( Hotel Policy ) and due to occupancy we do sometimes have to use these rooms for non smokers, requests are implemented when possible, unfortunately at the time of your check in we were unable to full fill your request, had you chosen not to accept the smoking room or checked out soon after going to the room , then we would have been able to issue a refund.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I remembered staying here before only when I was walking up to the hotel. It's located on New Street, just around the corner from Birmingham Intl train station, so the location is great. Check-in was quick and they've got free wi-fi in the lobby. The room was OK and fairly clean, but in general, I think the hotel needs some refurbishment. I took up their offer to eat as much as I liked for GBP 9.95. The meal was supposed to include a complimentary glass of table wine. I didn't ask for it because I didn't fancy it, but I still expected them to offer it to me. Well, they didn't. It was self-service and the plate I took first was dirty, the food looked really stale, especially the green salad and cakes. So I had some fish and chips, which was the only thing that evening that looked good enough to eat. It tasted OK, but the whole experience was a complete disappointment. No wonder the restaurant was empty. Next evening I walked up the street to an Italian restaurant for a pizza - which wasn't perfect, but much better than the food in the hotel. I may stay there again if I get a good price for the room, but I am definitely not eating dinner there again.

Room Tip: The rooms looking down on main street are nice because of the view of the street, but it gets really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fillout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that certain aspects of the hotel failed to meet with your expectations at this time.

Staff are on duty 24 hours per day and had you made them aware that you were unhappy with the food on offer, they would have been able to address your concerns, enabling you to leave the Hotel with a more favourable veiw.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Having just spent 3 nights at the hotel I'm happy to recommend it. No, it's not the Ritz, but it's clean comfortable and less than half the price of most of the hotels in the city centre. The staff are very friendly, which when you work for a ruthless hotel chain like Britannia can't be easy. I particulary liked the young Chinese girl on reception who was demure and cute. The night porter was also very friendly. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from Birmingham New Street Station, very near the Bullring. Breakfast was perfectly OK, and actually better cooked than at many Britannia hotel's that I've stayed in. The best rooms are the executive rooms on the ninth floor which come with air conditioning and Jaccuzi baths. I would say these are on a par with rooms in a 4 star hotel, and some have excellent views over the city.. You can upgrade to one of these for £10 extra on arrival. Take it from me - this hotel is much better than its Trip Advisor rating.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunHunterXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review,

I am pleased to see that the hotel met with your expectations for the purpose of your trip and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is like an old fashioned city centre commercial hotel. It is badly in need of major refurbishment to bring it up to acceptable modern standards. It is however very cheap and the staff are extremely helpful and obliging. The restaurant is the best part and is well furnished and serves decent food. Breakfast was great.
Otherwise you can expect threadbare carpets, once upon a time white net curtains, ancient metal single glazed windows that have not been cleaned for decades and very tired decor throughout. Room furnishings also extremely basic and well past replacement time. Round pin power sockets impossible to use.
Some reviews have complained of noise but we were lucky and only disturbed by the street cleaners on the main road early in the morning.
The best bit of the experience was the very willing and helpful staff and they should be commended. It cannot be easy to deliver hospitality in such a run down hotel so obviously in need of money being spent to upgrade the guest experience. That would of course increase the prices but would be worth it.
Be aware that not even taxis will get to the front door so be prepared to walk with luggage through the crowds on the busiest shopping street for 5 minutes to get there. Travel light if at all possible! Other budget hotel options are available close to the city centre without all the disadvantages of this one.

Room Tip: Go to a more reliable modern budget city centre hotel without the problems of this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayrshire911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Please accept my apologies for any problems you encountered with your room, I will of course pass your comments onto The Housekeeper for improvements to be made where deemed necessary.

Thank you so much for your kind comments with regards to the Staff and food, I shall certainly pass these on.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#97 of 117 in Birmingham
506 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
#38 of 117 in Birmingham
2,958 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#64 of 117 in Birmingham
1,069 reviews
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#14 of 117 in Birmingham
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Property: Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Address: New Street, Birmingham B2 4RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Birmingham is situated in the very heart of Birmingham city centre. The famous Bullring shopping mall is within walking distance and Primark and other high street stores are right next door to the hotel. The hotel's 214 en-suite bedrooms are tastefully furnished, all with tea and coffee making facilities, ideal for cost effective city centre accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing